In the latest edition of Variety‘s Awards Circuit series, presented by HBO, television editor Michael Schneider and TV features editor Emily Longeretta analyzed this year’s Screen Actors Guild nominations. The two focus on the comedy ensemble category, discussing audience favorites including “Abbott Elementary,” “Hacks,” “Barry,” “Only Murders in the Building” and “The Bear.”

Throughout the release of “Abbott Elementary’s” second season, the series has been dominating the comedy series awards categories. As Schneider said, “It’ a murderers row of talent on this show,” since its December 2021 premiere season. “Abbott Elementary” has garnered three Emmys, three Golden Globe Awards and two Critics’ Choice Awards, with wins and nominations for creator and star Quinta Brunson, as well as her castmates Sheryl Lee Ralph, Tyler James Williams, Chris Perfetti and Janelle James.

Explaining that “Abbott Elementary” is “on a tear,” Schneider noted how fun it is to watch the series “pair people up, and you see them interact and play off each other.” Longeretta added, “When it comes to ensemble, this is the definition of a show that works because of its ensemble.”

Although the genre of FX’s dramatic breakout hit “The Bear” has been debated amongst critics and fans, Schneider suggests the series has “become kind of a front runner” in the comedy category, adding, “If anything ‘The Bear’ could be the spoiler when comes to ‘Abbott Elementary.'”

Since its June 2022 premiere, “The Bear” has been celebrated for the undeniable chemistry from its ensemble, including Jeremy Allen White, Ayo Edebiri, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, Abby Elliott, Lionel Boyce and Liza Colón-Zayas. White is nominated for SAG award as well as the ensemble nomination.

The remaining nominations include HBOMax’s “Hacks,” starring SAG nominee Jean Smart, Hannah Einbinder, Megan Stalter, Carl Clemons-Hopkins and creator Paul W. Downs; “Only Murders in the Building,” the murder-mystery led by unlikely trio Steve Martin, Martin Short and Selena Gomez; and HBO’s “Barry,” created and starring Bill Hader, Henry Winkler, Sarah Goldberg, Anthony Carrigan and Stephen Root.

Watch the full video above.