The stars were out on Thursday night in London for the British Film Institute’s Luminous Fundraising Gala. During the event, chair of the awards jury Tilda Swinton presented the inaugural BFI and Chanel Filmmaker Awards to four emerging U.K. directors.

Selected for their creative audacity and ambition, the winners of the BFI and Chanel Filmmaker Awards are Baff Akoto, artist/director (producer of “Queen of Glory”); Kathryn Ferguson, director/co-writer (“Nothing Compares”); Sam Firth, director/producer (“The Wolf Suit”); and Erfan Saadati, director/producer (“Child of Empire”).

“We’ve selected four remarkable filmmakers, each of them very different in their approaches and their disciplines, but all properly worthy winners,” Swinton said in a statement. “This award from the BFI and Chanel sets out to support early career creatives, to help them reach their fullest potential by giving them the freedom to invest in their artistry to develop their individual voice and create work that inspires, challenges and nourishes. The choices we had to make were not easy, but we are so proud of our inaugural winners – they are certainly audacious and singular to a degree and we are fully confident that they will make the most of the grace, emancipation and confidence this award will afford them to create a safe space to focus on their work and on their evolution as original artists.”

British excellence mingled inside the gala, with attendees including Sabrina Elba, Lily James, Hayley Atwell, Ncuti Gatwa, Daisy Ridley, Edgar Wright and Dame Joan Collins. Jarvis Cocker also gave a performance to cap off the night. See all the photos from the gala below.