Lazy loaded image

Variety Awards Circuit section is the home for all awards news and related content throughout the year, featuring the following: the official awards predictions for the upcoming Oscars and Emmys ceremonies, curated by Variety senior awards editor Clayton Davis; Awards Circuit Column, a weekly analysis dissecting the trends and contenders by television editor Michael Schneider (for Emmys) and Davis (for Oscars); Awards Circuit Podcast, a weekly interview series with talent and an expert roundtable discussion; and Awards Circuit Video analyzes various categories and contenders by Variety's leading awards pundits. Variety's unmatched coverage gives its readership unbeatable exposure in print and online, as well as provide inside reports on all the contenders in this year's awards season races.

To see all the latest predictions, of all the categories, in one place, visit THE EMMYS COLLECTIVE
Visit each category, per the individual awards show from THE EMMYS HUB
To see old predictions and commentary, click the EMMY PREDICTIONS ARCHIVES
For film awards predictions go toTHE OSCARS HUB

UPDATED: August 19, 2022



Netflix managed to get the first nomination for the late comedian Norm Macdonald for his special, in multiple categories. With Jerrod Carmichael’s stand-up out of this category, it’s Norm’s to lose.

But what’s an awards ceremony without a little bit of controversy? That’s the case with Dave Chappelle’s contentious special that received valid criticism from the LGBTQ+ community, along with its allies. There may be some that feel compelled to check it off in protest of the “wokesters” or there could be many that steer clear of it. Which one wins out?

The latest musical pairing of Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga can never be underestimated. The CBS special that brings them together for the final time could hit the sentimental factor.

Lazy loaded image
Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga Kelsey Bennett

Read moreVariety’s Awards Circuit Emmys Predictions Hub.

Grammy winner Adele’s musical concert was invigorating as it was entertaining on CBS. People still adore the iconic singer.

The reunion special was a huge hit for HBO that brought together Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson. But it seemed more of a nice gesture, than that of a high-quality viewing experience.

The complete television awards season calendar is linked here.

Read moreVariety’s Awards Circuit Oscars Predictions Hub

The 74th Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, Sept. 12, and air on NBC.

2021 category winner: “Hamilton” (Disney+)


Lazy loaded image
And The Nominees Are:
Rank Show Network Key Facts and Producers:
1 “Norm Macdonald: Nothing Special” Netflix Key facts:
Norm Macdonald, Lori Jo Hoekstra, Marc Gurvitz and John Irwin, executive producers; Casey Spira, co-executive producer
2 “Dave Chappelle: The Closer” Netflix Key facts:
Dave Chappelle, executive producer/performer; Rikki Hughes and Stan Lathan, executive producers; Sina Sadighi, producer
3 “One Last Time: An Evening with Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga” CBS Key facts:
Alex Coletti, Bruce Gillmer, Jack Sussman, Danny Bennett and Bobby Campbell, executive producers; Gillian Appleby, supervising producer; Allison Roithinger, produced by; Chris Vineyard and Jennifer Lebeau, producers; Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett, hosts
4 “Harry Potter 20th Anniversary: Return to Hogwarts” HBO Key facts:
Casey Patterson, Carol Donovan, Ashley Edens, Marissa Clifford, Louis Mole, Sam Bridger, Isabel Davis and David Heyman, executive producers; Rob Paine, co-executive producer; Chase Simonds, supervising producer; Mike Darnell, Brooke Karzen and Dan Sacks, producers
5 “Adele One Night Only” CBS Key facts:
Ben Winston, Adele Adkins, Jonathan Dickins, Raj Kapoor, Tara Montgomery and Terry Wood, executive producers; Rob Paine, co-executive producer

2022 Primetime Emmy Awards Predictions

2022 Creative Arts Emmys Predictions

About the Primetime Emmy Awards (Emmys)

The Primetime Emmy Awards, better known as the Emmys, are given out by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS). Since 1949, the awards have recognized excellence in American primetime television programming. They are divided into three classes – Primetime Emmy Awards, the Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards (honors artisan achievements), and the Primetime Engineering Emmy Awards (recognizes significant engineering and technological contributions). The typical eligibility period is between June 1 and May 31 of any given year. The Television Academy comprises over 25,000 members, representing 30 professional peer groups, including performers, directors, producers, art directors and various artisans and executives.

  • The 74th Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, Sept. 12, and air on NBC.