Lazy loaded image

Variety Awards Circuit section is the home for all awards news and related content throughout the year, featuring the following: the official awards predictions for the upcoming Oscars and Emmys ceremonies, curated by Variety senior awards editor Clayton Davis; Awards Circuit Column, a weekly analysis dissecting the trends and contenders by television editor Michael Schneider (for Emmys) and Davis (for Oscars); Awards Circuit Podcast, a weekly interview series with talent and an expert roundtable discussion; and Awards Circuit Video analyzes various categories and contenders by Variety's leading awards pundits. Variety's unmatched coverage gives its readership unbeatable exposure in print and online, as well as provide inside reports on all the contenders in this year's awards season races.

To see all the latest predictions, of all the categories, in one place, visit THE EMMYS COLLECTIVE
Visit each category, per the individual awards show from THE EMMYS HUB
To see old predictions and commentary, click the EMMY PREDICTIONS ARCHIVES
For film awards predictions go toTHE OSCARS HUB

UPDATED: August 19, 2022



If people love Roy Kent, then we can say that the public simply adores Nathan Shelley played by last year’s nominee Nick Mohammed, who submitted the episode “Inverting the Pyramid of Success.” That finale received love in other categories, which will assist him in gaining traction.

The HBO dark comedy was an Emmy favorite once again, and so is NoHo Hank, performed by former nominee Anthony Carrigan, who once again plays incredibly well against triple-nominated star Bill Hader. A scene-stealer, this may be his time to have an on-stage moment.

The reigning champ of the category for playing Roy Kent, Brett Goldstein had an even stronger second season, and with his appearance in “Thor: Love and Thunder,” he could be the first back-to-back winner since Jeremy Piven for “Entourage” in 2007-2008.

Lazy loaded image

This is another indication that the TV Academy is in love with “Ted Lasso” and with its characters including soccer player Sam Obisanya, played by Toheeb Jimoh. This serves as an excellent breakout nom and recognition moment for Toheeb Jimoh to bring him back for more roles and noms in the future.

Read moreVariety’s Awards Circuit Emmys Predictions Hub

A four-time Emmy-winning darling, Tony Shalhoub is always a threat for a win for playing Abe Weissman. An establishment choice that many veteran TV Academy voters can rally behind, the Amazon Prime Video series is coming towards its pending finale next year.

A newcomer to the race, Tyler James Williams’ role in the ABC freshman comedy snagged him a spot and could be a signal that “Abbott Elementary” could be a viable option for the top category. However, a win for him seems unlikely (for the moment).

Finally winning his overdue Emmy as Gene Cousineau for the show’s first season, Henry Winkler is back and better than ever, submitting the nominated writing episode, “Starting Now,” which could get him another trip to the stage.

In a year where the NBC staple floundered a bit with noms, Bowen Yang was able to pull off back-to-back nominations, even ahead of veterans such as Kenan Thompson, who was snubbed. Perhaps they’ll make it up to him for passing him over last year for the “Titanic Iceberg” brilliance?

The complete television awards season calendar is linked here.

Read moreVariety’s Awards Circuit Oscars Predictions Hub

The 74th Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, Sept. 12, and air on NBC.

2021 category winner: Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)


Lazy loaded image
Apple TV+
And The Nominees Are:
Rank Actor Role Show (Network)
1 Brett Goldstein Roy Kent “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Episode submission: “Rainbow”
2 Nick Mohammed Nathan Shelley “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Episode submission: “Inverting the Pyramid of Success”
3 Henry Winkler Gene Cousineau “Barry” (HBO)
Episode submission: “starting now”
4 Anthony Carrigan NoHo Hank “Barry” (HBO)
Episode submission: “forgiving jeff”
5 Tony Shalhoub Abe Weissman “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Episode submission: “Everything is Bellmore”
6 Bowen Yang Various characters “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Episode submission: “Host: Rami Malek”
7 Tyler James Williams Gregory Eddie “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Episode submission: “Work Family”
8 Toheeb Jimoh Sam Obisanya “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Episode submission: “Do the Right-est Thing”

AWARDS CATEGORY HISTORY (Supporting Actor Comedy)

The Primetime Emmy Awards, better known simply as the Emmys, is television’s most prestigious artistic award. Many records are held for wins and nominations in the near eight decades.

For wins: Don Knotts has the most awards in this category with five, winning them all for “The Andy Griffith Show.” John Larroquette and David Hyde Pierce are second in line with four.

“The Andy Griffith Show” and “The Mary Tyler Moore Show” are the most awarded series with five wins, with “Frasier,” “Modern Family” and “Night Court” next in line with four apiece.

For nominations: David Hyde Pierce is the most nominated actor in this category with 11, all for his turn as Niles Crane for “Frasier.” Harry Morgan is next in line with nine, followed by Ty Burrell with eight. Jason Alexander and Peter Boyle are the most nominated actors without winning seven nods.

“M*A*S*H” garnered the most nominations in this category for its actors with 21 with “Cheers” and “Modern Family” with 19.

2022 Primetime Emmy Awards Predictions

2022 Creative Arts Emmys Predictions

About the Primetime Emmy Awards (Emmys)

The Primetime Emmy Awards, better known as the Emmys, are given out by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS). Since 1949, the awards have recognized excellence in American primetime television programming. They are divided into three classes – Primetime Emmy Awards, the Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards (honors artisan achievements), and the Primetime Engineering Emmy Awards (recognizes significant engineering and technological contributions). The typical eligibility period is between June 1 and May 31 of any given year. The Television Academy comprises over 25,000 members, representing 30 professional peer groups, including performers, directors, producers, art directors and various artisans and executives.

  • The 74th Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, Sept. 12, and air on NBC.