Berlin Competition Lineup Unveiled: Sean Penn, Matt Johnson, Hong Sangsoo, Celine Song Films Head to Festival

Sean Penn, Volodymyr Zelensky in Superpower © 2022. THE PEOPLE’S SERVANT, LLC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Sean Penn, Jesse Eisenberg, Canadian actor-director Matt Johnson, Korean auteur Hong Sangsoo, and Korean-Canadian director Celine Song are headed to the upcoming Berlin Film Festival.

Berlinale artistic director Carlo Chatrian and executive director Mariëtte Rissenbeck on Monday unveiled the main Competition and Encounters selections for the fest’s 73rd edition, which will feature a rich mix of known names and newcomers, as well as a strong political emphasis.

Penn will be in Berlin with “Superpower,” the doc he co-directed with Aaron Kaufman that depicts the struggle between Volodymyr Zelensky, the actor and comedian who became president of Ukraine, and Russian president Vladimir Putin, as Russia deploys a full-scale invasion of Ukraine. 

“Penn was in Kiev shooting a film with Zelensky when the war in Ukraine burst,” Chatrian said at a press conference in Berlin. “Reality made the film change into something less comfortable and more meaningful,” he added. “We are very grateful to Sean Penn and the entire team to have picked the Berlinale to show this film.” The programmer noted that the doc details the roles of art and artists in war.

Rissenbeck and Chatrian revealed that the colors of this year’s Berlinale would be blue and yellow — the colors of the Ukrainian flag. Elaborating on the decision to select “Superpower,” Chatrian said: “I guess part of the decision is precisely that the Berlin Film Festival will take place exactly one year after the burst of war and maybe showing this film in Berlin has a more relevant meaning that in any other place, because we are close to Ukraine, because Ukrainian people live in Berlin and also because of the political value of this film. But it’s not the only one dealing with Ukraine. For me ‘Superpower’ — I’m aware that it will drag a lot of attention — is a great door to let you enter to the very complex, rich description of what happened and is still happening in Ukraine right now.”

Elsewhere, South African director John Trengove will be making his Berlinale competition debut with “Manodrome,” starring Jesse Eisenberg and Adrien Brody. Trengove opened Panorama in 2018 with “The Wound.” He is now back with his first U.S. movie. The film stars Jesse Eisenberg as a young man in upstate New York “who is about to become a father and feels a sense of loss,” said Chatrian, who noted that the pic is about “what masculinity is today in Western society.” Odessa Young plays the protagonist’s partner. Brody stars as a cult leader.

Matt Johnson biopic “BlackBerry,” which depicts the rise and fall of the Canadian smartphone company and stars Jay Baruchel, Glenn Howerton and Cary Elwes, is among other standouts ensconced in a Berlinale competition slot.

Prolific South Korean director Hong Sangsoo, a Berlin regular, is back with his latest work “In Water,” which is screening in the more cutting-edge, competitive Encounters section.

Celine Song’s “Past Lives,” which premiered to positive reviews at Sundance, will be launching internationally from the Berlinale competition.

Meanwhile, titles by newcomers in competition comprise “Disco Boy,” a first feature by France-based Italian director Giacomo Abbruzzese, about a refugee who arrives in Paris to join the Foreign Legion as a means to obtain a promised passport.

All told, there are 18 films competing for the Golden Bear, six of which are directed by women. Eleven of the directors have been at the Berlinale before, eight of which are in competition. Three of the competition entries are by first-time directors.

Fifteen of the 18 titles are world premieres. The fest’s international premieres comprise Japanese anime director Makoto Shinkai’s “Suzume,” a crowdpleaser that has been a massive hit at the Japanese box office.

As previously announced, Rebecca Miller’s romantic comedy “She Came To Me,” starring Peter Dinklage, Marisa Tomei, Joanna Kulig, Brian d’Arcy James and Anne Hathaway, has been set as the festival opener.

Kristen Stewart will preside over the jury and Steven Spielberg will receive an honorary Golden Bear for lifetime achievement.


“20,000 Species of Bees” by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)

“The Shadowless Tower” by Zhang Lu (China)

“Till the End of the Night” by Christoph Hochhausler (Germany)

“BlackBerry” by Matt Johnson (Canada)

“Disco Boy” by Giacomo Abbruzzese (France/Italy/Poland/Belgium)

“The Plough” by Philippe Garrel (France/Switzerland)

“Ingeborg Bachmann – Journey into the Desert” by Margarethe von Trotta (Germany/Switzerland/Austria/Luxembourg)

“Someday We’ll Tell Each Other Everything” by Emily Atef (Germany)

“Limbo” by Ivan Sen (Australia)

“Bad Living” by Joao Canijo (Portugal/France)

“Manodrome” by John Trengove (U.K./U.S.)

“Music” by Angela Schanelec (Germany/France/Serbia)

“Past Lives” by Celine Song (U.S.)

“Afire” by Christian Petzold (Germany)

“On the Adamant” by Nicolas Philibert (France/Japan)

“The Survival of Kindness” by Rolf de Heer (Australia)

“Suzume” by Makoto Shinkai (Japan)

“Totem” by Lila Avilés (Mexico/Denmark/France)


“Superpower” by Sean Penn, Aaron Kaufman (U.S.)


“The Klezmer Project” by Leandro Koch, Paloma Schahmann (Argentina/Austria)

“The Adults” by Dustin Guy Defa (U.S.)

“The Echo” by Tatiana Huezo (Mexico/Germany)

“Here” by Bas Devos (Belgium)

“In the Blind Spot” by Ayse Polat (Germany)

“The Cage is Looking for a Bird” by Malika Musaeva (France/Russia)

“My Worst Enemy” by Mehran Tamadon (France/Switzerland)

“White Plastic Sky” by Tibor Banoczki, Sarolta Szabo (Hungary/Slovakia)

“In Water” by Hong Sangsoo (South Korea)

“Family Time” by Tia Kuovo (Finland/Sweden)

“The Walls of Bergamo” by Stefano Savona (Italy)

“Orlando, My Political Biography” by Paul B. Preciado (France)

“Samsara” by Lois Patino (Spain)

“Eastern Front” by Vitaly Mansky, Yevhen Titarenko (Latvia/Czechia/Ukraine/U.S.)

“Living Bad” by Joao Canijo (Portugal/France)

“Absence” by Wu Lang (China)