Ruben Östlund’s satire “Triangle of Sadness” dominated the 35th European Film Awards on Saturday, taking the awards for best film, director and screenwriter, as well as best actor for Zlatko Burić.

Philippe Bober, who produced the film alongside Erik Hemmendorff, said the film exemplified Europe’s desire to be a haven for auteur filmmaking. “Europe is the place where cinema originated, and it originated with the filmmakers, so all our industry is built around the filmmakers to support and distribute their work,” he said. “Maybe it is a little bit different on the other side of the Atlantic, where first you have the pipeline and then you have to find something to put in the pipeline.”

When Östlund picked up his best director award, he dedicated it to the late actor Charlbi Dean, who died in August at the age of 32.

Vicky Krieps won the European actress award for her performance as Empress Elisabeth of Austria in “Corsage.” Krieps said: “I want to dedicate this to all the women that need to be seen and heard, that need to free themselves and heal from these deep, deep wounds that we carried for generations, and that we need to heal in order that men and women can come together again.”

“Mariupolis 2” took the documentary award, which was picked up by the daughter of its director, Mantas Kvedaravicius, who was killed in Ukraine. It proved to be the most moving moment of the evening. “He lost his life in a kind of selflessness most of us can’t hope to achieve – delivering medicine to people. I feel so fortunate to have had someone so brilliant in my life,” Teja Kvedaraviciute said.

The most awkward moment of the night came when the award for best comedy was given to “The Good Boss,” which stars Javier Bardem. Producer Jaume Roures, clearly unamused, said: “Thank you for this award, although ‘The Good Boss’ is a drama, not a comedy.” Director Fernando León de Aranoa reinforced the point, saying: “You’ve probably given the European comedy award to the most serious people in the room.”

The awards, which were held at the Harpa concert hall in the Icelandic capital of Reykjavík, were voted on by the 4,400 members of the European Film Academy.

Honorees included directors Marco Bellocchio, who received the award for European innovative storytelling, Elia Suleiman, the European achievement in world cinema award-winner, and Margarethe von Trotta, recipient of the European lifetime achievement award.

Icelandic actor, screenwriter and politician Ilmur Kristjánsdóttir and Icelandic artist, author and stand-up comedian Hugleikur Dagsson were the masters of ceremony at the event, which was attended by around 1,200 guests.

Presenters during the evening included Danish actor Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Bulgarian actor Maria Bakalova (“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”), Italian actor Lorenzo Zurzolo (“EO”), Icelandic director Baltasar Kormákur, German actor Nina Hoss, French-Algerian actor Dali Benssalah and German actor Albrecht Schuch.

Nominated actors at the event include Zlatko Burić (“Triangle of Sadness”), Elliott Crosset Hove (“Godland”), Eden Dambrine (“Close”), Pierfrancesco Favino (“Nostalgia”), Meltem Kaptan (“Rabiye Kurnaz Vs. George W. Bush”) and Léa Seydoux (“One Fine Morning”).

Nominated directors in the audience included Ali Abbasi (“Holy Spider”), Lukas Dhont (“Close”), Alice Diop (“Saint Omer”), Marie Kreutzer (“Corsage”), Carla Simón (“Alcarràs”) and Jerzy Skolimowski (“EO”).

The Icelandic Symphonic Orchestra, the music collective INNI and Icelandic electronic music band GusGus were the live musical acts of the evening.

See the full list of winners and nominees below, updating live.


European Film
“Holy Spider”
“Triangle of Sadness” – WINNER

European Documentary
“A House Made of Splinters”
“Girl Gang”
“Mariupolis 2” – WINNER
“The Balcony Movie”
“The March on Rome”

European Director
Lukas Dhont for “Close”
Marie Kreutzer for “Corsage”
Jerzy Skolimowski for “EO”
Ali Abbasi for “Holy Spider”
Alice Diop for “Saint Omer”
Ruben Östlund for “Triangle of Sadness” – WINNER

European Actress
Vicky Krieps in “Corsage”
Zar Amir Ebrahimi in “Holy Spider”
Léa Seydoux in “One Fine Morning”
Penélope Cruz in “Parallel Mothers”
Meltem Kaptan in “Rabiye Kurnaz Vs. George W. Bush”

European Actor
Paul Mescal in “Aftersun”
Eden Dambrine in “Close”
Elliott Crosset Hove in “Godland”
Pierfrancesco Favino in “Nostalgia”
Zlatko Burić in “Triangle of Sadness” – WINNER

European Screenwriter
Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró for “Alcarràs”
Kenneth Branagh for “Belfast”
Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens for “Close”
Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami for “Holy Spider”
Ruben Östlund for “Triangle of Sadness” – WINNER

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
“107 Mothers”
“Love According to Dalva”
“Other People”
“Small Body” – WINNER

European Comedy
“Cop Secret”
“The Divide”
“The Good Boss” – WINNER

European Animated Feature Film
“Little Nicholas – Happy as Can Be”
“My Love Affair With Marriage”
“My Neighbors’ Neighbors”
“No Dogs or Italians Allowed” – WINNER

European Short Film
“Granny’s Sexual Life” – WINNER
“Ice Merchants”
“Love, Dad”
“Techno, Mama”
“Will My Parents Come to See Me”