Woody Harrelson, Justin Theroux Debut First Look at HBO Watergate Series ‘White House Plumbers’

White House Plumbers
Phillip V. Caruso / HBO

HBO has offered a first look at the Watergate drama series “White House Plumbers” starring Woody Harrelson and Justin Theroux.

The five-part series tells the story of how President Richard Nixon’s own political saboteurs and Watergate masterminds, E. Howard Hunt (Harrelson) and G. Gordon Liddy (Theroux), accidentally toppled the presidency they were zealously trying to protect. The cast also includes Domhnall Gleeson as John Dean and Lena Headey as Dorothy Hunt.

Most recently it was announced that Katlheen Turner would join the series. Rounding out the cast are Kiernan Shipka, Ike Barinholtz, Yul Vazquez, David Krumholtz, Rich Sommer, Kim Coates, Liam James, Zoe Levin, Tony Plana, Zak Orth, Nelson Ascencio, Tre Ryder, Gary Cole, Toby Huss and John Carroll Lynch.

“White House Plumbers” is based in part on public records and the book ”Integrity” by Egil “Bud” Krogh and Matthew Krogh. “Veep” writers and executive producers Alex Gregory and Peter Huyck created the series and will executive produce. “Veep” showrunner David Mandel, who is currently under an overall deal at HBO, will executive produce and direct all five episodes.

The series will be a co-production between HBO and Wiip. Ruben Fleischer and David Bernad will executive produce for The District along with Paul Lee, Mark Roybal and Nne Ebong for Wiip. Frank Rich will also executive produce, alongside Len Amato for Crash&Salvage and Gregg Fienberg. In addition to leading the series, Harrelson and Theroux will executive produce.

The show marks a return to HBO for both Harrelson and Theroux. Harrelson starred in the Emmy-winning first season of “True Detective” at the premium cabler, as well as the HBO original movie “Game Change,” which detailed Sarah Palin becoming John McCain’s running mate in the 2008 Presidential election. Theroux starred in the critically-acclaimed HBO series “The Leftovers,” which ended its run after three seasons in 2017.