Netflix released a trailer for Dave Chappelle’s newest comedy special, “The Closer,” which premieres globally on the service Oct. 5.

The trailer features Morgan Freeman narrating over footage of Chappelle driving down a country road. “He’s deep in thought, back in the trance. Five specials in as many years. How do you close a body of work that profound?” asks Morgan. This stand-up special completes a body of work which includes previous specials “The Age of Spin,” “Deep In The Heart Of Texas” “Equanimity,” “The Bird Revelation” and “Stick & Stones.”

Stan Lathan returns to direct “The Closer,” having directed all of Chappelle’s previous specials. Watch the trailer below.

Also in today’s TV news roundup:


HBO released a trailer for the second season of “We’re Here,” which premieres Oct. 11 at 9 p.m. With eight episodes total, each episode will debut weekly on HBO and will be available to stream on HBO Max. This season follows drag queens Bob the Drag Queen, Eureka O’Hara and Shangela as they continue their journey spreading love and connection across small-town America through the art of drag. “We’re Here” is created and executive produced by Stephen Warren and Johnnie Ingram, and directed and executive produced by Peter LoGreco. Additionally, Eli Holzman, Aaron Saidman and Erin Gamble executive produce for Industrial Media’s The Intellectual Property Corporation. The series’ stars also serve as producers. Watch the trailer below.

Fox released a sneak peek for tonight’s episode of “The Big Leap,” which showcases a dance party set to Missy Elliott’s “4 My People.” The video is choreographed by Christopher Scott and filmed in one take, featuring dancers and actors in bathrobes and dresses alike, dancing atop beds and throughout the hallways of the hotel. This third episode of “The Big Leap” will follow Monica (Mallory Jansen) as she comes face-to-face with her past when the contestants head to Chicago to watch a performance of Swan Lake performed by her old ballet company. The new episode, titled “The White Swan Lives,” of “The Big Leap” airs Oct. 4 at 9 p.m. on Fox. Watch the video below.


Nickelodeon announced that the second season of “Danger Force” will premiere Oct. 23 at 8 p.m. on Nickelodeon. Ahead of the new season, Nickelodeon will also air “The Danger Documentary,” a half-hour special that examines the making of the final season of “Henry Danger,” on Oct. 16 at 8 p.m. All episodes of “Henry Danger,” the long-standing live-action series following the adventures of Henry Hart created by Dan Schneider and Dana Olsen, will be available to stream on Paramount Plus beginning Oct. 6. Jace Norman will be returning to the crime-fighting series “Danger Force,” guest starring as Henry Hart in the episode airing on Nov. 13. Season 2 of “Danger Force” will continue to follow the villain Rick Twitler as he returns to Swellview with a devious plan to control Mika’s mind through an intense virtual reality video game. The new season will also feature villains from the “Danger-verse” returning, including Frankini, Drex, The Toddler and Jeff and Mitch Bilsky, among others. “The Danger Documentary” is directed by Brent Coble and executive produced by John Pagano and Ashley Kaplan, senior vice president of Digital Studios.

The CW announced its schedule of upcoming new specials for the holiday season: “Scooby-Doo, Where Are You Now!” will air Oct. 29 at 8 p.m.; “World’s Funniest Animals: Halloween” airs Oct. 30 at 9 p.m.; “Masters of Illusion: Christmas Magic 2021” premieres Nov. 26 at 8 p.m and airs an encore Dec. 22 at 9 p.m.; a special holiday-themed episode of “Wellington Paranormal” airs Nov. 27 at 8:30 p.m.; “The Waltons’ Homecoming” premieres Nov. 28 at 8 p.m. and reruns Dec. 11 at 8 p.m.; “Beebo Saves Christmas” premieres Dec. 1 at 8 p.m. and reruns Dec. 21 at 8 p.m.; “World’s Funniest Animals: Christmas” premieres Dec. 1 at 9 p.m. and airs an encore Dec. 18 at 9 p.m.’ “Christmas Around The World” premieres Dec. 8 at 8 p.m. and airs again Dec. 24 at 8 p.m.; “Penn & Teller: Merry Fool US” airs Dec. 10 at 8 p.m.; “Greatest Holiday Commercials Countdown 2021” premieres Dec. 12 at 9 p.m. and airs again Dec. 21 at 9 p.m.; “Dogs of the Year 2021” premieres Dec. 16 at 8 p.m. and airs again Dec. 29 at 8 p.m.; and “Popstar’s Best of 2021” airs Dec. 28 at 8 p.m. The network will also feature some returning favorites this winter, from “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer,” airing Nov. 26 at 9 p.m. as well as Dec. 18 at 8 p.m. and Dec. 22 at 8 p.m., to “Silent Night – A Song For The World,” which airs first on Dec. 4 at 8 p.m. and is then followed by an encore on Dec. 23 at 8 p.m.. This year’s “iHeartRadio Jingle Ball 2021” airs Dec. 15 at 8 p.m. and again Dec. 25 at 8 p.m., and “The 89th Annual Hollywood Christmas Parade” airs Dec. 17 at 8 p.m.


GAC Family announced Daniel Lissing will guest star on the two-part premiere of “When Hope Calls” Season 2. The historical drama series is set in 1916 in a fictional Western prairie town were tradition conflicts with the ambitions of a growing city. Returning cast members include Morgan Kohan, Ryan-James Hatanaka, Wendy Crewson, Hanneke Talbot, Neil Crone and Jefferson Brown. Lori Loughlin and Carter Ryan are also set to return. Brad Krevoy, Brian Bird, Michael Landon Jr., Alfonso H. Moreno and David Anselmo executive produce with producer Kym Crepin. Supervising producers are W. Michael Beard and Michael Shepard with Bradley Walsh as director.

Netflix’s “Painkiller” has added Taylor Kitsch, John Ales, Sam Anderson, Carolina Bartczak, Jack Mulhern, Ana Cruz Kayne, Ron Lea and Tyler Ritter to the cast. The six-episode limited series follows the origin of the opioid crisis and big companies that profit off of addiction. Previously announced cast members include Uzo Aduba, Matthew Broderick, West Duchovny, Dina Shihabi and John Rothman. Executive producers are Eric Newman, Micah Fitzerman-Blue, Noah Harpster, Alex Gibney, Peter Berg and Patrick Radden Keefe.


The Imagen Awards announced the final slate of presenters for the 36th Annual Imagen Awards virtual broadcast. The presenters are Mario Lopez, Ricardo Chavira, Melissa Fumero, Cristo Fernández, Rosie Perez, Noemí González, Seidy López, Diana-Maria Riva, James Martinez, Paulina Chávez, Isaac Arellanes, Ana Ortiz, Eva Noblezada and Harvey Guillén. The 36th Annual Imagen Awards will air Sunday, Oct. 10 at 5 p.m. PT on PBSSoCal.org and KCET.org and will be hosted by Aida Rodriguez, Chuey Martinez, Isabella Gomez and Karrie Martin Lachney.