You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Peabody has added six more members to its West Coast board of directors, including Lorrie Bartlett, co-head of talent, ICM; Channing Dungey, chairman, Warner Bros. Television Group; Alix Jaffe, executive VP of television, Village Roadshow Entertainment Group; Tilane Jones, president of Array; Charles D. King, founder and CEO of Macro; and Josh Sapan, president and CEO of AMC Networks.

The board of directors, separate from the board of jurors that decide the annual Peabody Awards, is made up of “prominent executives from leading media companies and networks,” the organization said. “The board provides expert counsel and stewardship, and advances Peabody’s commitment to outstanding and transformative storytelling.”

The board was first launched in 2015 to support the Peabody organization, which is based at the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia. It’s comprised of an East Coast and West Coast arm.

“We’re extremely proud of the media leaders we’ve assembled to advise us and help us chart our future,” said Jeffrey Jones, executive director of Peabody. “They each have decades of experience leading some of the most influential media companies and they are all deeply passionate about championing and celebrating powerful stories that matter. We’re thrilled to welcome them to the West Coast Board.”

As for the new members, Bartlett leads the talent department at talent and literary agency ICM Partners, and was the first African American to become a department head and a board member of a major talent agency. Dungey’s role includes creative responsibility for all of Warner Bros.’ television production activities, such as production of scripted and unscripted/alternative series for on-demand/streaming platforms, premium/pay and basic cable channels, and the broadcast networks.

At Village Roadshow, Jaffe focuses on scripted content. At Array, Jones leads the non-profit Array Alliance, programming and production hub Array Creative Campus and Array Releasing, the company’s film distribution arm. At Macro, King is developing projects that center on perspectives of Black people and people of color. His company includes film and TV studio arms, as well talent (M88) and influencer (UNCMMN) management divisions, a branding and creative agency (Brand Macro) and an affiliated venture firm (MaC Venture Capital). Sapan’s oversight at AMC Networks includes AMC, BBC America (a joint venture with BBC Studios), IFC, SundanceTV, WE TV, IFC Films, AMC Plus, Acorn TV, Shudder, Sundance Now and ALLBLK.

Here are the other Peabody board members, by coast:


Bruce M. Ramer (Chair), Partner, Gang, Tyre, Ramer & Brown
Casey Bloys, Chief Content Officer, HBO and HBO Max
Emerson Coleman, Senior Vice President, Programming, Hearst Television
Susanne Daniels, Global Head of Original Content, YouTube
Craig Erwich, President, ABC Entertainment and Hulu Originals, Hulu
Cliff Gilbert-Lurie, Senior Partner, Ziffren Brittenham LLP
Roma Khanna, Executive Chair, HiddenLight Productions
David Kramer, Co-President, United Talent Agency
Steve Lafferty, Head of Television and Managing Partner, Creative Artists Agency
David Nevins, Chief Creative Officer, CBS and Chairman and CEO, Showtime Networks, ViacomCBS
Andy Patman, Partner and Head of Television Content, A3 Artists Agency
Rick Rosen, Head of Television, William Morris Endeavor Entertainment
Jennifer Salke, Head of Amazon Studios
Ted Sarandos, Co-Chief Executive Officer and Chief Content Officer, Netflix
David Stapf, President, CBS Studios
Zack Van Amburg, Head of Worldwide Video, Apple


John Huey (Chair), Former Editor-in-Chief, Time Inc.
Philip Balboni, Founder, CEO and Co-Executive Editor, Daily Chatter
Nancy Barnes, Senior Vice President of News and Editorial Director, NPR
Caty Borum Chattoo, Director, Center for Media & Social Impact, American University
Katie Couric, Journalist and Author; Founder, Katie Couric Media
Maria Cuomo Cole, Producer/Founder, Cuomo Cole Productions
Nancy Dubuc, CEO, Vice Media
Jessica Herrera-Flanigan, Vice President, Policy & Philanthropy, Americas, Twitter
Kerri Hoffman, CEO, PRX
Dave Isay, Founder and President, StoryCorps
Paula Kerger, President and CEO, PBS
Chris McCarthy, President, Entertainment & Youth Brands, ViacomCBS Domestic Media Networks, Viacom
Pat Mitchell, CEO and Producer; Founder, TEDWomen & Chair, Sundance Institute board
Courteney Monroe, President of Content, National Geographic Global Networks
Sheila Nevins, Head, MTV Documentary Films, MTV Studios
Michele Norris-Johnson, Founding Director, The Race Card Project & Former NPR Host
Soledad O’Brien, Chief Executive Officer, Soledad O’Brien Productions
Malika Saada Saar, Global Head of Human Rights, YouTube
Connor Schell, Producer
Regina K. Scully, Founder and CEO, Artemis Rising Foundation
Kashif Shaikh, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Pillars Fund
Neal Shapiro, President and CEO, WNET New York Public Media
Marcia Smith, Co-Founder and President, Firelight Media