Nickelodeon announced that the two new animated series “The Patrick Star Show” and “Middlemost Post” will debut back-to-back on July 9 at 7 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.

Both series will continue to roll out new episodes on Friday nights.

“The Patrick Star Show” marks the second “SpongeBob SquarePants” spin-off series after “Camp Coral” made its debut on Paramount Plus earlier this year. The series will follow a younger Patrick Star living at home with his family, where he hosts his own variety show for the neighborhood from his television-turned-bedroom.

In the premiere episode, “Late for Breakfast,” Patrick presents a show about food after missing out on a hearty breakfast. Then in “Bummer Jobs,” Patrick and SpongeBob experience the wonders of the workforce.

Bill Fagerbakke returns to voice the iconic starfish alongside an array of new cast members, including Tom Wilson as Cecil Star; Cree Summer as Bunny Star; Jill Talley as Squidina Star and Dana Snyder as GrandPat Star. Veteran “SpongeBob SquarePants” actors Tom Kenny, Rodger Bumpass, Carolyn Lawrence, Clancy Brown and Mr. Doug Lawrence will also lend their voices to the show.

Marc Ceccarelli, Vincent Waller and Jennie Monica are co-executive producers of the series.

“Middlemost Post,” which marks Nickelodeon’s first original animated series in five years, follows a former rain cloud, a brawny mailman and their magical pet walrus as they deliver packages to the unusual inhabitants of Mount Middlemost.

In the premiere episode, “First Delivery,” the gang goes through warfare while trying to deliver a letter to a house that never gets mail. Then in “Chore or Less,” Parker does the chores in an attempt to be more like Angus and comes to realize that they’re actually boring.

The voice cast behind “Middlemost Post” includes Becky Robinson as Parker J. Cloud; John DiMaggio as Angus Roy Shackelton; Kiren as Lily; Colton Dunn as Mayor Peeve; and Johnny Pemberton as Ryan, Mayor Peeve’s loyal assistant.

“Middlemost Post” is created by John Trabbic III. Dave Johnson serves as co-executive producer and story editor.

Also in today’s TV news roundup:


MTV’s long-running competition series “The Challenge” has been renewed for a 37th season. Longtime host TJ Lavin made the announcement on social media, also revealing that the season would be set in Croatia. The full cast and premiere date for the new season will be announced at a later date. Its executive producers are Julie Pizzi, Emer Harkin, Ryan Smith, Danny Wascou, James Rodriguez, Dan Caster and Leanne Mucci.


Vulture Festival will take place on Nov. 13 and 14 live at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel in Los Angeles. The event will feature a lineup of actors in conversation, table reads, cast reunions and unique surprises, all to be announced in the coming months.

Peabody announced presenters for the 81st annual Peabody Awards: America Ferrera, Brittany Packnett Cunningham, Charlamagne tha God, Chris Rock, Cynthia Erivo, D. L. Hughley, Deborah Roberts, Emmanuel Acho, Eva Longoria, Goldie Hawn, Guillermo del Toro, Hasan Minhaj, Jane Fonda, Jemele Hill, Karl-Anthony Towns, Keith Ellison, Kristen Bell, Natasha Lyonne, Oprah Winfrey, Questlove, Raoul Peck, Ronan Farrow, Sandra Oh, Sanjay Gupta, Selma Blair, Soledad O’Brien, Steve Carell, Taraji P. Henson, Thandiwe Newton, Trevor Noah and Will Ferrell. Each presenter will be featured in a short video, which will include remarks from the winners, when this year’s awards are announced virtually across major social media platforms between June 21 and 24.


Lifetime greenlit a reboot of “Highway to Heaven,” starring Jill Scott and Barry Watson, as a movie series. A modern take on the 1984 classic, the original roles are gender-swapped so that Scott is the angel (aptly named Angela) who comes down to Earth to help people in a crisis, while Watson is a junior high school principal named Bruce. Angela’s Earth alias is a temporary school counselor and she helps troubled student Cody (Ben Daon) and his father Jeff (Robert Moloney) after the tragic loss of Cody’s mother, Melissa (Ashley Ross). As Angela seemingly works miracles with Cody and Jeff, Bruce is in disbelief when he learns of the divine nature of Angela’s work. The first installment of the “Highway to Heaven” series is executive produced by Jonathan Baruch and Rob Wolken for Rain Productions; Ben Silverman, Howard T. Owens, Gregory Lipstone and Rodney Ferrell for Propagate; Howard Braunstein; Scott; writer Cathryn Humphris; Shawn Gee; Cindy Landon and Wayne Lepoff. Stacey K. Black directed the premiere of the event movie series.


Amna Nawaz has been named chief correspondent for the PBS NewsHour. On Fridays, she will also serve as the program’s White House correspondent. In this capacity, she will continue to stand in as the broadcast’s primary substitute anchor and the host of the primetime arts series “Beyond the Canvas.” Joining the NewsHour team in April 2018 as a correspondent, Nawaz has also co-moderated PBS NewsHour’s Democratic Primary Debate with Politico in Dec. 2019 and hosted the primetime documentary “The Plastic Problem.”


Dax Shepard, Monica Padman, Tony Hale and Saweetie will appear on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” while Helen Mirren, Kenya Barris and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds will be on “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.” “Conan” will feature Mila Kunis, while “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert” will have on Nathan Lane and Griff. “Late Night With Seth Meyers” will feature Peyton Manning, Bowen Yang, Edgar Wright and Stevie Nistor, and Will Arnett and Lord Huron will appear on “The Late Late Show With James Corden.