Amazon Releases New ‘The Wheel of Time’ Clip, Adds Three to Season 2 Cast (TV News Roundup)

Wheel of Time

Amazon Prime Video and Sony Pictures Television released a new clip from “The Wheel of Time” and announced Ceara Coveney, Natasha O’Keeffe and Meera Syal will join the cast as series regulars in Season 2.

Based on Robert Jordan’s bestselling fantasy novels, “The Wheel of Time” is set in an epic world where magic exists and only certain women are allowed to access it. Moiraine (Rosamund Pike), a member of the powerful all-female organization called Aes Sedai, embarks on an adventure with five men and women — with one prophesied to be the Dragon Reborn, who will either save or destroy humanity.

The series stars Pike, Joshua Stradowski, Marcus Rutherford, Zoë Robins, Barney Harris, Madeleine Madden and Daniel Henney.

“The Wheel of Time” was adapted for TV by Rafe Judkins, who serves as showrunner. In addition to Judkins, Larry Mondragon, Rick Selvage, Mike Weber, Ted Field, Darren Lemke, Marigo Kehoe and Uta Briesewitz serve as executive producers. Pike will serve as producer, with Harriet McDougal and Brandon Sandereson as consulting producers. The series is co-produced by Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television.

Also in today’s TV new roundup:


USA Network announced it will premiere its two-hour film followup to “Nash Bridges” on Nov. 27 at 9 p.m. The film brings back original cast members Don Johnson and Cheech Marin as elite investigators for the San Francisco Police Department’s Special Victims Unit. Joe Dinicol, Diarra Kilpatrick, Angela Ko, Paul James, Alexia Garcia, Bonnie Sommerville and Jeff Perry also star. Johnson, Bill Chais, Greg Beeman and Carlton Cruse serve as executive producers. The series is produced by Village Roadshow Television. It is based on the original series created by Cruse, which ran from 1996-2001 on CBS.

See key art for the film below.

Nash Bridges

The second half of “The Walking Dead” Season 11 will premiere first on Feb. 13, 2022 on AMC Plus and then have a linear network premiere on Feb. 20, 2022 at 9 p.m. on AMC. The back half of the season will consist of eight episodes that follow many of its heroes fighting hellfire under Reaper attack, while others battle Mother Nature’s torrential wrath in Alexandria — while life in the Commonwealth is not as idyllic as it seems either. The series is based on the comic book series by Robert Kirkman and is produced by AMC Studios.

Amazon Prime Video announced “The Expanse’s” sixth and final season will premiere on Dec. 10. “The Expanse” is set in a colonized solar system with the governments of Earth, Mars and the Asteroid Belt locked in long-standing conflict. Season 6 picks up with the solar system at war, as Marco Inaros and his Free Navy continue to launch devastating asteroid attacks on Earth and Mars. The series stars Steven Strait, Dominique Tipper, Wes Chatham, Shohreh Aghdashloo, Cara Gee, Frankie Adams, Keon Alexander, Nadine Nicole, and Jasai Chase Owens. Naren Shankar, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Laura Lancaster, Sharon Hall, Sean Daniel, Jason Brown, Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck, Dan Nowak and Ben Roberts serve as executive producers. “The Expanse” is produced by Alcon Television Group. See a new trailer below.


Revry will premiere the QueerX Awards on Oct. 11 at 5 p.m. for National Coming Out Day. The streaming special acts as the finale to the month-long international film festival competition, QueerX. The special will feature music performances, screenings of winning films and the Revry Visibility Awards, the celebrities being honored this year including Erica Wheeler, Cassandra Peterson, Bowen Yang and Michaela Jaé Rodriguez. Sponsors of the awards show include Lexus, Final Draft, Tourism Spain, Florida Keys and Key West.


Jason Momoa, Ana de Armas and Big Red Machine will appear on “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.” “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” will feature the cast of “Succession.”