Lil Nas X, Lizzo and More Join ‘The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder’ Guest Cast (TV News Roundup)

Proud Family Louder and Prouder Concept Art
Courtesy of Disney+

Disney Plus released a new list of voice actors added to the cast of “The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder,” premiering in 2022.

Among the new stars added to the cast of the revival of “The Proud Family” are Lizzo, Lil Nas X, Chance the Rapper, Normani, Leslie Odom Jr., Tiffany Haddish, Lena Waithe, Anthony Anderson, Gabrielle Union, Debbie Allen, James Pickens Jr., Courtney B. Vance, Jane Lynch, Marsai Martin, Jaden Smith, Glynn Turman, Lamorne Morris, Brenda Song, Tina Knowles, Eva Longoria, Holly Robinson Peete, Al Roker, Bretman Rock, Gabby Douglas and Laurie Hernandez.

Additional recurring stars include Asante Blackk as Penny’s boyfriend Kareem, Artist Dubose aka A Boogie wit da Hoodie as Maya’s brother Francis “KG” Leibowitz-Jenkins, Raquel Lee Bolleau reprising her role as Nubia Gross and Marcus T. Paulk reprising his role as Penny’s classmate Myron.

“The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder” will pick up the story of Penny Proud and her family and friends. Many of the leading cast members from the original series will also return, including Kyla Pratt as Penny Proud, Tommy Davidson as Oscar Proud, Paula Jai Parker as Trudy Proud, JoMarie Payton as Suga Mama, Cedric the Entertainer as Uncle Bobby, Carlos Mencia as Felix Boulevardez, Maria Canals-Barrera as Sunset Boulevardez, Alvaro Gutierrez as Papi, Karen Malina White as Dijonay Jones, Soleil Moon Frye as Zoey Howzer, and Alisa Reyes as LaCienega Boulevardez. Other previously announced recurring voices are Keke Palmer as Maya Leibowitz-Jenkins, Billy Porter as Randall Leibowitz-Jenkins, Zachary Quinto as Barry Leibowitz-Jenkins, and EJ Johnson as Michael Collins.

Currently in production at Disney Television Animation, the revival is executive produced by Bruce W. Smith and Ralph Farquhar, who both led the original series. Calvin Brown, Jr. serves as co-executive producer and story editor, Jan Hirota serves as producer and Eastwood Wong serves as art director. See the cast discuss the show below.

Also in today’s TV news roundup:


Apple TV Plus unveiled the first look at “Acapulco,” premiering Oct. 8. The bilingual comedy series stars Eugenio Derbez, who also executive produces. The limited series, told in English and Spanish, follows a twenty-something Máximo Gallardo (Enrique Arrizon) in 1984, whose dream comes true when he gets the job of a lifetime as a cabana boy at the best resort in Acapulco. Derbez narrates and plays the present day version of Máximo. The ensemble cast includes Fernando Carsa, Damián Alcázar, Camila Perez, Chord Overstreet, among others. Austin Winsberg and Chris Harris are showrunners. Eric and Kim Tannenbaum executive produce and Jason Wang co-executive produces.










Amazon Prime Video released a trailer for “I Know What You Did Last Summer,” premiering on Oct. 15. Based on Lois Duncan’s novel and following the famous 1997 film, the series tells the story of a group of teenagers haunted by a fatal car accident and stalked by a brutal killer. Written and executive produced by Sara Goodman, “I Know What You Did Last Summer” stars Madison Iseman, Bill Heck, Brianne Tju, Ezekiel Goodman, Ashley Moore, Sebastian Amoruso, Fiona Rene, Cassie Beck and Brooke Bloom. Original Film’s Neal H. Moritz and Pavun Shetty, Erik Feig, Peter Guber, Atomic Monster’s James Wan, Michael Clear and Rob Hackett, Craig William Macneill and Shay Hatten also executive produce. Watch the trailer below.


Peacock and BuzzFeed Studios announced “Snoop and Martha’s Very Tasty Halloween,” a competition special that will premiere on Oct. 21. Snoop Dogg and Martha Stewart will host “Scare Squads,” teams made up of three bakers, who must create life-size edible Halloween scenes. BuzzFeed Tasty producer Alvin Zhou will join Snoop and Stewart as a judge. The special is produced by BuzzFeed Studios, Magical Elves and Snoopadelic Films. Executive producers include Snoop and Stewart; Casey Kriley, Jo Sharon, Hillary Olsen, Patrick J. Doody and Gaylen Gawlowski for Magical Elves; and Richard Alan Reid and Charlotte Simms for BuzzFeed.


Univision Communications Inc. announced that Univision, UniMás and Galavisión are now available on YouTube TV. The subscription service will carry Univision’s live network and local programming as well as video-on-demand content.


New York Festivals Television & Film Awards will honor Molly Solomon with its 11th annual Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes prominent industry leaders and driving forces in broadcast whose accomplishments have made a lasting impression on the industry. Solomon serves as executive producer and president of NBC Olympics Production and executive producer for the Golf Channel. The virtual ceremony will take place on Oct. 12 at 6 p.m.


Jimmy Fallon, Jimmy Kimmel, Stephen Colbert, Trevor Noah, Seth Meyers, James Corden and Samantha Bee will join forces on Wednesday, Sept. 22, for Climate Night. Using their respective platforms to talk (and joke) about climate change, each late-night host will approach the issue with their own signature brand of humor in hopes of raising audience awareness and promoting action. “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon” airs at 11:35 p.m. on NBC, “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” airs at 11:35 p.m. on ABC, “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert” airs at 11:35 p.m. on CBS, “The Daily Show With Trevor Noah” airs at 11 p.m. on Comedy Central, “Late Night With Seth Meyers” airs at 12:35 a.m. on NBC, “The Late Late Show With James Corden” airs at 12:37 a.m. on CBS and “Full Frontal With Samantha Bee” airs at 10:30 p.m. on TBS.

MTV Entertainment Group announced the “Better Together Mental Health Storytelling Series,” beginning on Oct. 7 at 1 p.m. with “A Conversation About the Power of Storytelling in Uncertain Times.” During the one-hour interactive virtual event, MTV will host a keynote conversation and panel discussion with content creators and talent who are focused on mental health. The event intends to drive engagement with the Mental Health Media Guide, a resource for content creators designed to positively change narratives on mental health.


Dana Steiner has joined Clarity as vice president of media and entertainment, Variety has learned exclusively. Steiner, who was most recently Larry King’s longtime publicist, will be based in the agency’s Los Angeles office, where she will focus on leading and expanding Clarity’s work with digital media, entertainment, streaming content, production and tech clients. She has also previously held roles at PMK-BNC, Rogers & Cowan and Metro Public Relations. At Clarity, she will report to managing director, Monica Feig.

Lexi Lewis has joined The Cartel as director of development, effective immediately. Lewis comes to the film from Reel One, where she served as manager of creative development. At The Cartel, Lewis will be based in Los Angeles and responsible for developing independent feature films, studio feature films, television movies and independent television series. Her other previous experience includes positions at Crown Media’s Hallmark Channel as well as the Upright Citizens Brigade.


Ben Platt, JoJo Siwa and Amy Adams will appear on “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon,” while Bill Maher, Hannah Waddingham and Carly Pearce will be on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” Nathan Lane, B.J. Novak and Nessa Barrett will be on “Late Night With Seth Meyers.” Jessica Chastain and Stephen Sondheim will be on “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert” while Cedric the Entertainer and Gillian Anderson appear on “The Late Late Show With James Corden.”