You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Camila Cabello’s ‘Romance’ Certified Gold by RIAA

Camila Cabello’s sophomore album “Romance” has been certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America, her label , Epic Records, announced today, after selling over 600,000 in album-equivalent units in approximately a month.

With \ singles like “Easy” and “Señorita,” her duet with boyfriend Shawn Mendes (which has earned the duo a Grammy nomination for Best Pop Group or Duet Performance), Cabello’s “Romance” shows off her trademark combination of traditional pop with Latin styles. Since its Dec. 6 release, the follow-up to the artist’s self-titled debut has garnered over 770 million streams and 315 million video views. The album also includes songs “Shameless,” “Cry For Me,” and “Liar.” “My Oh My” featuring 2019 breakout artist DaBaby, is yet another song from the album gaining attention as it enters the top 25 at pop radio this week. The song’s lyric video is already approaching 2 million views after being released last Friday (Jan. 10).

Cabello is scheduled to kick off the North American leg of her Romance Tour this summer, starting with a performance in Vancouver. She’ll also make stops in Los Angeles, New York, and Houston before wrapping in Miami on Sep. 26. The tour marks the singer’s first solo headlining arena tour.

In an interview with Variety over the summer, Cabello said, “The reception to ‘Señorita, it’s been so cool to see. Especially because this song was eight months in the making,” she said. “Shawn texted me the idea for the song the song and he was like, ‘Oh my god, this is amazing that you want to do it.’” She went on  to explain that the two went back and forth for months trying to decide if they should actually go through with it. “Finally we were just like, ‘You know what, no pressure, let’s just go to the studio and try to finalize it and see how we feel about it.’ And then two weeks later we made the music video.”


More Music

  • My Chemical Romance

    My Chemical Romance Confirms U.S. Reunion Tour, With 18 Cities Set for Fall

    As anticipated, My Chemical Reunion’s December show at the Shrine Expo Hall in Los Angeles, their first in nine years, was not a one-off, as America goes. Following the announcement of some European gigs, the group has also slated a month-long run of arena shows in 18 cities this fall, including a return to L.A. [...]

  • Rusty Gaston, CEO, Sony/ATV Nashville

    Sony/ATV Publishing Nashville Names Rusty Gaston as CEO

    Making good on news that was reported last July but not officially announced until now, Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville has appointed Rusty Gaston CEO. As head of the titan Nashville division, Gaston will work under Jon Platt, Sony/ATV’s chairman/CEO. “The Sony/ATV Nashville catalog is the undisputed greatest collection of country music on the planet,” Gaston [...]

  • BTS The Late Late Show with

    BTS Goes Into the Woods With James Corden for 'Black Swan' Live TV Debut (Watch)

    BTS took James Corden back into the woods for the live television premiere of the group’s new “Black Swan,” unfolding on a deep-forest set two nights after their Grammys debut, which was also the subject of a short interview on the late-night show. Speaking of their appearance on the Grammys, the group said, “Everything about [...]

  • Grammy Awards nominee Yola performs live

    John Prine, Yola, Rhiannon Giddens and Other Americana Notables Salute Willie Nelson

    Willie Nelson could have warned mamas not to let their babies grow up to be Americana musicians, but too late — he’s one of the core heroes and spiritual gurus of that roots-based movement, and some of its leading lights gathered at L.A.’s Troubadour on Grammy weekend to salute Nelson by covering his songs, showing [...]

  • Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez. Kristen Anderson-Lopez,

    Kristen Anderson-Lopez Talks Responsibility, Representation in 'Frozen 2' and the Biz

    Gender parity isn’t an issue in Oscar-winning songwriting-composer Kristen Anderson-Lopez’s house, what with her longstanding collaboration with husband Bobby Lopez, but at the Oscars luncheon on Monday, it was a different story. “There were 13 female directors represented in the shorts and documentary fields,” Anderson-Lopez notes, adding, “but how do we get from there to [...]

  • Mrs. Doubtfire BroadwayCon panel

    Listen: 'Mrs. Doubtfire' the Musical, Live From BroadwayCon

    In the Broadway-bound musical version of “Mrs. Doubtfire,” actor Rob McClure has the unenviable job of following in the footsteps of comedy great Robin Williams, who memorably played the title role in the 1993 film on which the stage show is based. Listen to this week’s podcast below: How does McClure hope to fill those [...]

  • Lizzo

    Osheaga and Firefly Festivals Reveal Lineups: Lizzo, Kendrick Lamar, Billie Eilish, More

    Two of the summer’s biggest festivals — Firefly in Delaware and Osheaga in Montreal — announced their lineups this week, and both feature some of the most important artists working today. Delaware’s Firefly Festival will feature headliners Billie Eilish, Halsey and Rage Against the Machine (the latter of which is also set to headline Coachella). [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content