Warner Bros. Launches $1.1 million Funding Initiative in Germany

Warner Bros.’ Hamburg-based German division, Warner Bros. Entertainment GmbH, has agreed for the first time to financial contributions of €1 million ($1.1 million) annually for regional funder Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein (FFHSH).

The three-year deal, signed between Warner Bros. and the FFHSH on Friday, marks the first time that Warner Bros. has contributed to any of Germany’s eight main regional funds. The FFHSH will allocate 25% of the new funding to projects from young up-and-coming filmmakers.

“Warner Bros. has been committed to German film through investments as a co-producer and distributor since 1995,” said Willi Geike, Warner Bros. Entertainment president and managing director.

“With our new initiative at the FFHSH, we want to support young screenwriting talents and filmmakers from the region, enable the production of innovative feature films and strengthen Hamburg as a location.”

FFHSH managing director Helge Albers added: “We are very pleased that with Warner Bros., a big major in Hamburg is specifically supporting the film industry on its own doorstep. This funding will flow into projects with a strong regional focus and a quarter of the money is reserved for projects by young filmmakers.”

Albers, a former producer who became head of the FFHSH last year, thanked his predecessor Maria Köpf for getting the initiative started.

As part of the agreement, which initially covers a three-year period, Warner Bros. will provide the FFHSH with $1.1 million a year for fiduciary administration. The funding is aimed at screenplay development and feature film productions of artistic and/or cultural significance from Hamburg and Schleswig-Holstein. At least 25% of the funding will be allocated to projects from young filmmakers in an effort to strengthen talent development in the region.

The FFHSH will begin granting support from the funding pot in April.

Recent films shot in Hamburg include Elizabeth Banks’ “Charlie’s Angels” and Nora Fingscheidt’s hit drama “System Crasher.”

(Pictured L-R: Willi Geike; Helge Albers; Peter Schauerte; Carsten Brosda)

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • HTC Headset

    Taiwan Launches Int'l Grant Scheme to Boost VR Content Production

    Taiwan has launched a grant scheme to boost the island’s status as a global hub for virtual reality production. It is offering finance to projects co-produced by companies established in Taiwan and internationally, but excluding those from mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau. The three-year Immersive Content Grant for International Joint Ventures or Co-Productions under [...]

  • Extinction

    Coronavirus Causes 85% Crash in Asia Box Office

    Theatrical box office in the Asia-Pacific region tumbled a massive 85% in the first two months of the year. The coronavirus caused cinema closures, audience hesitation, and a halving of the number of film releases. Asia is home to the five of the top ten cinema markets outside North America. According to data from the [...]

  • Lindsay Lindenbaum on 'Tomboy,' Female Drummers,

    How 'Tomboy' Filmmaker Used SXSW Cancellation to Fine-Tune Her Film

    “Tomboy” filmmaker Lindsay Lindenbaum spent five years following four female drummers trying to make it in a male-dominated world. Lindenbaum profiles Bobbye Hall, a drummer who started at Motown Records in the late ’60s and later toured with Bob Dylan. Samantha Maloney, whose obsession with MTV’s “Headbangers Ball” as a teenager led her to fall [...]

  • Wonder Woman 1984

    Will the Coronavirus Pandemic Wipe Out All of Summer Blockbuster Season?

    Say goodbye to blockbuster season — at least for this year. After would-be summer hits from Disney, Warner Bros., and Universal already vacated their release dates, Sony Pictures announced Monday that its comic book adventure “Morbius,” “Ghostbusters: Afterlife” and virtually all of its upcoming tentpoles were being moved into the fall or beyond. It was [...]

  • Dodgers Stadium Empty

    Movie Theaters and Concerts Could See Major Attendance Drop Post-Pandemic (Study)

    After a month of increasing anxiety and self-isolation due to the coronavirus pandemic, audiences in the U.S. are largely not eager to return to public events once the crisis subsides, according to a new study. In a survey of 1,000 consumers in the U.S., 44% of respondents said they would attend fewer large public events, [...]

  • 'Dolphin Reef' Review: A Dazzling Look

    'Dolphin Reef' on Disney Plus: Film Review

    Out of the vast universe of nature documentaries, I don’t think I’m alone in finding films about life under the sea to occupy a special place. The very fact that they exist, of course, is amazing — though when you watch one, part of the wonder is that you’re not thinking about how aquamarine filmmakers [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content