Oscars: ‘Toy Story 4’ Becomes 10th Pixar Film to Win Best Animated Feature

Toy Story 4” has won the Academy Award for best animated feature for Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera — a decade after “Toy Story 3” took the prize.

It’s the 10th Pixar title to take an Oscar since the category was created in 2001.

“We just want to thank the Academy for honoring our film alongside so many beautiful animated films this year. We’re just proud to be among them,” said Nielsen after accepting the Oscar, “We take great pride in the fact that we get to make family films, and ‘Toy Story 4’ is a love letter to our families.”

“We want to thank the moviegoing audience so much, especially those that grew up with ‘Toy Story.’ We hope that your adventures with Woody and Buzz made growing up a little bit easier,” said Cooley.

“Toy Story 4” topped Universal’s “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World,” Laika’s “The Missing Link” and a pair of Netflix titles — “I Lost My Body” and the holiday film “Klaus.” “Missing Link” won the Golden Globe and “Klaus” took the Annie Award, placing both into play as possible Oscar winners among prognosticators.

“Toy Story 4” was by far the biggest grosser among the nominees with $434 million in North America and $1.07 billion worldwide.

Popular on Variety

The film, which debuted 24 years after the original “Toy Story,” was directed by Cooley in his feature helming debut. It follows Woody as he deals with a confused spork named Forky, voiced by Tony Hale.

The voice cast saw Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Annie Potts, Joan Cusack, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger, Estelle Harris, Blake Clark, Bonnie Hunt, Jeff Garlin and Timothy Dalton reprising their character roles from the first three films. Keegan-Michael Key, Jordan Peele, Christina Hendricks, Keanu Reeves, and Ally Maki voiced the other new roles.

“Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse” won the category last year. Besides “Toy Story 3,” the other Pixar titles to have won the animated trophy are “Finding Nemo,” “The Incredibles,” “Ratatouille,” “WALL-E,” “Up,” “Brave,” “Inside Out” and “Coco.”

“Toy Story” was released in 1995 and “Toy Story 2” came out in 1999 — too early to gain recognition in the category.



More Film

  • 'Charlatan' Review: Agnieszka Holland Shows Faith

    'Charlatan': Film Review

    At several points in “Charlatan,” the camera looks glossily on as our protagonist holds small bottles of amber liquid to the light, academically scrutinizing their contents as they beam a light golden glow onto his features: an effect both ennobling and almost romantic. The man is Jan Mikolášek, a famous Czech herbalist and healer with [...]

  • Toho Cinemas at Tokyo Midtown Hibiya

    Japanese Cinemas To Refund Tickets in Virus Response

    In response to the coronavirus crisis, the Japanese film industry has begun to delay releases, close theaters and refund ticket purchases. The releases of the new “Doraemon” and “Jimaro” feature animations targeted at kids out of school for the spring break, have been delayed. The former was scheduled to open March 6, the latter on [...]

  • Blood on Her Name

    Film Review: ‘Blood on Her Name’

    In the opening moments of “Blood on Her Name,” an arrestingly twisty and suspenseful Southern noir thriller in the tradition of “One False Move,” we’re introduced to Leigh, the working-class protagonist played by Bethany Anne Lind, with a jarring close-up that is at once explicit and ambiguous. Her face is battered, her breathing is labored, [...]

  • Liev Schreiber Broadway

    Film News Roundup: Liev Schreiber Joins Will Smith's Tennis Drama 'King Richard'

    In today’s film news roundup, Liev Schreiber and retired pro footballer Vernon Davis score roles, Jason Blum will speak at his alma mater, Irish drama “Rialto” finds a U.S. distributor and “1917” hits a box office milestone. CASTINGS Liev Schreiber will portray tennis coach Paul Cohen in Warner Bros.’ “King Richard” opposite Will Smith. Reinaldo [...]

  • AMC theater

    AMC Entertainment Reports Mixed Fourth-Quarter Results

    AMC Entertainment has reported mixed fourth-quarter results, which saw revenues rise 2.4% to $1.45 billion, despite a 4.4% drop in U.S. attendance to 62.3 million. The exhibitor, owned by Dalian Wanda Group, announced a fourth-quarter loss of $13.5 million, compared to a year-earlier profit of $170.6 million, due to $84.3 million of expense related to [...]

  • 'Straight Up' Review: James Sweeney's Gay

    'Straight Up': Film Review

    There’s a tradition in movies, as vital as a hypnotic action scene or a swooning love scene, of dialogue so witty and nimble and rapid-fire that it comes at you like something out of a stylized dream. I first encountered that brand of high-velocity verbal jousting in “A Hard Day’s Night,” and later on in [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content