You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

International Emmy Awards: U.K.’s ‘McMafia’ Wins for Drama Series

U.K. series “McMafia” earned the International Emmy Award for drama at the 47th annual ceremony recognizing programs from outside the U.S.

BBC’s “McMafia,” which also aired on AMC, was the final winner tonight at the Hilton New York where the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ kudos were handed out at a dinner gala hosted by “Daily Show” correspondent Ronny Chieng.

Australia’s “Safe Harbour” won for movie/miniseries. The thriller about a disturbing trip to Indonesia for a group of friends from Brisbane beat out nominees from Brazil, India and Hungary. Matchbox Pictures’ produced the series for Australia’s SBS. “Safe Harbour” was picked in the U.S. by Hulu.

The comedy prize went to Netflix’s Brazilian program “Especial de Natal Porta dos Fundos (The Last Hangover),” a Biblical spoof starring popular comedian Fábio Porchat.

Haluk Bilginer of Turkey’s “Şahsiyet (Persona)” won for best performance by an actor. Marina Gera, star of Hungary’s “Orok Tel (Eternal Winter)” won for best performance by an actress.

Brazil’s “Hack in the City” won for short-form series. “Dance or Die,” a documentary from the Netherlands about Syrian dancer Ahmad Joudeh, got the nod for arts programming.

The U.K.’s “The Real Full Monty: Ladies Night” won for non-scripted entertainment program. the ITV series revolves around celebrities participating in a strip-off to raise money for cancer charities. The Netherlands won again in the documentary category for “Bellingcat – Truth in a Post-Truth World,” about the work of the self-described citizen journalist collective Bellingcat on pushing investigative stories on mainstream media outlets.

“Falco,” a 15-episode crime drama that revolves around the trials of an honest cop in 1994 Mexico, prevailed for non-English language U.S. primetime program. The series from Red Arrow Studios International aired Stateside on Telemundo. Telenovela honors went to Colombia’s “La Reina del Flow (The Queen of the Flow).”

Honorary awards were presented to “Game of Thrones” showrunners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss and CNN stalwart Christiane Amanpour, who also hosts PBS’ nightly interview series “Amanpour.”

This year’s nominations in 11 categories came from 21 countries, for programs spanning children’s fare to scripted dramas and comedies to documentary and arts specials. This year’s crop of 44 nominees are spread among Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Israel, the Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States, for non-English language primetime programming in the U.S.

Here is a complete list of winners:

Drama Series

Cuba Pictures
United Kingdom


Safe Harbour
Matchbox Pictures

Performance by an Actor

Haluk Bilginer in Şahsiyet (Persona)
Ay Yapim

Short-Form Series

Hack The City
Fox Lab Brazil / Yourmama

Arts Programming

Dance or Die
A Witfilm / NTR

Non-Scripted Entertainment

The Real Full Monty: Ladies Night
Spun Gold TV
United Kingdom


Especial de Natal Porta dos Fundos
(The Last Hangover)
Porta dos Fundos / Netflix


Bellingcat – Truth in a Post-Truth World
Submarine / VPRO Television

Non-English Language U.S. Primetime Program

Spiral International / Red Arrow Studios International / Dynamo
United States of America

Best Performance by an Actress

Marina Gera in Orok Tel
Szupermodern Studio / Gulag Memorial Committee


La Reina del Flow (The Queen of Flow)
Sony Pictures Television / Teleset / Netflix / Caracol TV

(Pictured: Best actor winner Haluk Bilginer)

More TV

  • Will Poulter attends a special screening

    'Lord of the Rings': Will Poulter No Longer Attached to Amazon Series (EXCLUSIVE)

    Will Poulter will not be appearing in Amazon’s upcoming “Lord of the Rings” series after all, Variety has learned exclusively. According to an individual with knowledge of the situation, scheduling conflicts will prevent the “Bandersnatch” and “Midsommar” actor from joining the show based on the works of J.R.R. Tolkien. Variety had exclusively reported on Poulter’s [...]

  • Brockmire IFC Hank Azaria

    'Brockmire' to End With Season 4 on IFC

    IFC has announced that the fourth season of “Brockmire,” premiering March 2020, will be the Hank Azaria comedy’s last. As well as Azaria, the show’s stars Amanda Peet, Tyrel Jackson Williams and Katie Finneran are all returning for the final eight-episode send off.  Additionally, “The Flash” star Reina Hardesty is joining the cast. “I really [...]

  • Tamron HallRolling Stone's Women Shaping The

    Tamron Hall Talk Show Renewed for Second Season

    Tamron Hall is staying put in daytime syndication now that Walt Disney Television has renewed her eponymous talk show for a second season. “Tamron Hall” has been re-upped for a second season on stations covering 80% of U.S. TV households, including the eight ABC O&O stations covering New York, Los Angeles, Chicago and other big [...]

  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

    'Marvelous Mrs. Maisel' Renewed for Season 4 at Amazon

    “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” has been renewed for a fourth season at Amazon, Variety has learned. The news comes less than a week after the third season debuted, with the whole season dropping on the streamer on Dec. 6. The move comes as now surprise, however, given the critical success the show has enjoyed since [...]

  • Audra McDonald/Geena Davis

    Geena Davis and Audra McDonald to Be Honored at 35th Annual Artios Awards

    Geena Davis and Audra McDonald will be honored by the Casting Society of America (CSA) at the 35th Annual Artios Awards, the organization announced Thursday. Oscar winner and advocate Geena Davis will receive the Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement at the Los Angeles ceremony. Emmy, Grammy and Tony winner McDonald will be honored with [...]

  • Netflix Releases Explosive Final Trailer For

    Netflix Releases Explosive Final Trailer For 'The Witcher'

    Only eight days away from the series’ release, Netflix dropped the final trailer for its highly anticipated eight-episode first season of “The Witcher.” Best on Andrzej Sapkowski’s bestselling fantasy series of books, “The Witcher” stars Henry Cavill (“Justice League”) as monster hunter Geralt of Rivia, Freya Allan (“The War of the Worlds”) as the young [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content