You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Geena Davis and Audra McDonald to Be Honored at 35th Annual Artios Awards

Geena Davis and Audra McDonald will be honored by the Casting Society of America (CSA) at the 35th Annual Artios Awards, the organization announced Thursday.

Oscar winner and advocate Geena Davis will receive the Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement at the Los Angeles ceremony. Emmy, Grammy and Tony winner McDonald will be honored with the Marion Dougherty New York Apple Award, which is an annual recognition from the casting community to individuals who have made a special commitment to the New York entertainment industry through their collaboration with casting directors.

“In a year that saw great strides in the casting community, it is fitting Casting Society of America recognizes some of the most impactful artists and craftspeople who advance and support the work we do every day,” said Russell Boast, president, CSA. “The 35th Artios Awards will continue the mission of putting a spotlight on the art of casting around the world, while underscoring the indelible contribution our members make to stage, film and screen.”

Interestingly, Stalmaster cast Davis in her feature film debut, “Tootsie,” which, Boast notes, offers the CSA a “full-circle moment.

“Geena has shaped a remarkable career for herself, not only as an award-winning actress, but also has a leading voice in the critical topic of women and diversity in the entertainment industry. We are proud to be honoring her contributions with the Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement at the 35th Artios Awards,” he said.

In addition to “Tootsie,” Davis is know for “The Accidental Tourist,” “Thelma & Louise” and “A League of Their Own.” She recently guest starred on the third season of Netflix’s “GLOW” and voices Huntara in the same streamer’s “She-Ra and the Princesses of Power.” She also executive produced and appeared in the documentary “This Changes Everything” about women’s representation in the media. Davis also founded the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, which works with the entertainment industry to engage, educate and influence the creation of gender balanced on-screen portrayals of female characters.

McDonald has appeared on stage in such lauded productions as “Carousel,” “Master Class,” “Ragtime,” “A Raisin in the Sun,” “The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess” and “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill,” the latter which served as the vehicle for her Olivier-nominated 2017 West End debut. On television, McDonald is known for roles in “Private Practice,” “The Sound of Music Live!” and “The Good Fight.” Recent film credits include “Ricki and the Flash,” “Beauty and the Beast,” “Hello Again” and MGM’s forthcoming Aretha Franklin biopic, “Respect.” The Juilliard-trained soprano also maintains a major career as a concert and recording artist.

The 35th Annual Artios Awards will also honor Deborah Aquila, who will receive the Hoyt Bowers Award; Andrew Femenella, who will receive the Rosalie Joseph Humanitarian Award; Stacia Kimler and Kate Sprance, who are the Associate Spotlight honorees; Andy Pryor, who will receive the Excellence in Casting Award; Working Title Films co-chairmen Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner, who will receive the Creative Collaboration Award; and Pippa Markham, Kate Buckley and Gillian Hawser, who will be receiving special recognition for their contributions in furthering the recognition of casting with the creation of the BAFTA Casting Awards for television and film.

The 35th Artios Awards will take place at ceremonies in Los Angeles, New York City and London on Jan. 30, 2020. For a full list of nominees, click here.

More TV

  • advertising placeholder NEW

    Procter & Gamble Gets Ready to Enter TV's Streaming Wars

    AT&T, Comcast and Walt Disney aren’t the only big companies eager to get into streaming-video. Procter & Gamble, one of the world’s most influential advertisers, is looking to do the same. P&G. the maker of Pampers, Crest and Bounty, among other popular supermarket staples, has struck a partnership with Stone Village Television, the production company [...]

  • The Luminaries

    Berlinale Series Market Unveils 2020 Selection

    The BBC and TVNZ’s adaptation of Man Booker Prize winning novel “The Luminaries,” starring Eva Green, is among the scripted TV projects that will feature in this year’s Berlinale Series Market and Conference program at the Berlin International Film Festival. Set during the 1860s gold rush in New Zealand, the Working Title and Southern Light [...]

  • The Photograph Issa Rae Stella Meghie

    How ‘Love & Basketball’ Allowed Issa Rae to Dream

    Issa Rae says she had every reason to think she could be a filmmaker when she was growing up. “The ’90s had lots of black television and film … a lot of the shows were helmed by black people,” she recalls. “That’s what inspired me to at least try it.” She may have only been [...]

  • A security guard wears a mask

    China’s Media Regulator Cuts 'Entertaining' TV Content During Coronavirus Crisis

    China’s media regulator has responded to the deadly coronavirus epidemic sweeping the country by cutting “entertaining” TV shows and boosting news programs, it said Tuesday, at a time when millions are stuck at home under quarantine. The announcement comes just days after it declared it was also doing the opposite: actively working to bring in [...]

  • Nic Pizzolatto, Matthew McConaughey28th Annual American

    Matthew McConaughey, 'True Detective' Creator Re-Team for FX Drama Series

    Matthew McConaughey and Nic Pizzolatto are coming together for a potential new TV series at FX. The “True Detective” collaborators have landed a script-to-series order for a drama series titled “Redeemer,” which Pizzolatto will write and in which McConaughey will star. Both will also executive produce the project. In addition, Pizzolatto has signed an overall [...]

  • 'Miracle Workers' Creator Talks Taking the

    'Miracle Workers: Dark Ages' Creator Talks Pivoting the Series Towards Medieval Times

    “Miracle Workers: Dark Ages” sees Steve Buscemi shift from playing God to a local excrement remover, and Daniel Radcliffe ditch his awkward angel for a soft-brained prince. Given the malleable nature of the TBS anthology series, creator Simon Rich was presented with a blank canvas for Season 2. Rich made the decision to leave behind [...]

  • THE BIGGEST LOSER -- "Time for

    From Trainer to Armchair Therapist: Bob Harper's 'The Biggest Loser' Journey

    Fitness expert Bob Harper spent a dozen years training contestants to lose a lot of weight in a short amount of time on the original, NBC incarnation of “The Biggest Loser,” a show he calls “the O.G. fitness reality series.” But in 2017 he suffered a major heart attack that had him rethinking his approach [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content