‘Fleabag’ Wins Big at the 35th Annual TCA Awards

Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s auteur comedy, “Fleabag,” took home three top prizes at the 35th Annual TCA Awards, presented by the Television Critics Assn. (TCA) on Saturday.

Fleabag” was celebrated in the comedy series category, as well as the coveted program of the year category, and individual achievement in comedy for Waller-Bridge herself. The series, which streams on Amazon Prime Video, was the most decorated project of the year and the only new one to win more than one award. (As previously announced, “Deadwood” received the heritage award and its creator David Milch was honored with the lifetime achievement award.)

In the drama categories, AMC’s “Better Call Saul” won the series trophy, while individual achievement in drama went to Michelle Williams, of FX’s limited series, “Fosse Verdon.” The achievement in movie or miniseries category was won by HBO’s “Chernobyl.”

For the second consecutive year, HBO’s “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” won the sketch/variety category (it was also a previous winner in the news and information program category, before the organization expanded categories and altered nomination guidelines).

PBS’ “Arthur” won the youth programming category after returning to the ballot for the first time since 2000.

In unscripted, HBO’s “Leaving Neverland” won the news and information category, while Netflix’s “Queer Eye” took reality programming for the second year in a row.

And the coveted new program award went to Netflix’s “Russian Doll.”

These awards were handed out at a ceremony at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif. Desus Nice and The Kid Mero (of Showtime’s “Desus & Mero”) hosted the evening.

The winners of the 35th Annual TCA Awards were determined based on votes cast by the TCA’s network of more than 200 professional television critics and journalists from the United States and Canada.

More TV

  • Freddie Prinze Jr First Impressions

    Freddie Prinze Jr. Joins ‘Punky Brewster’ Sequel Pilot at NBCU’s Peacock Streamer

    Freddie Prinze Jr. is joining another pilot, this time at NBCUniversal’s forthcoming Peacock streaming service. He will play a recurring role in the “Punky Brewster” sequel pilot which was ordered when the Peacock unfurled its slate of feathers back in September. Prinze Jr. was a part of the pilot for the CW’s “Nancy Drew” earlier [...]

  • Traci Blackwell

    BET Names Traci Lynn Blackwell Head of Scripted

    Traci Lynn Blackwell has joined BET has head of scripted programming. Blackwell joins BET from the CW, where she led current programming. As executive VP, scripted programming, Blackwell will lead all originals efforts for BET Networks’ linear channels and streaming service BET Plus. She will report to BET Networks president Scott Mills. “Traci brings an [...]

  • Ted Sarandos Netflix

    Ted Sarandos: Netflix Is Why 'Friends,' 'The Office' Remain So Popular

    In an onstage conversation with Katie Couric at Vanity Fair’s New Establishment Summit on Wednesday, Netflix chief content officer Ted Sarandos waved away concerns over the streaming service’s upcoming loss of “Friends” and “The Office,” instead focusing on the company’s push in original programming and its international content growth. “One of the reasons ‘Friends’ and [...]

  • Castle Rock -- "Let The River

    'Castle Rock' Boss on Annie Wilkes' Origins, Telling an Immigration Story in Season 2

    SPOILER ALERT: Do not read if you have not yet watched the first three episodes of “Castle Rock” Season 2, streaming now on Hulu. When “Castle Rock” co-creators and executive producers Dusty Thomason and Sam Shaw were first researching Maine to develop their Hulu anthology series based on the world of Stephen King, something that [...]

  • 'Adventure Time': HBO Max Orders Four

    'Adventure Time': HBO Max Orders Four One-Hour Specials

    Less than a week after announcing its historic deal with Studio Ghibli, HBO Max is continuing its push into animation. The forthcoming streamer has ordered four one-hour “Adventure Time” specials from Cartoon Network Studios, the first two of which will debut exclusively on HBO Max in 2020. Collectively titled “Adventure Time: Distant Lands,” the specials [...]

  • Euphoria HBO

    'It's an Explosion': Inside the Rising Costs of Making a Scripted TV Series

    When Apple TV plus launches on Nov. 1, it will do so with what’s arguably the most expensive new-series lineup in TV history. Among the streamer’s initial offerings are the drama “The Morning Show,” bearing a price tag believed to be more than $15 million an episode, and the dystopian sci-fi series “See,” which is [...]

  • Peter Coyote, winner of the award

    Peter Coyote to Play Robert Mueller in CBS Studios James Comey Miniseries

    The CBS Studios miniseries based on James Comey’s  book “A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies and Leadership” has added another player. Robert Coyote has boarded the show to play Robert Mueller, Comey’s predecessor in the role of FBI Director, who was appointed to lead an investigation into Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election. His final [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content