Oscar Winning Composer Ryuichi Sakamoto Signs Publishing Deal With Kobalt (EXCLUSIVE)

Ryuichi Sakamoto, the Oscar and Golden Globe-winning composer renowned for scores ranging from 1983’s “Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence” to 2015’s “The Revenant,” has signed on with Kobalt for a publishing deal that covers most of his catalogue around the world, with the exception of his native Japan.

Kobalt is an exciting company,” Sakamoto said in a statement. “Together with their clients they are building the future of the music industry that works for creators and rights holders alike. I’m happy to join them in this pursuit.”

Sakamoto first came to prominence as a member of the electronic group Yellow Magic Orchestra in the late 1970s, before making the leap to film in a big way with his acclaimed work on “Mr. Lawrence,” in which he also appeared as an actor. He won his scoring Oscar for “The Last Emperor” in 1987 and went on to do “The Sheltering Sky” and “Little Buddha” for director Bernardo Bertolucci as well. He was nominated for Golden Globes for all three of those films as well as “The Revenant.” That last film also earned him a Grammy nomination for best score soundtrack, on top of the Grammy he’d won previously for “Last Emperor.”

Outside the world of film, he also has 21 solo studio albums on top of the eight influential studio albums he recorded with the Yellow Magic Orchestra in the late ’70s through early ’90s. The electronic group has reunited for intermittent singles, concerts and live albums in recent years, including an appearance at the Hollywood Bowl in 2011.

Ryuichi Sakamoto is a musical pioneer, recognized across the globe for his influence on electronic music genres and as an Academy Award-winning composer,” said Laurent Hubert, Kobalt’s president and chief revenue officer. “As he continues to push creative boundaries as a composer, musician and producer, we are honored to welcome him to Kobalt and support him on upcoming projects.”

In November, Sakamoto released his latest full-length recording, “Live at Sydney Opera House,” in tandem with Alva Noto. His most recent movie score, for the French film “Proxima,” was just released on the Milan label.

More Music

  • Wu Tang An American Saga Dollface

    Hulu Renews 'Wu-Tang: An American Saga' and 'Dollface' for Season 2

    Hulu has renewed “Wu Tang: An American Saga” and “Dollface,” each for a second season. The former, created and written by Alex Tse and the RZA, is based on the formation of the Wu-Tang Clan. The first season explored the hip-hop group’s history and daily struggles of balancing its rising music career on the backdrop [...]

  • Lucian Grainge

    Universal Music Chief Lucian Grainge to Receive Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame

    Lucian Grainge — chairman/CEO of Universal Music Group, the world’s largest music company — will receive a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame next Thursday (Jan. 23). Fittingly, the ceremony will take place in front of the historic Capitol Records building; Capitol is one of the several Universal-owned labels under Grainge’s domain. Universal, recently [...]

  • Deborah Dugan Recording Academy Head

    Deborah Dugan’s Attorney Slams Grammys With Fiery Statement After Ouster

    Less than 12 hours after news broke that Deborah Dugan had been placed on administrative leave from her post as president/CEO of the Recording Academy, her attorney fired back with a statement. “What has been reported is not nearly the story that needs to be told. When our ability to speak is not restrained by [...]

  • Recording Academy President/CEO Deborah Dugan participates

    Grammy Shocker: Deborah Dugan Ouster Was a ‘Coup,’ Insiders Say

    UPDATED: As the music industry reeled in the wake of Deborah Dugan’s sudden removal from her post as president/CEO of the Recording Academy on Thursday — a mere five months after she’d taken charge, and just ten days before the Grammy Awards — even insiders were stunned by the abruptness of the move and perplexed [...]

  • Alfred Hitchcock and Eminem covers

    Eminem Pays Homage to Alfred Hitchcock With 'Murdered' Album Cover and Title

    Eminem may not be the Master of Suspense: He just dropped his new album, “Music to Be Murdered By,” Thursday at midnight, without even milking it with any prior warning. But he appears to be a fan of Alfred Hitchcock anyway. The new set shares its title and cover concept with the one and only [...]

  • Mac Miller Circles Album Review

    Mac Miller's 'Circles': Album Review

    If you were cynical, you might think releasing a posthumous, pieced-together Mac Miller album 16 months after his passing from an accidental drug overdose would be just one more part of the current death march of releases from deceased young rappers with pleadingly emotive lyrics and sonically rock-ist edges. Like late Soundcloud emo-rappers such as [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content