Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke’s new solo studio album, “Anima,” will be released digitally on June 27 on XL Recordings, he announced today. The album’s digital release will be accompanied by a “one-reeler,” also entitled “Anima,” directed by Paul Thomas Anderson (“Boogie Nights,” “Magnolia,” “There Will Be Blood”) and set to three tracks from the new album. The “one-reeler” will be available to watch exclusively via Netflix, also on June 27. A trailer can be viewed below:

The album’s physical release will follow on July 19. It will be avaiblel on CD, black double vinyl, limited edition orange double vinyl, and a deluxe 180g heavyweight orange double vinyl which includes a 40-page book of lyrics, and pencil drawings by Stanley Donwood and Dr Tchock.

The announcement includes the following definition of the album’s title: “Definition of anima: an individual’s true inner self that in the analytic psychology of C. G. Jung reflects archetypal ideals of conduct

also: an inner feminine part of the male personality
— compare ANIMUS, PERSONA.”

The album will feature several songs that were debuted live over the course of Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich and Tarik Barri’s “Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes” — new tour dates were announced earlier this week.

The tracklisting for “Anima” is as follows:

  • Traffic
  • Last I Heard (…He Was Circling The Drain)
  • Twist
  • Dawn Chorus
  • I Am A Very Rude Person
  • Not The News
  • The Axe
  • Impossible Knots
  • Runwayaway

The bonus track “(Ladies & Gentlemen, Thank You for Coming)” will be available exclusively on vinyl versions of the album.