You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Lady Gaga, Post Malone Among 2019 World Soundtrack Awards Nominees

Lady Gaga, Post Malone and Kris Bowers are among the contenders for the 2019 World Soundtrack Awards.

Other composers nominated for awards include Nicholas Britell (“If Beale Street Could Talk”), Alan Silvestri (“Avengers: Endgame”) and John Powell (“How to Train Your Dragon: Hidden World”) as well as Daniel Pemberton (“Spider-Man: Into the Spider-verse”) and Benjamin Wallfisch (“Shazam!”). Bowers is in the running for TV Composer of the Year for his latest work on Ava Duvernay’s “When They See Us” which earned the composer his first Emmy nomination. Other works of Bowers recognized include “Black Monday,” “For The People,” and “Warriors of Liberty City.”

Along with Oscar-winning song “Shallow,” Post Malone’s “Sunflower,”which appears on the soundtrack for “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-verse,” is nominated for best original song written for a film.

“We are pleased to see such a variety of young talents across all three categories, including multiple composers who have previously won or been nominated for the World Soundtrack Discovery Award. Therefore, the World Soundtrack Awards are the ideal moment to put this new generation of composers into the spotlight,” said Film Fest Gent’s program director Wim de Witte.

Held in Gent, Belgium on Oct. 18, the awards ceremony will feature a selection of Marco Beltrami’s work (“Scream,” “A Quiet Place”) performed by Brussels Philharmonic orchestra and conducted by Film Fest Gent’s music director Dirk Brossé. Additionally, the show will pay homage to Belgian composer, Frédéric Devreese.

The World Soundtrack Academy plans to announce the nominees for discovery of the year, best original score for a Belgian production, and the Sabam Award for best young international composer in mid-September.

The first wave of nominees are listed below:

Best Film Composer of the Year

Nicholas Britell: “If Beale Street Could Talk,” “Vice”
Daniel Pemberton: “Yesterday,” “Spider-Man: Into The Spider-verse,” “Scarborough”
John Powell: “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
Alan Silvestri: “Avengers: Endgame,” “Welcome to Marwen”
Benjamin Wallfisch: “Hellboy,” “Shazam!,” “Serenity,” “King of Thieves,” “The Vanishing,” “The Darkest Minds”

Best Television Composer of the Year

Kris Bowers: “When They See Us” (Season 1), “For the People” (Season 2), “Black Monday” (Season 1), “Warriors of Liberty City” (Season 1)
Ramin Djawadi: “Game of Thrones” (Season 8), “Jack Ryan” (Season 1)
Murray Gold: “Years and Years” (Season 1), “Gentleman Jack” (Season 1)
Hildur Guonadottir: “Chernobyl”, “Ófærð” (“Trapped” – Season 2)
Jeff Russo: “Legion” (Season 3), “The InBetween” (Season 1), “The Act” (Season 1), “The Umbrella Academy” (Season 1), “Star Trek: Discovery” (Season 2), “Counterpart” (Season 2), “Channel Zero” (Season 4), “Snowfall” (Season 2)

Best Original Song written directly for a Film

“Requiem for a Private War” from “A Private War”
Written and performed by Annie Lennox

“Shallow” from “A Star is Born”
Written by Lady Gaga, Andrew Wyatt, Anthony Rossomando, Mark Ronson
Performed by Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper

“Sunflower” from “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse”
Written by Swae Lee (as Khalif Brown), Louis Bell, Post Malone (as Austin Post), Billy Walsh (as William Walsh),
Carter Lang, Carl Rosen
Performed by Post Malone, Swae Lee

“The Place Where Lost Things Go” from “Mary Poppins Returns”
Written by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman
Performed by Emily Blunt

“When a Cowboy Trades His Spurs for Wings” from “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs”
Written by David Rawlings, Gillian Welch
Performed by Willie Watson, Tim Blake Nelson

More Music

  • Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez. Kristen Anderson-Lopez,

    Kristen Anderson-Lopez Talks Responsibility, Representation in 'Frozen 2' and the Biz

    Gender parity isn’t an issue in Oscar-winning songwriting-composer Kristen Anderson-Lopez’s house, what with her longstanding collaboration with husband Bobby Lopez, but at the Oscars luncheon on Monday, it was a different story. “There were 13 female directors represented in the shorts and documentary fields,” Anderson-Lopez notes, adding, “but how do we get from there to [...]

  • Mrs. Doubtfire BroadwayCon panel

    Listen: 'Mrs. Doubtfire' the Musical, Live From BroadwayCon

    In the Broadway-bound musical version of “Mrs. Doubtfire,” actor Rob McClure has the unenviable job of following in the footsteps of comedy great Robin Williams, who memorably played the title role in the 1993 film on which the stage show is based. Listen to this week’s podcast below: How does McClure hope to fill those [...]

  • Lizzo

    Osheaga and Firefly Festivals Reveal Lineups: Lizzo, Kendrick Lamar, Billie Eilish, More

    Two of the summer’s biggest festivals — Firefly in Delaware and Osheaga in Montreal — announced their lineups this week, and both feature some of the most important artists working today. Delaware’s Firefly Festival will feature headliners Billie Eilish, Halsey and Rage Against the Machine (the latter of which is also set to headline Coachella). [...]

  • Benny Blanco House Los Angeles

    Benny Blanco Swipes Right on Tinder Founder's $9 Million L.A. Mansion

    An elegant traditional estate conveniently sited in the Hollywood foothills just above the iconic Sunset Strip recently traded hands for nearly $9.2 million. Originally built in the late 1930s, the house was sold by tech tycoon Sean Rad, co-founder of juggernaut dating app Tinder, and acquired by exceptionally prolific songwriter/record producer Benny Blanco. Blanco may [...]

  • Kelsea Ballerini 53rd Annual CMA Awards,

    iHeartCountry Festival Slates Kelsea Ballerini, Sam Hunt, Dierks Bentley for May Show

    The annual iHeartCountry Festival has announced a slate of performers for its 2020 concert stream and broadcast, led by top country performers Dierks Bentley, Kelsea Ballerini, Sam Hunt, Lady Antebellum, Dustin Lynch and Kane Brown, iHeartMedia announced Tuesday. The show will take place at Austin’s Frank Erwin Center May 2 and be broadcast live across [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content