You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Celine Dion Celebrates Tour Kickoff by Dropping Tracks from First Album in Six Years

Although Celine Dion announced last April that she had a new album on the way, “Courage,” she waited until now to put a date to it or release any fresh singles. The occasion was the Wednesday kickoff of the singer’s Courage World Tour in Quebec City, excuse enough for Dion to drop three tracks from the album: “Imperfections,” “Lying Down” and “Courage.”

With these three songs joining a previously released song, “Flying on My Own,” fans now have four songs from the album “Courage,” her first English-language release in six years, now revealed to be set for Nov. 16. The songs can be streamed here.

Some of the new material has a borderline EDM pulse, which reflects the sweet spot of some of the producers and songwriters. “I’ve got my own imperfections,” she sings in an upbeat number produced by DallasK, best known for co-writing and producing Fifth Harmony’s massive “Work from Home.” “Lying Down” is, as you might guess from its title, a position from which Dion won’t take any guff. It’s more firmly in the diva ballad tradition, with just a few electronic flourishes amid the orchestration; the song was written by the singer Sia along with David Guetta and Giorgio Tuinfort.

“Courage,” the title song, may strike fans as the most personal as most anthemic, with simple piano and orchestrating underlying Dion facing loss with chest-thumping bravado, singing, “Courage, don’t you dare fail me now / I need you to keep away the doubts,” facing “a train wreck, but I’m not crashed yet.” The ballad was written by Stephan Moccio, Erik Alcock and Liz Rodrigues.

The world tour that starts tonight in Quebec continues with a six-night stand in Montreal before moving on to the U.S. starting Oct. 18 in Cleveland. It reaches Barclays Center in Brooklyn Feb. 28-29 and Staples Center in L.A. April 2, with dates currently set though April 27, when she’s back in her native country with a North American finale — for now — in Winnipeg.


More Music

  • Little Shop of Horrors review

    Off Broadway Review: 'Little Shop of Horrors'

    With its strains of kitschy doo-wop and its sci-fi B-movie inspirations, the quaint 1982 musical “Little Shop of Horrors” hardly seems a thing of modern-day revivalism, even despite its touches of S&M. Yet this year alone, not only is there an Off Broadway production of the blackly comic “Little Shop” featuring Jonathan Groff of Netflix’s [...]

  • BBC's Little Mix Talent Show to

    BBC's Little Mix Talent Show to Be Produced by Management Firm's New Shingle, ModestTV

    The BBC has confirmed its Little Mix talent show, which the pop band’s management firm, Modest!, will produce through a new banner, ModestTV. “Little Mix The Search” will be exec produced by Andrea Hamilton, who has partnered with the management outfit to launch the new operation. Her entertainment show credits include “The Voice” and “Strictly [...]


    Midland Turns L.A.'s Dormant Palomino Club Into a Honky-Tonk Brigadoon

    Would it be too much to ask Midland to give up its burgeoning-country-star status and move west to become the humble house band at a newly reopened Palomino club in L.A.? It doesn’t seem a lot to beseech for a good cause, however unlucrative it might be for the group’s fortunes and fame. The famed [...]


    Idina Menzel, Bebe Rexha Take the Stage for Justin Tranter's 'Beyond' Benefit Concert

    We’re here, we’re queer and we’re writing your favorite songs was the theme of Beyond, the third annual benefit concert that Justin Tranter and his CAA agent, Jenna Adler, organized to benefit GLAAD at the Sunset Room in Hollywood on Wednesday night (Oct. 16). Beyond a music showcase, its mission is to highlight the annual [...]

  • Taylor SwiftMTV Video Music Awards, Arrivals,

    Vivendi's Third Quarter Results Up Nearly 17%, UMG Still Rising

    Vivendi saw its third quarter revenues increase by 16.7% to €3.97 billion ($4.4 billion) compared with the third quarter of 2018, once again boosted by the growth of Universal Music Group, while Canal Plus Group remained stable. For the first nine months of 2019, Vivendi’s revenues reached €11.3 billion ($12.5 billion), an increase of 14.6% [...]

  • Parliament-Funkadelic and George ClintonIEBA Annual Conference,

    George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Sheila E. to Perform in ‘Grammy Salute’ Airing Friday

    Parliament-Funkadelic stars George Clinton and Bootsy Collins, along with Sheila E. and many others, perform in the “Grammy Salute to Music Legends” airing as part of PBS’ “Great Performances” series Friday night. The show, the fourth annual all-star concert offering a primetime spotlight for the Academy’s 2019 Special Merit Awards recipients, premieres nationwide Friday, Oct. [...]

  • Lola Marsh

    Ping Pong Sets the Beat in Hypnotic, Green Screen-Ambitious Lola Marsh Video (Watch)

    Forrest Gump has nothing on Lola Marsh. The Tel Aviv-based twosome of vocalist Yael Shoshana Cohen and multi-instrumentalist Gil Landau transform into ping pong rivals in the video for “Only for a Moment.” The indie-pop jam combines Cohen’s Lana Del Rey-esque vocals over an upbeat blend of snaps, claps, shakers, and a driving melody courtesy [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content