You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Bishop Briggs, Blackwave Among Winners of Inaugural Music Moves Europe Awards

Honors were handed out at Holland's Eurosonic Noorderslag (ESNS) conference.

Emergent artists from across the EU are in Groningen this week to play showcases for music festival bookers, and several award shows took place Wednesday evening to toast top talent. Accordingly, bands were on hand from all corners of the European Union to collect prizes (and grant money) that will further careers.

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards replaces the long-running European Border Breakers Awards (EBBAs), and is given to “emerging artists who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow,” as chosen by a jury featuring names such as Huw Stephens (presenter, BBC Radio 1), Julia Gudzent (festival programmer, Melt!) and Wilbert Mutsaers (head of content, Spotify Benelux).

Winners such as Bishop Briggs (pop) and Belgium’s Blackwave (hip-hop) were previously announced in November, but were awarded the prizes Wednesday evening (Jan. 16) in Groningen, along with the newly-announced audience award winners, which were revealed at the event this week.

“We’re really just starting to think about moving our music career abroad, so this is the perfect stepping stone for us,” producer/singer Willem Ardui of Belgian urban duo Blackwave, told Variety of their win. “We’re really honored that the moves we’re making in our home country are being noticed and even awarded internationally.”

Other winners Wednesday evening were Pale Waves (UK) and Pip Blom (NL) in the rock category, Smerz (NO) and Stelartronic (AT) in the electronic category, Rosalía (ES) and Aya Nakamura (FR) in the R&B/Urban field, Reykjavíkurdætur (IS) in the rap genre, Avec (AT) and Albin Lee Meldau (SE) in the singer/songwriter slot.

A separate awards ceremony for European festivals (European Festival Awards 2018), also took place Wednesday evening at Eurosonic, with Germany’s Wacken Open Air winning ‘Best Major Festival’ and Denmark’s Roskilde Festival taking home two awards: ‘Line-up of the Year’ and ‘The Health & Safety Innovation Award.’

More Music

  • Obit Obituary Placeholder

    Nick Tosches, Author of Dean Martin and Jerry Lee Lewis Biographies, Dies at 69

    Some time around the turn of the century, author Nick Tosches prankishly hacked his own online biography so that it gave his death date as the year 2021 — picked, he said, because “it was the anniversary of Dante’s death (in 1321); it made so much sense.” He wasn’t too many years off with that [...]

  • Dimitri Vegas and Like Mike

    Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike Take No. 1 Spot on Top 100 DJs Poll

    The duo of Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike top DJ Mag’s 2019 Top 100 DJs poll, returning to the list since taking the No. 1 spot in 2015 and dethroning Martin Garrix after three years of dominance. The results of the Top 100 DJs were arrived at from 1.3 million votes cast in 179 countries. [...]

  • Bruce Springsteen arrives for the New

    Bruce Springsteen Returns to NJ Hometown for Surprise 'Western Stars' Introduction

    Bruce Springsteen returned to his hometown of Freehold, New Jersey to offer a surprise introduction to the first public multiplex viewing of his concert/documentary film, “Western Stars.” Dressed simply in a brown jacket, Springsteen took a moment to say a few words at the AMC Freehold 14 movie theater on Saturday night. “We knew we [...]

  • Marc Byers

    Execs from Motown, Live Nation, Recording Academy Set to Speak at Culture Creators' Inaugural C2 Summit

    Culture Creators, the organization which recognizes minorities in film, television, music and fashion, is holding its first-ever C2 Summit on Oct. 21 in Washington D.C. Its mission: to engage, mentor, and provide recruitment opportunities to students of color attending historically black colleges and universities. Students were selected from an application process and will participate in [...]

  • Rami Dawod SESAC

    SESAC Toasts Rami Dawod as Pop Songwriter of the Year

    Camila Cabello’s “Never Be The Same” and “Electricity” by Mark Ronson and Silk City featuring Dua Lipa are just a few of the co-writing credits celebrated during an October 16 dinner at Nobu Malibu hosted by SESAC in honor of Rami Dawod. Named Pop Songwriter of the Year by the performance rights organization, Dawod is [...]

  • Luis Fonsi Erika Ender Latin Grammys

    The Second Latin Explosion: How 'Despacito' Ushered in a New Generation of Stars

    Music is an ever-evolving art, and for the Latin Recording Academy, that’s meant riding multiple waves of attention. The most recent arrived with the stratospheric success of “Despacito,” which kicked off a second Latin Explosion with full force in 2017. The Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee hit, later featuring verses by Justin Bieber, made Latin [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content