Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus and Lana Del Rey Drop ‘Charlie’s Angels’ Song and Video (Watch)

Don’t call Miley Cyrus, Ariana Grande or Lana Del Rey angels.

The all-star pop triumvirate dropped the track “Don’t Call Me Angel” from the upcoming “Charlie’s Angels” reboot on Sept. 13. Grande made the announcement earlier this week on twitter. “Don’t call me angel sep 13,” she wrote, including an angel emoji.


Fans already got a taste of the new song in the official trailer. Cyrus sings, “Keep your pretty mouth shut,” then comes in Grande with the line “Don’t call me angel” and Del Rey rounding it out, “We in it together but don’t call me angel.”

Elizabeth Banks, who both directs and stars in the film, told PEOPLE the singers took inspiration from the song “Independent Woman” by Destiny’s Child in the 2000 “Charlie’s Angels.” She said the new song “thematically matched up with the exact movie that we were making.”

“Don’t Call Me Angel” marks the first collaboration of all three singers. Cyrus and Grande previously joined forces to cover Crowded House’s “Don’t Dream It’s Over,” which they performed at the One Love Manchester benefit concert.

In the latest iteration Kristen Stewart, Naomi Scott, and Ella Balinska take over for the previous trio of Drew Barrymore, Lucy Liu and Cameron Diaz. Patrick Stewart, Jonathan Tucker, Djimon Hounsou, Sam Claflin and Noah Centineo also star. “Charlie’s Angels” will bow on Nov. 15.

More Music

  • Justin Bieber Changes album cover

    Justin Bieber Postpones All 2020 Tour Dates Due to Coronavirus Crisis

    Justin Bieber’s 2020 Changes tour has been postponed due to the growing coronavirus crisis. The 45-date stadium and arena trek was due to kick off on May 14 at CenturyLink Field in Seattle and follow Bieber’s first album in nearly five years, released on Feb. 14, and his first tour in nearly three. It is [...]


    Elton John’s ‘Living Room Concert for America’ Raises $8 Million for Coronavirus Relief

    Sunday’s Elton John-hosted “Living Room Concert for America,” featuring Billie Eilish, Mariah Carey, Alicia Keys and many others, has raised nearly $8 million for coronavirus relief. The musicians performed from their homes for the hour-long event that aired on Fox and iHeartMedia radio stations. It also encourages viewers to support two of the many charitable [...]

  • Spotify

    Spotify Renews Global Licensing Deal With Warner Music

    At the stroke of 8 a.m. ET, Spotify and Warner Music announced that they have renewed their global licensing deal. The two companies are believed to have been out of contract for around nine months, although that is not an uncommon situation for streaming services and music companies. “Spotify and Warner Music Group are pleased [...]

  • Cardi B

    Cardi B Was Instagram's Video Queen of the Quarantine in March

    Cardi B is the Instagram viral-video queen the internet apparently needs during the coronavirus pandemic. While Kylie Jenner dominated Instagram in 2019, Cardi B took over in March: Five of the top 10 most-viewed videos on the platform last month came from the outspoken rapper and entertainer, as tracked by Pex, an L.A.-based video and [...]

  • Editorial use only. HANDOUT /NO SALESMandatory

    BTS' Label Big Hit Entertainment Enjoys Record Profits

    Big Hit Entertainment, the Korean music label which represents pop sensation BTS, recorded bumper profits in 2019. The Seoul-based company saw revenue nearly double to $508 million, and operating profit grow by 28% to $85.4 million. The diluted profit margin was explained by moves to diversify the company away from its reliance on BTS, through [...]

  • concord bmg

    BMG Production Music, Concord Theatricals Announce Senior Executive Appointments

    BMG Production Music has named Dan Pounder (pictured at right) to co-head alongside EVP and global managing director John Clifford. Pounder will head finance, operations and systems for the Berlin-based company which specializes in pre-cleared and custom production music services servicing content creators across broadcast, films, trailers, games and advertising.  A separate unit within BMG, [...]

  • The Barbican presents Viviana Durante Company,

    London's Barbican Extends Closure, Focuses on Digital Offer

    Leading London cultural center The Barbican has extended its temporary closure until June 30, but in the meantime it is focusing on its online program. Nicholas Kenyon, The Barbican’s managing director, said: “Having reviewed the current government advice and looking at how long social distancing measures are likely to be in place, we feel we’re [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content