‘Return of the Obra Dinn’ Wins IGF Seumas McNally Grand Prize

Return of the Obra Dinn” won this year’s Seumas McNally Grand Prize at the Independent Games Festival. The game was also the Excellence in Narrative winner.

Developer Lucas Pope won the same award, a pinnacle in independent game development, in 2014.

“Five years I won the award for ‘Paper’s Please’ and I said it was the peak of my career,” he said while accepting the award. “I still believe that, but the downhill ride from that peak has been pretty nice.”

The 21st annual Independent Games Festival took place Wednesday night in the midst of the weeklong Game Developers Conference. The award show, which honors innovation in game development and the best independent game developers, kicked off with host Meg Jayanth calling out the terrorist attack in Christchurch, New Zealand, saying it was committed by a “monster who went to a mosque with murder in his heart” and that society needs to reject the sort of hate that fueled his attack.

The awards kicked off with an emotional win for “After Hours” — developed by Bahiyya Khan, Claire Meekel, Tim Flusk, and Abi Meekel — for Best Student Game. The team from Johannesburg’s University of the Witwatersrand took the stage to give a profanity-laced, but cheerful acceptance speech.

The winner of this year’s Nuovo Innovation Award, “Black Room,” was a browser-based narrative game designed by Cassie McQuater.

The Excellence in Audio winner was “Paratopic,” a horror adventure game by Arbitrary Metric.

The Excellence in Design winner was “Opus Magnum,” an alchemy puzzle game by Zachtronics.

The Excellence in Visual Arts winner was “Mirror Drop,” a 3D puzzle game by Ian Lilley.

The show also honored Jerry Lawson, who developed the technology to put games on game cartridges. He created the game cartridges while helping to develop the Fairchild Channel F video game console. Lawson died in 2011.

Popular on Variety

More Gaming

  • Google Stadia Game Streaming Service Launching

    Google’s Stadia Game Streaming Service Will Launch Nov. 19

    Google hardware chief Rick Osterloh gave us an update on the company’s game streaming service Stadia during the company’s fall hardware event in New York Tuesday: Stadia will be available to the public on Nov. 19. Stadia promises to stream games directly from the cloud, with no need to buy a full-blown game console. Consumers [...]

  • Fortnite Chapter 2

    'Fortnite' Emerges From Black Hole With All-New Island in Chapter 2

    After its previous world was sucked into a black hole, “Fortnite” is back — with an all-new island featuring a map with 13 different locations. The latest installment of the free-to-play battle royale game, which publisher Epic Games calls the first season of “Fortnite” Chapter 2, went live early Tuesday at around 6 a.m. ET. [...]

  • Fortnite-Season-X-Out-of-Time

    'Fortnite' Goes Dark: A Masterful Marketing Stroke by Epic Games

    On Sunday, “Fortnite” — the most popular game on Earth right now — without warning, imploded into darkness. At around 2 p.m. ET on Oct. 13, a meteor in Season 10 of “Fortnite” that had been biding its time set off a cataclysmic chain reaction that sucked up everything on the the island and eventually [...]

  • Hearthstone video game

    Blizzard Reinstates Hong Kong Gamer's Prize but Reaffirms Censure of His Speech

    Major U.S. gaming firm Blizzard Entertainment has reduced its punishment for a professional gamer who shouted a slogan in support of Hong Kong’s pro-democracy protests. But the company doubled down on its verdict about the inappropriateness of his conduct. In a Chinese language-only message on its official social media, Blizzard stated that it would “resolutely [...]

  • Activision Blizzard

    Activision Blizzard Stock Recovers From Hong Kong Fallout

    Activision Blizzard saw its stock recover Friday despite continued backlash over its decision to punish a “Hearthstone” player for publicly siding with Hong Kong’s pro-democracy protesters. The company’s share price was up more than 2% Friday, closing at $54.82. Activision had been in the spotlight ever since Ng Wai Chung, a player of its “Hearthstone” [...]

  • Mixer Co-Founders Leave Microsoft's Twitch Competitor

    Microsoft’s Mixer Streaming Service Loses Its Two Co-Founders

    Microsoft’s Twitch competitor Mixer has lots its two co-founders: Both Matt Salsamendi and James J. Boehm, who co-founded the startup that eventually became Mixer in 2011, have both left the company over the past 2 weeks. The departure comes just a few weeks after Mixer poached famed video game streamer Ninja from Amazon’s Twitch. Salsamendi [...]

  • Trump-Twitch-channel

    Donald Trump Is Now on Amazon's Twitch Streaming Service

    Donald Trump has joined Twitch, the game-focused live-streaming service, apparently in an effort to widen his unfiltered 2020 reelection messaging as the embattled U.S. president faces a fast-moving impeachment inquiry. Trump’s first Twitch broadcast was from his campaign rally Thursday in Minneapolis, where among other targets he lashed out at Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.), Somali [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content