You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

New York Game Awards Journalism Noms Include Riot Games, Telltale Games Exposes

Examinations of video game culture, toxic studios, and fraudulent high scores are among the exposes nominated for this year’s annual New York Game Awards journalism honors.

The Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism is presented each year by the New York Videogame Critics Circle during its annual video game awards show at the SVA Theater in New York City.

The Nominees for this year’s Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism are:

Variety recently named D’Anastasio one of the most influential people in the game industry for her work uncovering the toxicity at Riot Games, the company behind massive international success “League of Legends.”

This year’s Knickerbocker will be presented by Chris Suellentrop, a former New York Times and Rolling Stone video game critic and now the senior editor for Politico Magazine.

“The Knickerbocker Award has become one of the most anticipated of our New York Game Awards,” said New York Game Awards founder Harold Goldberg. “Nick Capozzoli, our journalism committee chair, works all year on updating a list of potential nominees. His team adds and whittles down the many possibilities for our general membership to vote upon in late December. It’s a challenging task because this year has been particularly good for games journalism.”

New York Videogame Critics Circle members vote on the nominees and aren’t eligible for the award, they also cannot vote for staff at their respective sites, under the guidelines.

Tickets for the eighth annual New York Game Awards are now on sale. This year’s show will feature live music and comedy, trailer premiers, the video game awards and the presentation of the Legend Award.

This year’s Legend Award winner is Variety 500 honoree Jade Raymond.

More Gaming

  • Analyst: 'Apex Legends' Declining Popularity Could

    Analyst: 'Apex Legends' Declining Popularity Could Hurt EA Stock

    Electronic Arts’ battle royale title “Apex Legends” is not a serious contender for Epic Games’ blockbuster “Fortnite” and it’s worth far less than its implied stock value, according to financial website Seeking Alpha. Interest in the game is fading, the website said, and since it makes up a substantial portion of EA’s stock valuation, the [...]

  • 'Fortnite' Teases Upcoming 'Avengers' Tie-In Event

    'Fortnite' Teases Upcoming 'Avengers' Tie-In Event

    The official “Fortnite” Twitter account is teasing a special “Avengers: Endgame” event for April 25, the day before the film debuts in theaters. The tweet depicted a “Fortnite” character holding Captain America’s iconic shield, though there weren’t additional details given about what the “FortniteXAvengers” mode or content may include. Previously, “Avengers: Infinity War” villain Thanos [...]

  • A still image from The Seven

    How Magic Leap, Video Games Are Defining Future of Royal Shakespeare Company

    At the Royal Shakespeare Company in Stratford upon Avon, Sarah Ellis has the difficult job of figuring out where theater of the 1500s fits into the 21st century. As Director of Digital Development, a title which might seem out of place in an industry ruled by live, human performances, Ellis represents a recent seachange on [...]

  • Hideo Kojima Tribeca Games Festival

    Hideo Kojima Discusses Cloud Gaming, Teases One 'Big Thing' For Streaming

    “Death Stranding” creator Hideo Kojima shared his thoughts on cloud gaming in a recent interview with Nikkei Business, noting that he has “one big thing” in mind for the service in the future. Kojima shared his views on 5G connectivity, the need for the industry to adapt to the unique challenges and features it could [...]

  • Raising Kratos Documents the Making of

    'Raising Kratos' Documents the Making of 'God of War'

    An upcoming documentary, “Raising Kratos” looks at the five year long effort that was the making of “God of War,” PlayStation revealed via an announce trailer on its YouTube channel on Saturday. The documentary reveal comes just after the one year anniversary of “God of War”. “Facing an unknown future, Santa Monica Studio took a [...]

  • “Mortal Kombat 11” game review

    Video Game Review: "Mortal Kombat 11"

    “Mortal Kombat 11” is like a slasher film, a bloody mess that evokes emotion in the same ways that the horror genre does—specifically, the more campy horror flicks. Developed by NetherRealm Studios, “Mortal Kombat 11” doesn’t try to scare players with jump scares or psychological horror, but is instead blatant in its unrestrained gore. NetherRealm [...]

  • Arc System Works and WayForward Revive

    Arc System Works and WayForward Revive Classic 'River City' IP

    Notable fighting game developer Arc System Works is teaming up with “Shantae and the Pirate’s Curse” developer WayForward to create a brand-new game based on the classic “River City” intellectual property, they announced on Friday. The new project is called “River City Girls.” While the two studios won’t release full details about the project until [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content