June PS Plus Games Include ‘Borderlands: The Handsome Collection’ and ‘Sonic Mania’

PlayStation Plus subscribers can look forward to two new additions to their library for June: “Borderlands: The Handsome Collection” and “Sonic Mania.”

Both games will be free to all PlayStation Plus members for the month. “Borderlands: The Handsome Collection” is actually three games in one, since it includes “Borderlands,” “Borderlands 2,” “Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel,” and all corresponding DLC for each game. This package also includes split-screen multiplayer and enhanced graphics for current-gen consoles.

With “Borderlands 3” releasing in September, this package should act as a springboard for gamers looking to get into the series ahead of the final entry in the core trilogy.

Meanwhile, “Sonic Mania” is a clever mix of classic “Sonic” action with modern flavor. Borne of a collaboration between Sega and developer Christian Whitehead, this platformer was well-received when it debuted by both Sonic die-hards and critics alike, offering a delectable mix of exciting platforming action and new challenges, remixed classic stages, and additional surprises sprinkled throughout.

“Sonic Mania” has since been given the “Sonic Mania Plus” upgrade, which adds new content and characters, however, and the PlayStation Plus version only includes the original game. It will cost $4.99 to upgrade.

Both titles will become available on June 3, but right now “Overcooked” and “What Remains of Edith Finch” are still up for grabs for anyone who may have missed them.

Popular on Variety

More Gaming

  • Apple Arcade

    Apple Officially Launches Apple Arcade Game Subscription Service

    Apple officially cut the ribbon for its new game subscription service Thursday: Priced $4.99 per month, Apple Arcade offers unlimited access to over 100 exclusive games. Apple Arcade was released alongside iOS 13, the latest version of Apple’s mobile operating system. Some of the titles available through the subscription package include “Lego Brawls” from Lego [...]

  • Venn co-founders

    VENN Raises $17 Million to Launch a Cheddar-like TV Network for Gaming

    Video game industry veterans Ariel Horn and Ben Kusin have raised a massive $17 million seed funding round to launch a new gaming-focused TV network called VENN. Short for Video Game Entertainment and News Network, VENN wants to mix esports with Twitch-style video game streaming and other gaming-related entertainment content when it launches in 2020. [...]

  • JoJo Siwa'The Angry Birds Movie 2'

    Nickelodeon Star JoJo Siwa Gets Her Own Dance-Tour Mobile Game (EXCLUSIVE)

    Fans of JoJo Siwa will be able to join the teen influencer’s dance squad on stage — virtually — in a new mobile game. In “JoJo Siwa — Live to Dance,” players will become part of the Nickelodon and YouTube star’s worldwide tour on her professional dance team and experience what it’s like to be [...]

  • Game Awards OrchestraThe Game Awards, Show,

    The Game Awards 2019 Sets December Date, Will Live-Stream Across 45 Platforms

    The Game Awards 2019, the fifth annual video game industry kudosfest, will be held Dec. 12 in Los Angeles and will be live-streamed for free again on more than 45 different platforms worldwide. The Game Awards is an annual celebration of video games and the people who make them, created and executive produced by Geoff [...]

  • HTC Vive Cosmos

    HTC Replaces HTC Vive With New $699 Vive Comos VR Headset

    HTC is getting ready to retire the headset that was central to its expansion into the virtual reality market 3 years ago: The company announced on Thursday that its new Vive Comos headset will effectively replace the original HTC Vive, which was first released in April of 2016. “It was time to upgrade our consumer [...]

  • Sohu logo

    China's Sohu Seeks Games Consolidation With $500 Million Bid for Changyou

    Sohu, one of China’s Internet pioneers, is offering to buy out its games subsidiary Changyou in a deal that values Changyou at $532 million. Both companies currently have their shares listed on NASDAQ, but if the deal goes ahead Changyou would lose its separate stock listing. Sohu, which has interests covering search, digital advertising and [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content