‘Fire Emblem: Three Houses’ Comes to Nintendo Switch in July

The latest entry in the “Fire Emblem” series officially comes to Switch on Jul. 26, Nintendo announced during a Direct video presentation on Wednesday.

Fire Emblem: Three Houses” was first announced during E3 2018 and was originally scheduled to launch during the spring, but Nintendo said it needs more time to work on the title. It’s the first time the popular turn-based tactical RPG franchise is coming to the Nintendo Switch console.

Nintendo shared a bunch of new lore details along with the release date during the February 2019 Direct. “Fire Emblem: Three Houses” will feature an all-new story and characters, along with the new setting of Fódlan, where the Church of Seiros exercises great power over the land and its people. Players will take on the role of a male or female professor at Fódlan’s Officer’s Academy, an elite training facility where students learn the ways of weapons and magic. They will choose from one of the game’s titular three houses — The Black Eagles, The Blue Lions, and The Golden Deer — and lead students into the series’ usual grid-based battles.

“Fire Emblem” is known for its permadeath so, yes, those students will live or die depending on the player’s actions. The three houses each contain a unique cast of characters, each with their own personalities and skills. Just like in previous “Fire Emblem” titles, they can interact with each other between battles and strengthen their bonds to support each other on the battlefield.

Fire Emblem: Three Houses” launches with both a standard edition and a “Seasons of Warfare” edition that comes with an art book, sound selection CD, steelbook, and calendar.


More Gaming

  • Nintendo Switch

    Nintendo Releases Updated Switch With Better Battery

    Nintendo just refreshed its wildly successful Switch game console, but the company isn’t giving existing Switch owners many reasons to upgrade: The renewed game console comes with a better battery that guarantees up to 9 hours of game play, while otherwise sticking with the same design and features of the original Switch. The new model [...]

  • Spotify logo is presented on a

    U.S. Consumers to Spend $26 Billion on Music, Video Subscriptions This Year

    U.S. consumers are expected to spend a combined $26 billion on music and video subscription services this year, according to new estimates from the Consumer Technology Association. That’s up from $20.4 billion in 2018, and nearly twice the amount spent on such services in 2017. Propelled by the continued success of Apple Music and Spotify, [...]

  • Gears 5 - Xbox Game Studios

    'Gears 5' Will Exclude Smoking Depictions After Concerns Raised by Youth Anti-Tobacco Org (EXCLUSIVE)

    “Gears 5,” the forthcoming installment in the “Gears of Wars” third-person shooter game franchise, will be a smoke-free establishment. The game, set for Sept. 10 release, comes from Xbox Game Studios and game developer The Coalition. The decision to remove all smoking references from “Gears 5” came after not-for-profit anti-smoking organization Truth Initiative approached Turner, [...]

  • Amazon Game Studios - Lord of

    Amazon Teams on 'Lord of the Rings'-Prequel Massively Multiplayer Game

    Amazon announced plans for a massively multiplayer online game set in J.R.R. Tokien’s Middle-earth — but in an era well before the events in “The Lord of the Rings.” Amazon Game Studios has teamed with Leyou Technologies, a Hong Kong-based games company. The companies will jointly develop the free-to-play game for PC and console platforms, [...]

  • Nintendo Switch Lite

    Nintendo Launches Switch Lite Handheld-Only Game System for $200

    Nintendo Switch is getting a cheaper, more colorful little sibling: Switch Lite, a device designed specifically to play Nintendo Switch games in handheld mode. The Switch Lite system is set to ship Sept. 20 at a suggested retail price of $199.99 — $100 less than the flagship Switch, which works in both handheld and TV-connected [...]

  • Walter Scopely Strictly Business Podcast

    Listen: How Scopely Turns TV Hits Into Video Game Gold

    “Star Trek,” “The Walking Dead” and “Wheel of Fortune” are more than just iconic TV brands; they’re the intellectual property powering mobile games on course to reach $100 million each. And they’re all produced by Scopely, a Los Angeles-based video game business led by co-CEO Walter Driver, who has made a specialty of adapting from [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content