You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Evo 2019’ Tournament Includes ‘Super Smash Bros. Ultimate’ Not ‘Melee’

The Evolution Championship Series announced its official game lineup for the upcoming Evo 2019 tournament this week.

The nine major fighting games included in the lineup will feature the following titles:

  • “BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle” (PS4)
  • “Dragon Ball FighterZ”(PS4)
  • “Mortal Kombat 11” (PS4)
  • “Samurai Shodown” (PS4)
  • “SoulCalibur VI” (PS4)
  • “Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition” (PS4)
  • “Super Smash Bros. Ultimate” (Switch)
  • “Tekken 7” (PS4)
  • “Under Night In-Birth ExeLate[st]” (PS4)

The year’s lineup will not include “Super Smash Bros. Melee,” however, a GameCube title that’s been part of the lineup for six years in a row. It looks like the “Smash” quotient will instead be filled by “Super Smash Bros. Ultimate” instead, as it just debuted this past December as a Switch exclusive.

The Evolution Championship Series (Evo for short) is a collection of the largest and longest-running fighting game tournaments in the world. Each year, the best of the best out of the world’s fighting game enthusiasts join together to test their skill against one another. The matches are open to anyone who wishes to compete, and the Evo environment offers free play, opportunities to meet and interact with players all over the world, and potentially get a start in their fighting careers.

Evo 2019 is taking place at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas this year from Aug. 2 through Aug. 4. Registration is open now.

More Gaming

  • Arc System Works and WayForward Revive

    Arc System Works and WayForward Revive Classic 'River City' IP

    Notable fighting game developer Arc System Works is teaming up with “Shantae and the Pirate’s Curse” developer WayForward to create a brand-new game based on the classic “River City” intellectual property, they announced on Friday. The new project is called “River City Girls.” While the two studios won’t release full details about the project until [...]

  • Panthers Schedule Promo References a Slew

    Panthers Schedule Promo References a Slew of Video Games

    The Carolina Panthers’ released its 2019 schedule promotion video on Wednesday, which makes callbacks to classic games, like “Pitfall” and “Oregon Trail” among other games, shared via YouTube. The Carolina Panthers are a professional football team in the National Football League (NFL). The team is based in Charlotte, North Carolina. The promo video shows various [...]

  • Gearbox CEO Defends Epic Games Store

    Gearbox CEO Defends Epic Games Store and 'Borderlands 3' Exclusivity

    Earlier this month, developer Gearbox Software revealed the PC version of its anticipated co-op shooter “Borderlands 3” is coming exclusively to the Epic Games Store. This created some blowback from fans who prefer Valve’s digital storefront Steam. Gearbox founder and CEO Randy Pitchford defending the decision in a lengthy Twitter thread on Saturday (helpfully recreated [...]

  • Inside the Music of Netflix's 'Ingress:

    Inside the Music of Netflix's 'Ingress: The Animation' (EXCLUSIVE)

    “Ingress: The Animation” hit last fall in Japan, but the global release doesn’t hit Netflix until April 30, fortunately, it’s bringing a little something new to the show based on Niantic’s other popular video game. The global version of the show will feature a new musical score created by Jacob Yoffee (“Free Meek,” “Andi Mack”). [...]

  • Vic Mignogna

    Accused of Sexual Harassment, Vic Mignogna Sues Funimation

    Vic Mignogna, known for voicing Broly in the “Dragon Ball” series of games, films, and tv shows, filed a lawsuit claiming defamation and other charges against Funimation and other voice actors on Thursday, according to public court documents. Fellow Funimation voice actors Monica Rial and Jamie Marchi, along with Rial’s fiance Ronald Toye, are also [...]

  • South Korea's FTC Reviewing In-Game Purchase

    South Korea's FTC Reviewing In-Game Purchase Clauses

    The Fair Trade Commission in South Korea will conduct a review of game companies’ consumer practices and thus contacted 10 companies, including Nexon, Blizzard, and Riot Games, on Friday, according to The Korea Herald. The Fair Trade Commission (FTC) is concerned with in-game purchases in PC and mobile games. In particular, one concern is the [...]

  • 'Pokémon Go' Dev Niantic Accepting City

    'Pokémon Go' Dev Niantic Accepting City Submissions for Live Events

    Fans of games like “Pokémon Go” and “Ingress Prime” can now nominate their favorite cities to potentially host a live event in 2020, developer Niantic announced on Thursday. Submissions are now open on Niantic’s website. Anyone can submit an official city nomination between now and Oct. 1, including players, parks departments, tourism boards, and local [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content