You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Earth Defense Force: Iron Rain’ Comes to PlayStation 4 on April 11

The next entry in the “Earth Defense Force” series, “Earth Defense Force: Iron Rain,” will launch exclusively for PlayStation 4 systems on April 11, game publisher D3 Publisher Inc. announced on Friday.

Developed by game studio Yuke’s in Unreal Engine 4, “Earth Defense Force: Iron Rain” introduces new territories to the series, character customization, new tech and weaponry, as well as 50 story-centric missions.

The game takes place 12 years after humanity’s first encounter with the alien “Aggressor” invasion which has devastated planet Earth. In “Iron Rain,” humans continue to defend against the alien assault. But this time around, the EDF has new tech on their side. The game includes four soldier classes to master – the Trooper, Jet Lifter, Heavy Striker, and Prowl Rider – each with their own customizable exoskeleton suit and abilities.

Customization will have a big role in “Iron Rain”. Exoskeleton suits can be customized with hundreds of weapon, armament, and item loadout combinations. Likewise, players will take on the role of Closer – a decorated war hero who wakes up from a seven-year coma – and customize the character’s appearance before the campaign.

“Iron Rain” will also feature both online and local multiplayer split-screen modes in what is described as a return to its arcade action roots. Online will support up to six players in co-op, while the new Mercenary mode will allow up to eight players. In Mercenary mode, teams compete to find energy gems.

The game is currently available for pre-order on the PlayStation Store in Standard and Ultimate editions, which are priced at $59.99, $89.99, respectively. Pre-order perks are also available for both editions, and include exclusive customized costumes and enhanced weapons. In addition, the Ultimate Edition includes a critical weapon and an additional mission which is scheduled to release soon after launch.

Popular on Variety

More Gaming

  • Doug Scott - Twitch

    Twitch Recruits Zynga's Doug Scott as Chief Marketing Officer

    Doug Scott is leaving as game company Zynga’s marketing boss to become Twitch’s CMO. Scott assumes the CMO role at Twitch after previous chief marketing officer Kate Jhaveri exited this summer to become the NBA’s top marketing exec. News of Scott’s hire comes less than a month after Twitch launched a redesigned logo and site, [...]

  • Call of Duty Modern Warfare

    Call of Duty League Commissioner on Why It's Time for a Franchise Model

    “Call of Duty” esports is officially headed for a city-based model. Publisher Activision Blizzard announced over the summer that the newly coined Call of Duty League will have a franchised, home-and-away structure immediately when it launches its inaugural season in early 2020. It’s set 12 teams in 11 cities, and the roster mania has already [...]

  • Nintendo Switch

    Nintendo Switch Unit Sales Top 15 Million in North America Since Launch

    Nintendo is tooting its own horn, boasting that the Nintendo Switch and Nintendo Switch Lite systems have together sold over 15 million units in North America to date. That’s according to the company’s own internal data. As of July, the Nintendo Switch had sold over 36 million consoles worldwide, the company said. Nintendo Switch carries [...]

  • Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order

    'Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order': Respawn CEO on Telling the Story Behind 'Becoming a Jedi'

    When it comes to media properties, it doesn’t get much bigger than “Star Wars.” That sentiment certainly isn’t lost on Vince Zampella, CEO of Respawn Entertainment, the studio behind “Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order.” The title, which follows Jedi Padawan Cal Kestis (voiced by Cameron Monaghan) after the events of “Episode III — Revenge of [...]

  • Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order

    'Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order': What to Expect From EA and Respawn's Latest

    There’s a lot riding on “Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order.” The upcoming title from EA and Respawn is the first major single-player “Star Wars” video game since 2008’s “The Force Unleashed,” and is one of the most anticipated games of 2019. After years of multiplayer adventures, could “Fallen Order” be the title that brings the [...]

  • Google Stadia Game Streaming Service Launching

    Google’s Stadia Game Streaming Service Will Launch Nov. 19

    Google hardware chief Rick Osterloh gave us an update on the company’s game streaming service Stadia during the company’s fall hardware event in New York Tuesday: Stadia will be available to the public on Nov. 19. Stadia promises to stream games directly from the cloud, with no need to buy a full-blown game console. Consumers [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content