Angela Bassett, Debra Messing, Chloë Sevigny Among Tribeca Film Festival Jurors

Angela Bassett, Debra Messing, and Chloë Sevingy are among the 50 actors, filmmakers, and entertainment industry professionals who will judge the Tribeca Film Festival. Now in its 18th year, the annual film celebration will unfold in downtown Manhattan from April 24 through May 5.

Other judges include director Rebecca Miller, comedian Tig Notaro, actor Justin Long, and IndieWire editor-in-chief Dana Harris.

“At 18, we’re proud of our lineup of talented and diverse filmmakers and welcome our extraordinary jury,” Jane Rosenthal, co-Founder and CEO of the festival, said in a statement.

Angela Bassett (“Black Panther,” “American Horror Story”) will judge the International Narrative Competition contestants, while Chloë Sevigny (“The Dead Don’t Die,” “Boys Don’t Cry”) and Debra Messing (“Will & Grace”) will be on the committee to hand out the Nora Ephron award, created in honor of the late filmmaker, journalist, and writer.

David Cross (“Arrested Development”) will judge the new documentary director competition, and Justin Long (“Frank and Lola”) will assess the contestants for new narrative director competition. Other jurors include Pulitzer Prize winning columnist Maureen Dowd, Topher Grace (“That 70’s Show”), and DeWanda Wise from the Netflix remake of “She’s Gotta Have It.”

This year, Tribeca Film Fest officials will introduce changes to their Tribeca X Award, which jurors will assess based on four categories (best feature film, short film, episodic, and virtual reality) for excellence in branded storytelling. Among the other categories include awards for best new narrative director, best short documentary and student visionary, and best new documentary director as the Festival honors and awards “up-and-coming” storytellers. The winners for each of the ten categories will be announced on May 2.

The Tribeca Film Festival was originally founded by Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal, and Craig Hatkoff in 2001 to encourage economic restoration in a part of the city that had been devastated by the 9/11 attacks.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Joker Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

    Box Office: Villains Face Off Again as 'Joker' and 'Maleficent' Battle for First Place

    Despite three new nationwide releases, domestic box office charts look to be dominated by holdovers — Warner Bros.’ “Joker” and Disney’s “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” — during the last weekend in October. “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” debuted last weekend with $36 million in North America, enough to dethrone “Joker” after the super-villain origin story’s back-to-back [...]

  • Yasushi Shiina

    Tokyo Market is Finding New Strengths, Says Yasushi Shiina

    Clouds on the global economic horizon and disruption to the scheduling of the event, have done little to dampen the interest of foreign visitors to TIFFCOM, Japan’s biggest film and TV market. Especially those from China, says market head, Yasushi Shiina. The market is again running at the Sunshine City shopping, entertainment and business complex [...]

  • "Weathering With You" directed by Makoto

    Toho Unveils Dual Media Romance 'Love Me, Love Me Not' at Tokyo Market

    Japan’s biggest film company, which produces, distributes and exhibits its own product in partnership with leading media companies, Toho has brought a line-up to TIFFCOM full of present and future hits. The biggest is “Weathering with You,” the love story animation by Makoto Shinkai that surpassed the $100 million mark only a month after its [...]

  • Hit Me Anyone One More Time

    TIFFCOM: Pony Canyon Saddles up FujiTV's Smash 'Hit Me Anyone'

    One of Japan’s five major broadcast networks, Fuji TV has also been a pioneer and leader among the networks in feature film production. This year at TIFFCOM long-time partner Pony Canyon is representing Fuji TV films that have recently hit number one at the Japanese box office. Among the hottest, with three straight weeks atop [...]

  • Martin Scorsese Avengers

    Are Martin Scorsese and Francis Ford Coppola Right About Marvel? (Column)

    If you want to shoot holes in the comments that Martin Scorsese and Francis Ford Coppola made recently about Marvel movies (Scorsese: “That’s not cinema”; Coppola: “Martin was being kind when he said it wasn’t cinema. He didn’t say it was despicable, which is what I say”), then go right ahead, because they’ve practically handed [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content