You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

SCAD Savannah Film Festival Honorees Include Daniel Kaluuya, Elisabeth Moss

Daniel Kaluuya, Elisabeth Moss, Danielle Macdonald, Aldis Hodge, Valerie Pachner, Samantha Morton, Sienna Miller, Alan Silvestri and Olivia Wilde are set to be honored at the 22nd Annual SCAD Savannah Film Festival. Breakout Award honorees include Beanie Feldstein, Kaitlyn Dever, Jharrel Jerome, Mena Massoud and Camila Morrone.

Macdonald, who appears on Netflix in “Unbelievable” and the upcoming “Paradise Hills,” will receive the rising star award on Oct. 26. “Clemency” star Hodge will receive the discovery award on Oct. 28, while Pachner, who stars in “A Hidden Life,” will receive the discovery award on Oct. 29. Moss, who starred in “The Kitchen” and will appear in “The Invisible Man,” will receive the spotlight award on Oct. 31, and on Nov. 2, “Walking Dead” star Morton will receive the virtuoso award while “Queen and Slim” star Kaluuya will receive the spotlight award. “Back to the Future” and “Avengers” composer Silvestri receives the lifetime achievement award for composing on Oct. 27, while “Booksmart” director Wilde receives the rising star director award on Oct. 29. “American Woman” and “21 Bridges” star Miller will be honored with the outstanding achievement in cinema award.

The breakout award honorees will appear on a panel on Oct. 30.

Popular on Variety

The SCAD Savannah Film Festival is the largest university-run film festival in the United States and is hosted by the Savannah College of Art and Design. Having screened 130 Oscar-nominated films, it has become an important stop on the awards circuit with screenings and tributes to actors, directors, producers and filmmakers from the U.S. and abroad. The festival has become a stop for many films being considered for the Oscars.

In 2018, the festival began with Alfonso Cuaron’s “Roma,” which went on to win the Academy Award for foreign language film. The 2019 festival is kicking off with French director Céline Sciamma’s TIFF and Cannes-selected film “Portrait of a Lady on Fire” and director Tom Harper’s Telluride-selected film “The Aeronauts.”

The entire film festival will take place Oct. 26 to Nov. 2 in Savannah, Ga.

More Film

  • The Banker

    Apple Delays 'The Banker' Release Amid Review of Family Accusations

    Apple is delaying the theatrical release of “The Banker,” originally set for Dec. 6 with assistance from Bleecker Street, insiders familiar with the company said. It’s being delayed as the filmmakers review accusations of historical inaccuracy and sexual abuse at the hands of co-producer Bernard Garrett Jr. The film was also set to premiere on [...]

  • Alex Ginno Fully Formed

    Brad Fuller and Andrew Form's Fully Formed Taps Alex Ginno as Head of Film (EXCLUSIVE)

    Alex Ginno has joined Brad Fuller and Andrew Form’s Fully Formed as head of film. The company has a three-year first-look deal with Paramount, where they recently wrapped production on “A Quiet Place: Part II” and are currently prepping Season 3 of the hit show “Jack Ryan” for Amazon. The second season recently bowed, with [...]

  • Queen and Slim soundtrack

    Album Review: 'Queen & Slim: The Soundtrack'

    “Queen & Slim,” the film, traffics in sudden tragedy and symbolic terror as it portrays the violence of self-defense and self-awareness in stark, painful terms. It deserves an equally audacious score and soundtrack, a job that has gone to another Devonté Hynes, the British singer, songwriter, guitarist, record producer and director in his guise of Blood [...]

  • Michael Jackson in concert in Milton

    Michael Jackson Music Biopic in the Works From 'Bohemian Rhapsody' Producer

    “Bohemian Rhapsody” producer Graham King has struck a deal with the Michael Jackson estate for the pop star’s life and music rights, with plans to make a feature film based on both. King has tapped “Gladiator” and “The Aviator” screenwriter John Logan for the project. The film currently has no studio or distributor attached. The [...]

  • Michael J. Pollard Dead

    Michael J. Pollard, 'Bonnie and Clyde' and 'House of 1000 Corpses' Actor, Dies at 80

    Academy Award nominee Michael J. Pollard, known for his roles in “Bonnie and Clyde” and “House of 1000 Corpses,” has died. He was 80. “House of 1000 Corpses” director Rob Zombie broke the news on Facebook early Friday morning. “We have lost another member of our ‘House of 1000 Corpses’ family. I woke up to [...]

  • Jonathan Pryce

    Jonathan Pryce on Early Roles, Reading Reviews and Advice He Got From Lee Strasberg

    Jonathan Pryce, who has done memorable work for 40-plus years, hits a career high in “The Two Popes,” a complex look at Francis, played by Pryce, and Benedict, portrayed by Anthony Hopkins. Though Pryce has played well-known figures before, such as Juan Perón in the 1996 “Evita,” he was hesitant to take on Pope Francis [...]

  • Tracy Letts Ford V Ferrari

    Tracy Letts on His Writing Routine and His Roles in 'Ford v Ferrari,' 'Little Women'

    Tracy Letts says he’s driven by the need to tell stories that showcase humanity. It’s a need that earned him a 2008 Pulitzer Prize for “August: Osage County” and led to his current Broadway play, “Linda Vista,” about a 50-year-old divorcé (played by Ian Barford) in the midst of a midlife crisis. Letts also brings the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content