You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Oscars: Germany Selects ‘System Crasher’ for International Feature Film Award

Germany has chosen Nora Fingscheidt’s “System Crasher” as its entry for the newly re-branded International Feature Film award at the 92nd Academy Awards, it was announced Wednesday by promotional body German Films.

Produced by Kineo Filmproduktion and Weydemann Bros, the film won a Silver Bear at the Berlin Film Festival, where it received its world premiere in February, and has since gone on to be a fixture on the festival circuit picking up a number of other prizes. It stars Helena Zengel as nine-year-old Benni, whose untamed energy in her wild quest for love drives everyone around her to despair.

The film was chosen from a list of seven films, submitted by their producers, by the eight members of the German selection committee, which consists of representatives from eight German cinema trade associations and institutions. German Films organizes the selection procedure for the German candidate for the OscarsInternational Feature Film category each year but the umbrella organization is not itself represented in the selection committee.

“System Crasher” is Fingschiedt’s first full-length narrative feature following her feature documentary “Ohne Diese Welt.”

As well as “System Crasher,” titles submitted for consideration to the German selection committee included Marco Kreuzpaintner’s “The Collini Case”; Caroline Link’s “All About Me”; Christian Schwochow’s “The German Lesson”; Thomas Heise’s “Heimat is a Space in Time”; Jan Ole Gerster’s “Lara”; and Bernd Bohlich’s “Sealed Lips.”

Germany is the ninth country so far this year to submit a film for consideration in the category, which was renamed from best foreign language film in April.

Germany has been nominated in the Oscars’ International Feature category Oscar 11 times since its reunification in 1990, winning the award twice: for Link’s “Nowhere in Africa” in 2002 and Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck’s “The Lives of Others” in 2006. The country scored its most recent nomination last year with von Donnersmarck’s “Never Look Away,” which lost out to Alfonso Cuaron’s “Roma” from Mexico.

Prior to 1990 submissions were made by West Germany, which received 13 nominations winning in 1979 with Volker Schlondorff’s “The Tin Drum,” and East Germany, which received one nomination.

The German submission follows the recent announcement that Cambodia has chosen drama “In the Life of Music,” directed by Caylee So and Sok Visal. The film tells the story of three generations of a family starting in 1976, a year after the emergence of the Khmer Rouge regime, and followed by chapters set in 1986 and 2006-2007. Cambodia was previously nominated in the category, then known as best foreign language film, in 2013 with documentary “The Missing Picture” but lost out to Italy’s “The Great Beauty.”

Earlier this week Iran chose feature documentary “Finding Farideh” as its entry. Previous submissions announced so far this year include romantic comedy “Wolkenbruch” representing Switzerland; war film “Shindisi” from Georgia; and Algerian drama “Papicha.” Other submissions include Elia Suleiman’s comedy “It Must Be Heaven,” which will represent Palestine, and Arturo Montenegro’s drama “Todos Cambiamos” from Panama.

The five eventual nominees for International Feature Film will be announced alongside other categories on Jan. 13, 2020. The 92nd Academy Awards will be held Feb. 9, 2020.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Jumanji The Next Level

    Box Office: 'Jumanji 2' Eyes $40 Million-Plus Debut

    Will Christmas bring a fruitful box office bounty for Sony’s “Jumanji: The Next Level”? The Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart-led sequel, which arrives in theaters on Dec. 13, is on pace to debut to $40 million to $50 million, according to early independent tracking services. Since tracking has been unreliably for sequels in recent weeks, [...]

  • Pluto TV Picks Up Collection of

    Pluto TV Picks Up Films for Woody Allen Season on U.K. Service (EXCLUSIVE)

    Viacom-owned streamer Pluto TV has inked a deal with Signature Entertainment for a collection of Woody Allen movies from the 1990s and will put them out in a dedicated season on its AVOD service in the U.K. Woody Allen Fridays start on the service this week, with the filmmaker’s pictures playing on the Pluto TV [...]

  • Chuck Lorre, Scott Stuber to Keynote

    Chuck Lorre, Scott Stuber to Keynote Variety Innovate Summit

    “The Big Bang Theory” co-creator and TV producer Chuck Lorre and the head of Netflix Films Scott Stuber will keynote Variety’s Innovate Summit presented by PwC on Dec. 5 in Los Angeles. Lorre will share the career experiences that lead to his co-creating and executive producing “The Big Bang Theory,” “Young Sheldon” and “Mom.” Lorre’s extensive [...]

  • John Williams poses on the red

    'Star Wars' Composer John Williams Nabs 71st Grammy Nom 58 Years After His First

    Composer John Williams received two Grammy nominations, as announced yesterday, bringing his grand total to 71 nominations, with 24 wins to date. Williams was nominated in the composing and arranging field. His “Galaxy’s Edge Symphonic Suite,” written for the new “Star Wars”-themed park at Disneyland, was nominated for best instrumental composition, while his arrangement of [...]

  • Rian Johnson'Knives Out' premiere, BFI London

    Rian Johnson on 'Knives Out,' 'Star Wars' and Toxic Fandom

    Rian Johnson’s “Knives Out” is a wickedly funny, fiendishly clever, and surprisingly prescient murder mystery. It succeeds as both a brilliantly constructed puzzle-box of a whodunit, offering up a big reveal that’s extremely satisfying, and as a incisive comment on the class divisions and prejudice that are roiling America. If that sounds medicinal, fear not. [...]

  • Parasite

    Bong Joon-ho's 'Parasite' Wins Best Film at Asia Pacific Screen Awards

    Bong Joon-ho’s “Parasite,” which earlier this year won the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival, on Thursday added the Asia Pacific Screen Award for best film to its burgeoning trophy cabinet. “Parasite” producer Jang Young-hwan was on hand to accept the award at the end of a ritzy ceremony in Brisbane, Australia. The APSAs, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content