Nancy Kwan, Lena Khan, Hiroyuki Sanada, Tiffany Chu Honored at Asian World Film Festival

Nancy Kwan, Lena Khan, Hiroyuki Sanada, and Tiffany Chu were honored with awards during the Asian World Film Festival, which took place Nov. 6-14.

In its fifth year, the AWFF teamed up with the Snow Leopard Trust again to raise awareness for the endangered snow leopard and its ecosystem in the high mountains of Asia.

“The World of Suzie Wong” actor Kwan received the AWFF Lifetime Achievement Award; Sanada, the Snow Leopard Outstanding Cinematic Achievement Award; Chu, the 2019 Snow Leopard Rising Star Award; and Khan took home the AWFF American Red Cross/ Tiffany Circle Courage to Dream Award.

Additionally, Suium Sulaimanova accepted the inaugural Hollywood Foreign Press Association Snow Leopard Short Film award for her film “My Friend – My Enemy.”

Other winners of the festival were announced in a closing ceremony hosted by actor and co-founder of Asians in LA Nancy Yoon. View the complete list of winners from the night below:

Snow Leopard Audience Award: “1982” (Lebanon)

Popular on Variety

Snow Leopard Best Actress Award: Arezoo Ariapoor, Fereshta Afshar, Hasiba Ebrahimi “Hava, Maryam, Aesha” (Afghanistan, Iran)

Snow Leopard Best Actor Award: Stepan Petrov in “The Sun Above Me Never Sets” (Yakutia, Russia)

Snow Leopard Jury Award – Best Director: Dito Tsintsadze for “Shindisi” (Georgia)

Snow Leopard Special Jury Award: “Aurora” (Kyrgyzstan)

Snow Leopard Best Film Award: “The Sun Above Me Never Sets” (Yakutia, Russian Federation)

More Film

  • Legendary Logo

    Legendary Invests in Library Pictures to Fund Local-Language Production

    Legendary Pictures has made an investment in Library Pictures International with plans to fund local-language productions. Library Pictures is a content-financing entity organized earlier this year by CAA Media Finance to support industry-leading filmmakers and distributors by investing in local-language production slates. As part of the deal, Legendary becomes part of a team at Library [...]

  • Knives and Skin

    Film Review: 'Knives and Skin'

    Jennifer Reeder’s “Knives and Skin” will test the limits of viewer patience. The positive qualities lie in the surrealistic film’s bold cinematography, distinctive use of music, and diversity of cast, though that’s not enough to redeem this tedious viewing experience. Following a festival run that began at the Berlinale, IFC Midnight is giving the film [...]

  • Frozen 2

    Women In Animation Celebrate a Banner Year

    When “Missing Link” producer Arianne Sutner began her career in the early 1990s, fresh out of college, she had a goal: Get a job working on a film set that didn’t involve doing craft service. Because, she says “as women, they were always kind of either intentionally or unintentionally pointing you in that direction.” After [...]

  • Laura DernIFP Gotham Awards 2019 -

    Palm Springs Festival to Honor Laura Dern With Career Achievement Award (EXCLUSIVE)

    The 31st annual Palm Springs International Film Festival has selected Laura Dern as the recipient of its Career Achievement Award. Dern will be honored at the festival awards gala on Jan. 2 at the Palm Springs Convention Center. The festival runs Jan. 2-13. “Laura Dern is one of the most outstanding and talented actresses of [...]

  • American Cinematheque Charlize Theron

    Listen: How Charlize Theron Overcame Her Fear of Playing Megyn Kelly in 'Bombshell'

    Charlize Theron immediately didn’t jump at the chance to play controversial news anchor Megyn Kelly in “Bombshell,” the Jay Roach-directed drama about the downfall of late Fox News boss Roger Ailes’ downfall after he was accused by multiple women of sexual misconduct and harassment. “She wasn’t necessarily a person who I just could throw my [...]

  • From the film AMERICAN FACTORY

    Oscar Documentary Race Shaping Up to be Year of the Woman

    When it comes to the film industry’s non-fiction arm, 2019 has proven to be the year of the woman. Not only are females behind the majority of this year’s high-profile documentaries, they are also, thus far, dominating the non-fiction feature awards race. Case in point, six of the 10 best doc noms selected from 375 [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content