You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Burning Cane,’ Wendell Pierce, Haley Bennett Win Tribeca Awards

Burning Cane” has won the Founders Award for best U.S. narrative feature and star Wendell Pierce has been awarded the top actor in the category for the 18th Annual Tribeca Film Festival.

Haley Bennett won the festival’s award for best actress in a narrative feature for her performance in “Swallow.” “House of Hummingbird” (Beol-sae) took the prize for best international narrative feature, and “Scheme Birds” won for top documentary feature.

The awards were announced Thursday. Rania Attieh won the Nora Ephron Award and a $25,000 prize for Initials S.G. (“Iniciales S.G.”). The award honors excellence in storytelling by a female writer or director embodying the spirit and boldness of the late filmmaker. Tribeca’s Storyscapes Award went to “The Key,” created by Celine Tricart.

Burning Cane,” set in the Louisiana swamplands, is directed by Phillip Youmans, who wrote, directed and shot the film at the age of 17. He is the first African-American director to win this award as well as the youngest director to have a feature in Tribeca. Pierce portrays a struggling preacher who has lost his wife. Youmans also won the cinematography award in the category.

Bennett portrays a housewife in “Swallow” who develops an obsession for consuming dangerous objects that threatens her seemingly have-it-all life. “House of Hummingbird” stars Ji-hu Park as a Korean 14-year-old in a coming of age story. “Scheme Birds” centers on a teenage troublemaker who comes of age in her fading Scottish steel town.

The winners of the Audience Awards will be announced on Saturday and the festival will close on Sunday. Here are the winners announced on Thursday:


Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – “Burning Cane,” directed by Phillip Youmans.

Best Actress in a U.S. Narrative Feature FilmHaley Bennett in “Swallow.”

Jury special mention: Geetanjali Thapa in “Stray Dolls.

Best Actor in a U.S. Narrative Feature FilmWendell Pierce in “Burning Cane.”

Best Cinematography in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Phillip Youmans for “Burning Cane.”

Special Jury mention: “ Todd Banhazl for “Blow the Man Down.”

Best Screenplay in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Bridget Savage Cole and Danielle Krudy for “Blow the Man Down.”

Special jury mention: Ani Simon-Kennedy for “The Short History of the Long Road.”


Best International Narrative Feature – “House of Hummingbird” (Beol-sae) (South Korea, USA) directed and written by Bora Kim.

Best Actress in an International Narrative Feature Film – Ji-hu Park in “House of Hummingbird” (Beol-sae)

Best Actor in an International Narrative Feature Film – Ali Atay in “Noah Land.”

Best Cinematography in an International Narrative Feature Film – Kang Gook-hyun for “House of Hummingbird” (Beol-sae)

Best Screenplay in an International Narrative Feature Film – “Noah Land” (Nuh Tepesi) written by Cenk Ertürk


Best Documentary Feature – Scheme Birds (Scotland, Sweden) directed and written by Ellen Fiske, Ellinor Hallin.

Best Cinematography in a Documentary Film – Cinematography by Yang Sun, Shuang Liang for “Our Time Machine” (China)

Best Editing in a Documentary Film – Jennifer Tiexiera for “17 Blocks” (USA), directed by Davy Rothbart.

Special Jury mention: “Rewind.”



Best New Narrative Director – “The Gasoline Thieves” (Huachicolero) (Mexico, Spain, UK, USA) directed by Edgar Nito.


Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award – “Scheme Birds” (Scotland, Sweden) directed by Ellen Fiske and Ellinor Hallin.

THE NORA EPHRON AWARD – Rania Attieh for “Initials S.G.” (Iniciales S.G.) (Argentina, Lebanon, USA)


Best Narrative Short – “Maja” (Denmark) directed by Marijana Jankovic.

Special Jury Mention – ” The Dishwasher” directed and written by Nick Hartanto, Sam Roden.

Shorts Animation Award – “My Mother’s Eyes” (UK) directed and written by Jenny Wright

Art Award – “Balloon Dog, Magneta” by Jeff Koons.

Best Documentary Short – “Learning To Skateboard In a Warzone” (If You’re A Girl) (UK), directed by Carol Dysinger

Special Jury Mention: “St. Louis Superman.”

Student Visionary Award – “Jebel Banat” (Egypt), directed and written by Sharine Atif.

Art award – “Chrysler Building” by Jane Dickson.

Special Jury mention: “Pearl” (Zhen Zhu)

STORYSCAPES AWARD – The Key (USA, Iraq), created by Celine Tricart.


Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Jonathan Van NessLos Angeles Beautycon, Portrait

    Jonathan Van Ness Reveals HIV Diagnosis, Former Drug Addiction

    “Queer Eye’s” Jonathan Van Ness is getting vulnerable in his new memoir “Over the Top.” In a preview of his book with the New York Times, Van Ness opened up about his early struggles with sex and drug addiction as well as his experience with sexual assault, revealing that he was abused by an older [...]

  • 4127_D022_00003_RC(l-r.) Elizabeth McGovern stars as Lady

    Box Office: 'Downton Abbey' Dominating 'Ad Astra,' 'Rambo' With $31 Million Opening

    “Downton Abbey” is heading for a positively brilliant opening weekend after scoring $13.8 million in domestic ticket sales on Friday. If estimates hold, the feature film version of the popular British television show should take home approximately $31 million come Sunday, marking the biggest opening ever for distributor Focus Features and beating previous record holder [...]

  • Gully Boy to represent India in

    'Gully Boy' to Represent India In Oscars Race

    The Film Federation of India has chosen Zoya Akhtar’s “Gully Boy” as its entry in the Academy Awards’ international feature film category. The picture, a coming of age tale about an aspiring rapper in Mumbai’s Dharavi slum premiered at the Berlin film festival in February before opening to a wave of acclaim at home in [...]

  • Lucy-Lost

    Cartoon Forum: 30th Anniversary, Little Giants and New Generations

    TOULOUSE, France –  Celebrating its 30th anniversary, Cartoon Forum wrapped Sept. 19 having showcased the ever-growing strength of European animation. 85 projects were pitched from 24 countries at the co-production forum platform that played host to north of 1,000 investors, distributors and producers – a record number. Falling on French-speaking Belgium – Wallonie-Bruxelles – whose [...]

  • Renee Zellweger Rufus Wainwright Sam Smith

    Renée Zellweger: Judy Garland Was 'My Childhood Hero'

    Awards buzz is building around Renée Zellweger for her performance as Judy Garland, emerging as a frontrunner in the Oscar race for best actress. But for her, the real prize was paying tribute to Garland, of whom she’s been a lifelong fan. “Nobody was prettier, nobody sang prettier…the adventures she had, [she was] my childhood [...]

  • Topic Studios

    Layoffs Hit Topic Studios as TV Division Relocates to West Coast (EXCLUSIVE)

    A small round of layoffs has hit Topic Studios this week in the television division, insiders familiar with the company told Variety. One of the insiders said three executives at the New York-based producer and distributor are out: senior vice president of scripted programming and Viacom alum Lisa Leingang, vice president of development Mona Panchal [...]

  • 'Downton Abbey' Music Gets 'Bigger, Better,

    As 'Downton Abbey' Hits the Silver Screen, the Music, Too, Gets 'Bigger, Better, Grander'

    When “Downton Abbey” fans hear that familiar strings-and-piano theme, a Pavlovian response ensues: Get to the television immediately, because you don’t want to miss a minute of the addictive Crawley family melodrama to follow. This week, with the “Downton Abbey” movie reaching theaters on Friday, fans can’t wait for their fix of Lady Mary and [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content