You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘The Traitor,’ ‘An Officer and a Spy,’ ‘Pain and Glory’ Lead European Film Awards Race

Marco Bellocchio’s “The Traitor,” Roman Polanski’s “An Officer and a Spy” and Pedro Almodóvar’s “Pain and Glory” lead the race for the 32nd European Film Awards with four nominations apiece in the major categories. The awards, voted on by more than 3,600 members of the European Film Academy, will be presented at the awards ceremony on Dec. 7 in Berlin.

Céline Sciamma’s “Portrait of a Lady on Fire” and Yorgos Lanthimos’ “The Favourite” followed with three nominations in the top categories each, while Ladj Ly’s “Les Misérables” and Nora Fingscheidt’s “System Crasher” were both short-listed in two major categories.

“The Favourite” picked up an additional nomination in the comedy category, while “Les Misérables” received a further nomination in the Discovery section for newcomers.

A single nomination each went to “A White, White Day,” “And Then We Danced,” “Beanpole,” “Gundermann” and “Queen of Hearts.”

Competing for best documentary are “For Sama,” “Honeyland,” “Putin’s Witnesses,” “Selfie” and “The Disappearance of My Mother.”

Popular on Variety

The nominations were announced Saturday at the Seville European Film Festival.

Polanski’s nods come the day after he was accused of raping a French actress in 1975, when she was 18 years old. The allegation comes 41 years after Polanski’s Stateside conviction of statutory rape in 1978, which led to him fleeing the U.S. to avoid sentencing.


European Film
“An Officer and a Spy” (Roman Polanski, France, Italy)
“Les Misérables,” (Ladj Ly, France)
“Pain and Glory” (Pedro Almodóvar, Spain)
“System Crasher” (Nora Fingscheidt, Germany)
“The Favourite” (Yorgos Lanthimos, U.K., Ireland)
“The Traitor” (Marco Bellocchio, Italy, Germany, France, Brazil)

European Director
Pedro Almodóvar (“Pain and Glory,” Spain)
Marco Bellocchio (“The Traitor,” Italy, Germany, France, Brazil)
Yorgos Lanthimos (“The Favourite,” U.K., Ireland)
Roman Polanski (“An Officer and a Spy,” France, Italy)
Céline Sciamma (“Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” France)

European Actress
Olivia Colman (“The Favourite,” U.K., Ireland)
Trine Dyrholm (“Queen of Hearts,” Denmark, Sweden)
Noémie Merlant and Adèle Haenel (“Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” France)
Viktoria Miroshnickenko (“Beanpole,” Russia)
Helene Zengel (“System Crasher,” Germany)

European Actor
Antonio Banderas (“Pain and Glory,” Spain)
Jean Dujardin (“An Officer and a Spy,” France, Italy)
Pierfrancesco Favino (“The Traitor,” Italy, Germany, France, Brazil)
Levan Gelbakhiani (“And Then We Danced,” Sweden, Georgia, France)
Alexander Scheer (“Gundermann,” Germany)
Ingvar E. Sigurðsson (“A White, White Day,” Iceland, Denmark)

European Screenwriter
Pedro Almodóvar (“Pain and Glory,” Spain)
Marco Bellocchio, Ludovica Rampoldi, Valia Santella & Francesco Piccolo (“The Traitor,” Italy, Germany, France, Brazil)
Robert Harris, Roman Polanski (“An Officer and a Spy,” France, Italy)
Ladj Ly, Giordano Gederlini, Alexis Manenti (“Les Miserables,” France)
Céline Sciamma (“Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” France)

European Documentary
“For Sama” (Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts, U.K., U.S.)
“Honeyland” (Ljubomir Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska, North Macedonia)
“Putin’s Witnesses” (Vitaly Mansky, Latvia, Switzerland, Czech Republic)
“Selfie” (Agostino Ferrente, France, Italy)
“The Disappearance of My Mother” (Beniamino Barrese, Italy, U.S.A.)

European Comedy
“Ditte & Louise” (Niclas Bendixen, Denmark)
“The Favourite” (Yorgos Lanthimos, U.K., Ireland)
“Tel Aviv on Fire” (Sameh Zoabi, Luxembourg, France, Israel, Belgium)

European Discovery – Fipresci Prize
“Aniara” (Hugo Lilja, Pella Kågerman, Sweden, Denmark)
“Atlantics” (Mati Diop, France, Senegal, Belgium)
“Blind Spot” (Tuva Novotny, Norway, Denmark)
“Irina” (Nadejda Koseva, Bulgaria)
“Les Misérables” (Ladj Ly, France)
“Ray & Liz” (Richard Billingham, U.K.)

European Animated Feature Film
“Bunuel in the Labyrinth of the Turtles” (Salvador Simó, Spain, The Netherlands)
“I Lost My Body” (Jérémy Clapin, France)
“Marona’s Fantastic Tale” (Anca Damian, France, Romania, Belgium)
“The Swallows of Kabul” (Zabou Breitman, Eléa Gobbé-Mévellec, France, Luxembourg, Switzerland)

European Short Film
“Dogs Barking at Birds” (Leonor Teles, Portugal)
“Reconstruction” (Jirí Havlícek, Ondrej Novák, Czech Republic)
“The Christmas Gift” (Bogdan Mureşanu, Romania, Spain)
“The Marvelous Misadventures of the Stone Lady” (Gabriel Abrantes, France, Portugal)
“Watermelon Juice” (Irene Moray, Spain)

More Film

  • My Zoe

    'My Zoe': Film Review

    There are two films in Julie Delpy’s ambitious, sharply-made but unbalanced “My Zoe.” There’s the scabrous relationship melodrama, about bitter exes sharing custody of a beloved child, which contains the story’s most potent emotions. And there’s the sci-fi-inflected ethical-dilemma grief movie, which houses its most provocative ideas. Both have much to recommend them, not least [...]

  • Richard Jewell

    The Big Lie of 'Richard Jewell' (Column)

    For a man who was so enraged at the administration of Barack Obama that he spent his 2012 Republican Convention speech lecturing an empty chair, Clint Eastwood has made a number of conventional, level-headed — one might even say liberal — political dramas. Films like “Invictus” and “J. Edgar” and “Midnight in the Garden of [...]

  • Oscar Isaac Star Wars The Rise

    Oscar Isaac Has Never Felt Like a 'Star Wars' Insider

    Unlike his “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” co-stars Daisy Ridley and John Boyega, Oscar Isaac had already established a long and acclaimed acting career before J.J. Abrams cast him as ace X-wing pilot Poe Dameron in 2015’s “Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” including standout roles in 2006’s “The Nativity Story” and 2011’s “Drive,” and [...]

  • Les Arcs to Showcase New Projects

    Les Arcs to Showcase New Projects by Jonas Alexander Arnby, Agnieszka Smoczyńska

    Denmark’s Jonas Alexander Arnby, France’s Alain Gagnol and Jean-Loup Felicioli, and Poland’s Agnieszka Smoczyńska are among up-and-coming directors from across Europe whose latest projects will be presented at the 11th Coproduction Village of Les Arcs Film Festival. This edition of Les Arcs Coproduction Village will showcase a total of 22 European projects spanning 19 countries. [...]

  • Chez Jolie Coiffure

    'Chez Jolie Coiffure': Film Review

    Shortly before the credits roll on “Chez Jolie Coiffure,” a customer in the eponymous hair salon asks her stylist, Sabine, if she has any plans to go home this year. Out of context, this sounds like the kind of standard, empty small talk one often makes while having one’s hair cut: what good movies you’ve [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content