You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Penélope Cruz to Receive San Sebastian Donostia Award

BARCELONA – Soon set to be seen at Cannes’ in Pedro Almodóvar’s competition contender “Pain and Glory.” Penélope Cruz will receive the 2019 Donostia Award for career achievement at the 67th San Sebastian Festival, which runs Sept. 20-28 at the Basque resort city.

The Spanish actress will be honored doubly way, as she will also be the official image  on this year’s festival poster.

No other Spanish actress has received the international recognition of Cruz, nor her number of top-echelon prizes and nominations as she has battled to broaden the roles open to Latin actresses.

She demonstrated a range most memorably perhaps winning a best supporting actress Academy Award and Bafta winner  for her performance as Maria Elena in Woody Allen’s “Vicky Cristina Barcelona.”

“Cruz, who officially graduated from sex kitten to powerhouse melodramatic actress in ‘Volver,’ is in full Anna Magnani mode here, storming up and down mountain peaks of emotion and captivating everyone. She’s dynamite,” Variety announced in its review.

Cruz has also won an honorary 2018 Cesar from France’s Academy of the Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, and three Spanish Academy Goya Awards , among 12 nominations, for Fernando Trueba’s “The Girl of Your Dreams,”Almodóvar’s “Volver,” and Woody Allen’s “Vicky Cristina Barcelona.” She took a David di Donatello best actress award for Sergio Castellito’s “Don’ t Move” in 2004, shared a Cannes Festival best actress award with the rest of the female ensemble cast in “Volver,” and received a Spanish Culture Ministry’s Fine Arts Gold Medal in 2018.

Balancing occasional big international productions and indie auteur fare, Cruz’s career takes in almost 70 roles —between features and TV series– with her working  in Spanish, English, Italian and French –  uncommon for a Spanish actress.

Cruz’ book out in “Jamón, jamón,” directed by Bigas Luna, who had a rare talent for detecting young talent, acting alongside Javier Bardem, who would become her husband almost twenty years later. The other two Spanish directors who have marked Cruz’s career are  Trueba and Almodóvar.

Among Cruz’s key works are  Alejandro Aménabar’s “Open Your Eyes” (1997), Almodóvar’s foreign-language Oscar winning “All About My Mother” (1999), Cameron Crowe’s “Vanilla Sky” (2001), Isabel Coixet’s “Elegy” (2008), Rob Marshall’s “Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides” (2011),  Woody Allen’s “To Rome With Love” (2013) and Asghar Farhadi’s “Everybody Knows It” (2018).

Cruz’s upcoming films include Olivier Assayas’ “Wasp Network”, Simon Kinberg’s “355” and Todd Solondz’ “Love Child.”

Penélope Cruz is the fifth Spanish actor to receive the Donostia Award after Fernando Fernán Gómez (1999), Paco Rabal (2001), Antonio Banderas (2008) and Carmen Maura (2013).

Launched in 1986 and focusing largely on actors, the Donostia Award has recognized Hollywood Golden Age luminaries such as Bette Davis (1989), Glenn Ford (1987), Lauren Bacall (1992), and Lana Turner (1994) and high-profile currently jobbing thesps such as Ewan McGregor (2012), Benicio del Toro (2014), Julia Roberts (2010) and Monica Bellucci (2017).

In “Pain & Glory,” Cruz plays the mother of the main character – an Almodovar alter-ego.

John Hopewell contributed to this article.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Andhadhun receives AACTA nomination

    Indian and Chinese Titles Dominate AACTA Asian Award Nominations

    Three Indian and three mainland Chinese films are among the nine feature movies shortlisted for the Best Asian Film Award by the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts. The Indian selections are box office hit “Andhadhun,” “Super Deluxe, and “Gully Boy,” which premiered in February at the Berlin festival. The Chinese trio includes “Shadow,” [...]

  • Fernando Meirelles The Two Popes

    Film News Roundup: 'The Two Popes' Wins Audience Award at Miami Festival

    In today’s film news roundup, “The Two Popes” wins an audience award, “A Night with Janis Joplin” and “Fittest in Dubai” get releases, Artists First reorganizes, SAG-AFTRA expands its headquarters and Film Fest 919 announces its winners. AUDIENCE AWARD Fernando Meirelles’ “The Two Popes” has won the audience award at the Miami Gems Film Festival. [...]

  • Scotty Bowers

    Scotty Bowers, Old Hollywood's Sexual Matchmaker, Dies at 96

    Scotty Bowers, a “sexual matchmaker” for dozens of stars during the Golden Age of Hollywood who wrote about his colorful — and sometimes unbelivable — life in his memoir “Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars,” died at his Laurel Canyon home on Sunday. He was 96. The [...]

  • AMC theater

    AMC Entertainment Introducing On-Demand Movie Service

    AMC Entertainment will introduce an online video store in the United States on Tuesday. Adam Aron, AMC’s president and chief executive, said that the AMC Theaters On Demand will offer about 2,000 films for sale or rent after their theatrical runs — much like Amazon or iTunes. Disney, Warner Bros., Universal, Sony and Paramount have [...]

  • Scarlett Johansson poses for photographers upon

    Scarlett Johansson 'Pushing' for All-Women Marvel Movie

    After the epic battle scene in “Avengers: Endgame” depicted the female superheroes uniting to protect Spider-Man from Thanos, Marvel fans started wondering if they’ll ever see the women unite for a standalone movie. “Captain Marvel” star Brie Larson generated even more buzz when she told Variety that she and other female co-stars have approached Marvel [...]

  • Ivana Lombardi Netflix

    Annapurna Film Head Ivana Lombardi Named Director of Indies at Netflix (EXCLUSIVE)

    Annapurna Pictures president of film Ivana Lombardi is moving across town to Netflix, after almost a year in her role at Megan Ellison’s company. As of Nov. 6, Lombardi will serve as director of independent films at the streamer. She will report directly to Lisa Nishimura, Netflix’s vice president of independent film and documentary features. [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content