You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Variety Nominated for 70 National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards

Variety has been nominated for 70 National Arts and Entertainment Journalist Awards from the Los Angeles Press Club and received more nominations than any other entertainment print or online publication.

“I want to thank the L.A. Press Club for recognizing the hard work of our editorial team with a record 70 nominations,” says Variety editor-in-chief Claudia Eller. “I am extraordinarily proud of all of our writers, editors and artists for continuing to make Variety the gold standard of entertainment news journalism.”

Variety‘s “Trans Hollywood” issue was nominated for entertainment publication as was Variety’s collaboration with sister publication Rolling Stone, “American (In)Justice.”

Executive editor for film and media Brent Lang and features editor Chris Willman were each nominated for print journalist of the year while chief film critic Owen Gleiberman received a nomination for online journalist of the year.

Variety’s art department, led by creative director Robert Festino and photo director Jennifer Dorn, earned six nominations, including two for cover art nominations: one for the “Leslie Moonves Cover” and the other for the “Bill Hader Cover.”

Variety.com, led by editor Stuart Oldham, is nominated for the entertainment website.

Of individual staff members, Willman received the most nominations with seven total. He picked up six additional bids, earning nominations for theater/performing arts critic; celebrity feature, music/arts/culture, for his story on Brandi Carlile; soft news for his story on an auction of Disneyland memorabilia; online celebrity news for his article about Taylor Swift’s label switch; personality profile, music/art/culture, for his profile of Ronee Blakley; and commentary analysis/trend, performing arts/culture, for his piece on UnCabaret turning 25.

Lang picked up four additional nominations for his stories on former Fox chief Stacey Snider and the Broadway version of “To Kill a Mockingbird” as well as stories he worked on with colleagues Matt Donnelly and Cynthia Littleton.

In addition to his nomination for online journalist of the year, Gleiberman picked up nominations for film criticism, obituary/in appreciation and online film commentary.

Variety’s staff publication “How America’s Biggest Theater Chains Are Exploiting Their Janitors” received a multimedia package nomination.

“Variety Studio: Actors on Actors,” Variety’s series with PBS SoCal, also received a nomination for documentary or special program feature.

Other Variety staff picking up nominations are executive editor, TV, Daniel Holloway; chief TV critic Daniel D’Addario; TV critic Caroline Framke; senior vice president Tim Gray; business editor Cynthia Littleton; senior TV editor Brian Steinberg; senior film writer Matt Donnelly; executive editor, music Shirley Halperin; senior media writer Gene Maddaus; New York bureau chief Ramin Setoodeh; online news editor Rebecca Rubin; online deputy editor Meredith Woerner, senior music editor Jem Aswad; senior editor, TV awards, Michael Schneider; features editor Diane Garrett; executive vice president, content, and executive editor Steven Gaydos; features editor Malina Saval; correspondent Elizabeth Wagmeister; freelancer Zoe Hewitt; social media editor Meg Zukin; deputy awards and features editor Jenelle Riley; senior music editor Jem Aswad; legit editor Gordon Cox; senior film awards, events and lifestyle editor Marc Malkin; video production head Preston Northrop; videographer Nicholas Stango and videographer James Aitken.

More Biz

  • U2, Seattle 14 May 2017

    U2 Drop New Song, ‘Ahimsa,’ Ahead of First Concert in India

    After a flurry of rumors on Thursday, U2 dropped their first single in two years: “Ahimsa,” a collaboration with Oscar- and Grammy-winning Indian musician AR Rahman, ahead of the group’s first-ever visit to the country next month. Rahman has a vast track record of film soundtracks and is best known for his work on the [...]

  • Sean "Diddy" Combs Revolt TV

    Sean Combs Slams 'Illusion of Economic Inclusion' at Comcast Amid Byron Allen Fight

    Sean Combs has come out swinging against Comcast in a lengthy statement prompted by the cable giant’s legal battle with Entertainment Studios chief Byron Allen. Combs accused Comcast of maintaining “the illusion of economic inclusion” in its handling of a carriage agreement with Combs’ Revolt TV channel. Combs was critical of Comcast for failing to [...]

  • Bon Iver Justin Vernon Grammys

    Bon Iver, Tanya Tucker, Thom Yorke Lead Indie Labels to 44% of Grammy Nominations

    Ever since Arcade Fire’s “The Suburbs” won Album of the Year at the 2011 Grammy Awards, independent labels have seen their star rise on “Music’s Biggest Night,” and that looks set to continue at the 2020 ceremony, where Bon Iver, Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, Yola, Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard, Elvis Costello and others have gotten big [...]

  • US Capitol

    Congress Introduces AM-FM Act to Revise Copyright Law for Terrestrial Radio

    Senator Marsha Blackburn and Rep. Jerrold Nadler today introduced the Ask Musicians for Music Act (AM-FM), which aims to revise existing copyright law for radio stations and musicians. Under the current copyright system, radio stations can use sound recordings over their airwaves without paying royalties to creators who own a stake in the sound recordings. [...]

  • Harriet Tubman Cynthia Erivo

    AMC Theatres Fires Three Employees Over Racial Profiling Incident During 'Harriet' Screening

    AMC Theatres has fired three employees in one of its Louisiana multiplexes after an incident during a screening of “Harriet.” An African American women’s group called the 504 Queens allege that 15 members were racially profiled while watching “Harriet” at AMC’s Clearview Palace 12 in Metairie on Nov. 7. A letter sent from the organization’s [...]

  • Byron Allen

    Byron Allen's Discrimination Suit Against Comcast Should Be Allowed to Move Forward

    More than anything, the Supreme Court justices seemed bemused. Comcast executives and entrepreneur Byron Allen came to the nation’s high court on Nov. 13 to duke it out over the racial discrimination case that Allen’s Entertainment Studios has pursued since 2015.  But the question put before the court was a narrow issue of legal precedent [...]

  • Christine Baranksi Karey Burke Coutney Kemp

    Christine Baranski, Karey Burke and Courtney Kemp Set for Brandon Tartikoff Awards

    Christine Baranski, “Power” creator and showrunner Courtney Kemp and ABC Entertainment chief Karey Burke are among the five recipients set for the 2020 Brandon Tartikoff Awards, to be handed out in January as part of the annual NATPE conference in Miami. Jeff Zucker, chairman of news and sports for WarnerMedia and president of CNN Worldwide, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content