You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

TV Roundup: ‘Ozark’ Season 2 Release Date, Anita Baker Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

In today’s TV roundup, “Ozark” Season 2 gets a release date, LL Cool J premieres the “Story of Cool” docuseries and Anita Baker is set to win the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 BET Awards.


Health-entertainment cable network Z Living announced it has acquired daytime talk show “The Doctors” and will air 150 episodes from recent seasons of the Emmy award-winning series across its programming schedule. “The Doctors” — which offers timely, topical and practical health, wellness and lifestyle information — will kick off on Z Living with a July 4 marathon running from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m., with additional episodes daily.


Netflix announced Season 2 of their original family money laundering drama Ozark” will stream Aug. 31. The show follows Marty Byrde (Jason Bateman) and his family as they navigate the murky waters of life within a dangerous drug cartel. Check out a first look of Season 2 here:

MSNBC and executive producer LL Cool J announced the premiere for its upcoming three-part docuseries, “Story of Cool.” The first hour-long episode airs on Sunday, July 1 at 9 p.m. on the cabler. The series focuses on people, places and things that Americans have considered “cool” throughout history.


SeriesFest organizers unveiled new additions to its previously announced lineup, Variety learned exclusively. CBS’ “Salvation” and Sony Crackle’s “SuperMansion: Summer Vacation Special” are on the docket, as are Jocko Sims and Janet Montgomery from NBC’s “New Amsterdam.” Also new to the line-up is “Morning Coffee with Television’s Game Changers,” featuring Ben Silverman, CEO of Propagate Media and Mike Fries, CEO of Liberty Global leading a conversation about the evolving national and international television marketplace. The festival takes place in Denver from June 22-27.


BET Networks announced R&B music legend, and Grammy-winning singer/songwriter, Anita Baker will be honored with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 BET Awards on June 24. BET also announced it will recognize six individuals for its annual Humanitarian Award, given to those “who have done extraordinary things in some of the most disheartening of situations.” These include James Shaw Jr. (disarmed Waffle House shooter), Naomi Wadler (11-year-old speaker at March For Our Lives), Mamoudou Gassama (climbed outside of building to save dangling 4 year old), Justin Blackmon (only student to walk out of his high school on National Student Walk-Out Day), Shaun King (journalist covering untold stories in the black community) and Anthony Borges (Parkland victim who threw himself in line of fire and shot 5 times).

More TV

  • Syfy Cancels 'Nightflyers' After One Season

    Syfy Cancels 'Nightflyers' After One Season

    The George R.R. Martin drama “Nightflyers” has been canceled by Syfy after only one season. Based on the novella from the mastermind behind “Game of Thrones,” the show was seen as a big gamble for the NBCUniversal-owned cable network, as it represented the most expensive series it had ever developed. The network attempted to spark [...]

  • Batwoman Arrow

    The CW's 'Batwoman' Pilot Switches Directors, Adds Dougray Scott

    The CW has added veteran Scottish actor Dougray Scott to its “Batwoman” pilot as well as swapped in Marcos Siega for previous director David Nutter, Variety has learned. The pilot, which stars Ruby Rose as the eponymous caped heroine, is being helmed by DC TV head Greg Berlanti, and was penned by “Vampire Diaries” alum [...]

  • OG Review

    Review: 'O.G.' on HBO

    Jeffrey Wright, the most compelling reason to watch HBO’s new film “O.G.,” is among television’s best actors at switching between codes or manners of being. On “Westworld,” his timeline-toggling android swaps personae so delicately that his performance gains in resonance when recalled in retrospect. (Perhaps that’s why Wright has been so oddly underrated through the [...]

  • Nahnatchka Khan Writers Room

    Nahnatchka Khan Exits 20th Century Fox TV for Overall Deal at Universal

    Nahnatchka Khan has signed a four-year overall deal at Universal Television. The deal brings an end to the decade-plus Khan and her Fierce Baby Productions banner spent at 20th Century Fox Television. The move will see Khan exit from her role as showrunner on ABC comedy “Fresh Off the Boat,” which she also created. The [...]

  • David Ajala

    'Nightflyers' Star David Ajala Joins CBS Drama Pilot 'Under the Bridge'

    David Ajala has been cast in a lead role in the CBS drama pilot “Under the Bridge,” Variety has learned. In the project, when a scandal rocks the medical practice she runs with her husband and their friends, a surgeon rises to the occasion and takes the lead in trying to mend both the practice and [...]

  • A Man Walks Into the Cnn

    CNN Puts Former Sessions Aide in Newsroom Role

    Sarah Isgur Flores, a press aide to former US Attorney General Jeff Sessions, has been hired to help coordinate political coverage for CNN, a move that generated some pushback on social media Tuesday. Politico previously reported the CNN hire. Flores in the past has criticized CNN coverage, even going so far as to refer to [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content