×
You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Dramacorp-Pampas, CMore/TV4, Beta Team on ‘Hamilton’ Series with Jakob Oftebro (EXCLUSIVE)

Newly-formed joint venture Dramacorp-Pampas Studios is set to produce an international spy thriller series based on Swedish author Jan Guillou’s “Hamilton” books – considered Scandinavia’s most successful literary property of all time.

Rising Norwegian star Jakob Oftebro, whose credits include Oscar-nominated epic “Kon-Tiki,” “1864,” and the hit series “Below the Surface,” will star as Swedish intelligence officer Carl Hamilton, who was trained by the U.S. Navy Seals to become part of an illegal black ops cell within the Swedish military.

Guillou wrote the 12 “Hamilton” novels after being imprisoned for espionage because he had exposed a similar illegal spy organization within the Swedish military.

Beta Film has acquired international sales to “Hamilton,” which will be directed by Denmark’s Kasper Barfoed (“Below The Surface”). Petter S. Rosenlund, head writer of NRK’s award-winning thriller “The Heavy Water War” (“Saboteurs”) is lead-writing the series. Swedish broadcaster TV4 and its SVOD service CMore have commissioned the first two seasons of the show.

“We have had our eyes on Jakob for a long time, and finally we found the right project for him! He is one of Scandinavia’s most talented actors and perfect for the part as he will give us the young Hamilton,” said Josefine Tengblad, head of drama at CMore and TV4. “With the reboot of Hamilton and its international setting, we have the potential of taking a well-renowned and loved Scandinavian brand to a new level.”

Tengblad pointed out the “Hamilton” books were a “huge brand, ranking as the most popular spy thrillers in Nordic history with more than 10 million copies sold across the region.” “We envision ‘Hamilton’ as an espionage thriller like ‘The Night Manager’ in the way that it reflects what’s going on in the world,” said the exec. The series also underscores CMore and TV4’s ambition to ramp up significantly its slate of original drama series and its ambition to work with international partners on higher-budgeted, premium content.

“Hamilton” will start filming in the second quarter of 2018 in Sweden and other European locations. The series will premiere exclusively on Swedish streaming service CMore next year, with a later linear airing on TV4 and ZDF in Germany.

“Hamilton” is produced by Stockholm-based Dramacorp-Pampas Studios, a joint venture between veteran TV executive Rolf Sohlman’s IP-rights company IRLC, and Dramacorp, which was launched in April 2016 by Patrick Nebout, producer of the SVT-Canal Plus thriller “Midnight Sun,” and Beta Films’ Jan Mojto.

“‘Hamilton’ will not be a classic Scandinavian crime series; it will be the first true international spy thriller series coming out of Scandinavia, in the vein of ‘Three Days of the Condor’ or ‘All the President’s Men,'” said Nebout.

The producer said the series reboot will be a “high-concept, character-driven drama opening in Sweden and taking place across different countries, notably in Russia and Israel.”

Jens Alex, CEO of IRLC, said the series will mark the first adaptation of “Hamilton” into a long-form serialized format. “We are already planning for further seasons and we’re thrilled to have Patrick Nebout, with his strong track-record of international high-end projects drive this massive spy-thriller property,” said Alex.

Over the last 25 years, the Hamilton books have been adapted into two films, in 1989 and 1992, which toplined Stellan Skarsgård (“Nymphomaniac”).

More TV

  • WGA Agents Contract Tug of War

    Showrunners, Screenwriters Back WGA in Agency Battle, Sides to Meet Again Tuesday

    More than 750 showrunners and screenwriters have backed the WGA’s battle against talent agencies taking packaging fees and other changes to the rules governing the business relationship between agents and writers. The letter of support issued Saturday is significant because of the immense clout showrunners and prominent screenwriters possess in Hollywood. Several showrunners had recently [...]

  • Norman Reedus and Ryan Hurst'The Walking

    Norman Reedus on 'The Walking Dead' Without Andrew Lincoln: 'He's With Me Every Day'

    After saying goodbye to most of the original cast on “The Walking Dead,” Norman Reedus still feels his former co-stars with him during each episode. “I’ve seen so many people come and go,” he said during a “Walking Dead” panel on Friday at PaleyFest. “Right now on the show, the ghosts of all those guys [...]

  • Series Mania: De Mensen, Reel One

    Series Mania: First Details on Co-Pro Pitching Project 'Capturing Big Mouth' (EXCLUSIVE)

    LILLE, France — Belgian production company De Mensen, which has just been acquired by France’s Newen, has teamed with Reel One Entertainment on a new cross-continental thriller series, “Capturing Big Mouth. The series will be pitched Monday at this year’s Series Mania Forum Co-pro Pitching section. It chronicles the unlikely rise and eventual fall of [...]

  • Daily Show Viacom

    Viacom, DirecTV Make Progress in Contract Talks, No Blackout After Deadline Passes

    UPDATED: Viacom and DirecTV executives went down to the wire Friday on a combative contract renewal negotiation with high stakes for both sides. The companies stayed in talks past the midnight Eastern contract expiration and the channels stayed up on AT&T’s platforms. Sources indicated early Saturday that the threat of a blackout had been averted. [...]

  • ABBY'S -- "Pilot" Episode 101 --

    TV Review: 'Abby's' Starring Natalie Morales

    “Abby’s,” NBC’s new comedy about a cranky bartender (Natalie Morales) and her inner circle of regulars, is aware of the inevitable “Cheers” comparisons. Created by “New Girl” writer Josh Malmuth and executive produced by uber-producer (and unabashed “Cheers” superfan) Mike Schur, “Abby’s” therefore makes a few key choices in order to differentiate itself as its [...]

  • Ryan Murphy Walk of Fame

    TV News Roundup: Netflix Sets Premiere Date for Ryan Murphy's 'The Politician'

    In today’s roundup, Netflix announces the premiere date for Ryan Murphy’s “The Politician” series, and Kristin Cavallari will host “Paradise Hotel” on Fox.  DATES Reality star Kristin Cavallari will host Fox’s reboot of “Paradise Hotel,” an unscripted dating show in which a group of singles will check into a tropical resort and compete to check [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content