×
You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Dramacorp-Pampas, CMore/TV4, Beta Team on ‘Hamilton’ Series with Jakob Oftebro (EXCLUSIVE)

Newly-formed joint venture Dramacorp-Pampas Studios is set to produce an international spy thriller series based on Swedish author Jan Guillou’s “Hamilton” books – considered Scandinavia’s most successful literary property of all time.

Rising Norwegian star Jakob Oftebro, whose credits include Oscar-nominated epic “Kon-Tiki,” “1864,” and the hit series “Below the Surface,” will star as Swedish intelligence officer Carl Hamilton, who was trained by the U.S. Navy Seals to become part of an illegal black ops cell within the Swedish military.

Guillou wrote the 12 “Hamilton” novels after being imprisoned for espionage because he had exposed a similar illegal spy organization within the Swedish military.

Beta Film has acquired international sales to “Hamilton,” which will be directed by Denmark’s Kasper Barfoed (“Below The Surface”). Petter S. Rosenlund, head writer of NRK’s award-winning thriller “The Heavy Water War” (“Saboteurs”) is lead-writing the series. Swedish broadcaster TV4 and its SVOD service CMore have commissioned the first two seasons of the show.

“We have had our eyes on Jakob for a long time, and finally we found the right project for him! He is one of Scandinavia’s most talented actors and perfect for the part as he will give us the young Hamilton,” said Josefine Tengblad, head of drama at CMore and TV4. “With the reboot of Hamilton and its international setting, we have the potential of taking a well-renowned and loved Scandinavian brand to a new level.”

Tengblad pointed out the “Hamilton” books were a “huge brand, ranking as the most popular spy thrillers in Nordic history with more than 10 million copies sold across the region.” “We envision ‘Hamilton’ as an espionage thriller like ‘The Night Manager’ in the way that it reflects what’s going on in the world,” said the exec. The series also underscores CMore and TV4’s ambition to ramp up significantly its slate of original drama series and its ambition to work with international partners on higher-budgeted, premium content.

“Hamilton” will start filming in the second quarter of 2018 in Sweden and other European locations. The series will premiere exclusively on Swedish streaming service CMore next year, with a later linear airing on TV4 and ZDF in Germany.

“Hamilton” is produced by Stockholm-based Dramacorp-Pampas Studios, a joint venture between veteran TV executive Rolf Sohlman’s IP-rights company IRLC, and Dramacorp, which was launched in April 2016 by Patrick Nebout, producer of the SVT-Canal Plus thriller “Midnight Sun,” and Beta Films’ Jan Mojto.

“‘Hamilton’ will not be a classic Scandinavian crime series; it will be the first true international spy thriller series coming out of Scandinavia, in the vein of ‘Three Days of the Condor’ or ‘All the President’s Men,'” said Nebout.

The producer said the series reboot will be a “high-concept, character-driven drama opening in Sweden and taking place across different countries, notably in Russia and Israel.”

Jens Alex, CEO of IRLC, said the series will mark the first adaptation of “Hamilton” into a long-form serialized format. “We are already planning for further seasons and we’re thrilled to have Patrick Nebout, with his strong track-record of international high-end projects drive this massive spy-thriller property,” said Alex.

Over the last 25 years, the Hamilton books have been adapted into two films, in 1989 and 1992, which toplined Stellan Skarsgård (“Nymphomaniac”).

More TV

  • Michael Strahan

    Michael Strahan, Endemol Shine North America to Develop U.S. Version of 'Money Drop'

    Endemol Shine North America is teaming up with Michael Strahan’s SMAC Entertainment to develop a U.S. version of the game show “The Money Drop.” Originally launched in 2010 as “The Million Pound Drop Live” by Endemol UK’s Remarkable Television for Channel 4, the format has now been produced locally by Endemol Shine Group in 54 [...]

  • BBC Buys Australian Psychological Thriller Series

    BBC Buys Australian Psychological Thriller Series ‘Safe Harbour'

    The BBC has bolstered its international drama lineup, acquiring Australian limited series “Safe Harbour,” and inking deals for new seasons of shows from Canada, France, and Iceland. The shows will all run on the U.K. pubcaster’s BBC Four channel. “Safe Harbour” is a psychological thriller that played on pubcaster SBS in Australia. It follows a [...]

  • It's Time For Another 'Punisher' Video

    It's Time For Another 'Punisher' Video Game

    Last year saw the release of the most recent iteration of a Spidey game, “Marvel’s Spider-Man,” developed by Insomniac Games. “Marvel’s Spider-Man” smashed all kinds of records. It dethroned “God of War” as the fastest-selling Sony-exclusive of all time and it achieved launch month sales 37% higher than the launch month sales of every previous [...]

  • Endeavor Content Taps Tim Robinson as

    Endeavor Content Taps Tim Robinson as Chief Operating Officer

    Endeavor Content has named Tim Robinson as its chief operating officer, a newly created role. As COO, he will helm Endeavor Content’s overall operations, including business affairs, finance, human resources and corporate development. He will also play a “key role” in the acceleration of the its growth strategy both at home and abroad, according to [...]

  • Göteborg TV Drama Vision Expects 60

    TV Drama Vision Set to Take Pulse of Nordic Commissioners’ Wish List

    More than 360 international delegates are expected at Göteborg’s 13th Nordic TV Drama Vision (Jan. 30-31) described by head of industry Cia Edström as a ‘boutique event’, where top Nordic and international drama professionals gather each year to gauge the state of the Nordic market and hot content. For the first time, to comply with the [...]

  • Fate of 'Simpsons' Up in Air

    What Will Happen to 'The Simpsons’ as Disney Takes Over Fox?

    When “The Simpsons” ends its 30th and current season this spring, it will have racked up 663 original episodes — having a season ago passed “Gunsmoke” (635) as the longest-running scripted program in television history. But with the Walt Disney Co.’s acquisition of 21st Century Fox pending, one of TV’s least likely institutions could prove more [...]

  • Bret Baier

    Fox News Anchor Bret Baier in Montana Car Crash

    Fox News Channel anchor Bret Baier and his family are safe after being involved in what the news host described as a major car accident while traveling to an airport after taking a ski trip to Montana. “After a weekend of skiing with my wife and two boys in Montana, driving to the airport Monday morning on [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content