You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Mignon Clyburn Stepping Down as FCC Commissioner

UPDATED WASHINGTON — Mignon Clyburn announced that she is stepping down from her spot on the FCC after serving on the commission since 2009.

Clyburn, who was the first woman to lead the FCC when she served as acting chairwoman in 2013, leaves an opening on the five-member commission that is expected to be filled by another Democrat.

“It’s been the most incredible opportunity for me,” Clyburn said at Tuesday’s commission meeting, in which she thanked those she has worked with. “In my wildest dreams, if I could have crafted my destiny, I never would have dreamed of this.”

Clyburn, nominated by President Barack Obama, was a key advocate for the FCC’s net neutrality rules, passed in 2015, and opponent of the rollback of those regulations when Republicans gained a majority on the commission. In advance of the repeal, she traveled to a number of cities, including Los Angeles, where she appeared at an event on Skid Row to make the case for why net neutrality was important to residents daily lives.

She also has been strident in her opposition to recent efforts to relax media ownership rules, and of retaining rules she says boost localism and opportunities for women and minorities.

FCC Chairman Ajit Pai praised Clyburn for her concerns for the public interest and someone who has had a willingness to find a common ground.

Pai told reports that he hoped that the commission, now with four members, would be “inclined to want to find consensus and practical solutions for the American people.”

Gigi Sohn, counselor to FCC chairman Tom Wheeler, said that Clyburn will “go down in history as one of the best FCC Commissioners of all time.”

“She has travelled the country, listening to ordinary Americans and using their stories to help shape policies that ensure universal access to affordable and open communications networks,” Sohn said. She is a fellow at Georgetown Law Institute for Technology Law & Policy and a Mozilla fellow.

Clyburn’s term expired last June, but she had the option of remaining on the commission until the end of this year or until a successor was confirmed by the Senate. The commission will include three Republicans and one Democrat.

Popular on Variety

More Politics

  • Michael Bloomberg Democratic National Convention

    Michael Bloomberg Considers Presidential Run as Democrat

    Former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg is considering whether to jump into the Democratic primary, as he grows concerned that no one in the current field can beat President Trump. Bloomberg, worth an estimated $52 billion, previously ruled out a run, saying it would be difficult to succeed in a crowded Democratic field. But his [...]

  • President Donald Trump speaks in the

    Donald Trump Ordered to Pay $2 Million for Misuse of Charitable Funds

    A New York judge has ordered President Trump to pay $2 million to resolve allegations that he misused charitable funds for campaign purposes. The New York attorney general’s office sued Trump and three of his children in June 2018, alleging they had solicited tax-deductible donations for a veterans fundraiser in Des Moines in January 2016. [...]

  • Haim Saban

    Haim Saban Hosts Fundraiser for Speaker Nancy Pelosi Amid Impeachment Probe

    Speaker Nancy Pelosi will attend a fundraiser Tuesday night at the Beverly Hills home of billionaire Haim Saban and his wife Cheryl, as the Democrats seek funds to retain their House majority in 2020. Pelosi and House Democratic Caucus Chair Hakeem Jeffries will both be in attendance to raise money for the Democratic Congressional Campaign [...]

  • Democratic presidential candidate Sen. Kamala Harris

    Kamala Harris to Hold 'Fireside Chat' Fundraiser at UCB Theatre

    Kamala Harris will hold another Hollywood fundraiser next week, as she looks to regain momentum with less than 100 days to go before the Iowa caucus. Harris will appear on stage on Nov. 13 at the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre in Hollywood. The event is billed as a “fireside chat” with Matt Walsh, the “Veep” [...]

  • Tyler Perry Studios

    Tyler Perry Studios to Host Next Democratic Debate

    The fifth Democratic presidential debate will be held at Tyler Perry Studios, the sprawling 330-acre complex built on the site of a former Army base in Atlanta, MSNBC announced on Monday. MSNBC and the Washington Post will host the debate, which will begin on Nov. 20 at 9 p.m. ET. Four women will moderate: MSNBC [...]

  • Hillary Clinton

    Hillary Clinton Says Mark Zuckerberg 'Should Pay a Price' for Facebook Fake Ads

    Democracy is under attack and data is the weapon being used to drive wedges in our polarized society. That was the message that Hillary Clinton delivered at a New York City screening of the Netflix documentary “The Great Hack” on Friday night. The former secretary of state argued that tech giants such as Facebook need [...]

  • Democratic presidential hopeful Beto O'Rourke speaks

    Beto O'Rourke Drops Out of Presidential Race

    Beto O’Rourke, the former congressman from El Paso, Texas, announced on Friday that he’s withdrawing from the presidential race. O’Rourke captivated party regulars only a year ago, coming within a few points of unseating Texas Sen. Ted Cruz in the midterm election. That campaign was fueled by massive contributions from small-dollar donors. That strategy initially [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content