Album Review: Yo La Tengo’s ‘There’s a Riot Going On’

It’s hard to think of another artist quite like Yo La Tengo, who have been tending their own garden with a low-key determination for 33-odd years, a part of but also apart from the constantly morphing musical landscape around them. Formed by singer/guitarist/recovering music critic Ira Kaplan and drummer/singer Georgia Hubley in a loosely Velvet Underground format in 1984, the group has weathered every alt-rock trend since then: Making their debut in 1985 — with a song on Coyote Records’ Hoboken-themed “Luxury Condos Coming to Your Neighborhood Soon” compilation, if memory serves — the group rose through the burgeoning Ameri-indie scene of the ‘80s, had some alt-rock radio hits and were distributed by major labels during the alt-rock explosion of the ‘90s, then took on more experimental elements with 2000’s “And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside Out” and have continued to evolve from that model in the years since. Along the way they’ve collaborated with dozens of other musicians — ranging from the Kinks’ Ray Davies to Texas savant Daniel Johnston — and undertaken multiple auxiliary projects, the longest-running of which is their beloved, semi-annual week of covers-and-guest-appearance-heavy Hannukah concerts. Through it all, they’ve remained both open and impervious to outside influences, evolving but always sounding distinctly and resolutely like themselves. You could almost do a mock-time-lapse video of the past 30 years of alternative music with Ira, Georgia and bassist James McNew — the new guy, who’s only been with the group for 26 years — in the center, slowly taking on new elements as the scenery around them warps dramatically.

All of which makes it no surprise that the group’s 15th full album and first in five years, “There’s a Riot Going On,” is one of their most challenging to date. In deliberate contrast to its title — a nod to both Sly and the Family Stone’s galvanizing 1971 album of the same name as well as the explosive social climate in which both that album and this one were spawned — the music is very, very chill, almost ambient at times, with wafting textures, gentle percussion and hushed vocals on nearly all of the tracks; a special concert in Brooklyn premiering the album last month found the three members behind keyboards or playing percussion for much of the set. Even though Yo La Tengo can get plenty loud when they want to — Kaplan can wreak gloriously ear-splitting feedback from his guitar, but only does so for a brief, muted moment on this album — it’s as if the group were taking today’s explosive social environment and internalizing a calm, almost meditative reaction/response to it. There’s some pep early in the tracklist — particularly on the percolating “She May, She Might” and the atmospheric power-pop of “For You Too,” a new classic in the group’s voluminous catalog — but the overall vibe is dreamy hush, murmurs and whispers, with occasional interludes like the brief and slightly goofy instrumental “Esportes Casual,” which could be the soundtrack for a 1960s lifestyle commercial.

“There’s a Riot Going On” probably won’t jump-start any riots and reveals its beauty gradually, but it’s a welcome addition to the group’s vast oeuvre that finds them evolving into yet another new shape. Hopefully we won’t have to wait another five years for the next.

Album Review: Yo La Tengo's 'There's a Riot Going On'

More Music

  • Whoopi Goldberg addresses the crowd while

    Inside World Pride's Opening Ceremony: An LGBTQ Celebration With a Tinge of Politics

    World Pride officially kicked off on Wednesday night at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn. About 8,000 people packed into the arena for a three-hour show that began with Cyndi Lauper singing her hit “True Colors.” The performance ended with a gaggle of dancing drag queens who pranced alongside Lauper as she turned the train of [...]

  • Greyson Chance -Gabby Barrett Alejandro Aranda

    Greyson Chance, 'Idol' Alums Gabby Barrett and Alejandro Aranda Sign Major Label Deals

    Two “American Idol” alumni — Gabby Barrett and Alejandro Aranda — as well as viral star Greyson Chance all announced new major label recording contracts this week. Barrett, who finished in third place of the first season of the rebooted ABC version of “Idol,” has joined the roster of Warner Music Nashville. The singer had [...]

  • BTS World

    BTS World Mobile Game From K-Pop Group Rockets to No. 1 Spot on App Charts Worldwide

    BTS, the biggest K-pop group in the world, now has the biggest app in the world. “BTS World,” a mobile simulation game that lets fans virtually become the South Korean pop stars’ manager, quickly rose to the top of Apple’s App Store charts in multiple countries just hours after its release on Wednesday, June 26. [...]

  • Disney Pandora World Of Avatar, Lake

    The Piano Guys Play 'Avatar' Theme in Disney World (Watch)

    The YouTube sensation The Piano Guys have taken a trip to the world of Pandora for a performance of the theme to “Avatar.” Shot in the bioluminescent floating forest in Disney World, cellist Steven Sharp Nelson and pianist Jon Schmidt put their spin on the score to James Cameron’s 2009 blockbuster. The video immerses the [...]

  • usa, california, palm springs, windmills san

    Agua Caliente, Oak View Group Partner to Build New Arena in Palm Springs

    A new sports and entertainment arena is coming to downtown Palm Springs. Today it was announced that the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians and Oak View Group (OVG) will partner to build a new state-of-the-art sports and live entertainment venue. Live Nation Entertainment also boards as a strategic partner. The venue’s capacity will seat at [...]

  • MadonnaThe Costume Institute Benefit celebrating the

    Madonna Revives Nightmarish Imagery of Orlando Nightclub Massacre in New Music Video

    Any thoughts that Madonna’s provocative streak might be taking a time-out in 2019 were put to a halt with her release Wednesday of a new music video for her song “God Control,” which portrays a bloody massacre in a nightclub and is peppered with slogans advocating for gun control. Filmed by director Jonas Åkerlund largely in [...]

  • Miley Cyrus

    Miley Cyrus Teases 'Charlie's Angels' Collaboration with Ariana Grande and Lana Del Rey

    Three of the biggest female pop stars have joined forces in a new song for the Elizabeth Banks-directed reboot of “Charlie’s Angels.” In a tweet posted Wednesday, Miley Cyrus hinted at a collaboration between herself, Lana Del Rey, and Ariana Grande in the forthcoming film. Alongside a 14-second teaser, originally posted by Sony Pictures, the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content