Florence + the Machine, Arctic Monkeys, Lily Allen Top 2018 Mercury Prize Shortlist

The Mercury Prize, one of the U.K.’s most prestigious music honors, has named its 2018 shortlist of nominees.

The list is topped by four-time nominee (and 2006 winner) Arctic Monkeys, whose sixth album, “Tranquility Base Hotel and Casino,” marks an abrupt stylistic shift for the Sheffield band, now tied for second-most nominations received with PJ Harvey after Radiohead with five. Other shortlist nominees include Florence + the Machine’s “High as Hope,” Lily Allen’s “No Shame” and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ “Who Built the Moon?”

The winner will be announced at a Sept. 20 ceremony at London’s Eventim Apollo on September 20. Last year’s winner was Samphus’ “Process.”

First time nominees include experimental band King Krule (“The Ooze”, political post-punk Nadine Shah (“Holiday Destination”), grime act Novelist (“Novelist Guy”) and R&B tout Jorja Smith (“Lost and Found”). XL Recordings chief Richard Russell’s all-star “Everything Is Recorded” album, which features last year’s winner Sampha and Gorillaz’ Damon Albairn, previously nominated with Blur and as a solo act, also got a nod.

The shortlist nominees are rounded out by Manchester indie rockers Everything Everything (“A Fever Dream”, veteran British alternative band Wolf Alice (“Visions of a Life”) and London-based Afro-Caribbean jazz outfit Sons of Kemet (“Your Queen is a Reptile”).

The award was established in 1992 by the British Phonographic Industry and the British Association of Record Dealers as an alternative to the Brit Awards. The Mercury Prize is given to the best album released in the U.K. by a British or Irish act. Judges include various critics, radio personalities and musicians, including Jamie Cullum, DJ Mista Jam, Marcus Mumford and Jesse Ware.

For the complete list, go to www.musicprize.com.

More Music

  • Cardi B

    Cardi B Slams Trump Administration for Government Shutdown

    Cardi B took to Instagram Wednesday night to call out the U.S. government for the shutdown that began Dec. 22. While the Bronx-bred rapper has mostly shied away from politics, she didn’t hold back in the minute-long clip. “Trump is now ordering federal workers to go back to work without getting paid,” said Cardi, who went [...]

  • caroline diaz

    Interscope Records Appoints Caroline 'Baroline' Diaz Senior Director of A&R

    Caroline “Baroline” Diaz has joined Interscope Records as Senior Director of A&R. She arrives from Columbia Records and will report to Interscope Geffen A&M EVP of Urban Operations, Nicole Wyskoarko. Prior to Columbia, Diaz held a promotion position at Def Jam Recordings, where she worked national campaigns for such label artists as 2 Chainz and YG. Said [...]

  • woodstock 2019 fantasy lineup

    Fantasy Woodstock: A Part Reality, Part Dream Lineup for the 50th Anniversary Fest

    Following the announcement of Woodstock 50, which will be held on Aug. 16-18 in Watkins Glen, New York, fans immediately began coming up with their dream lineups for the 50th anniversary of the world’s most famous music festival. Michael Lang, the creator and producer of the original fest and its two follow-ups in 1994 and [...]

  • Michele Nadelman

    Warner Bros. Records Names Michele Nadelman CFO

    Michele Nadelman has joined Warner Bros. Records as Chief Financial Officer. She arrives following a 12-year run at Concord Music, where she also held the CFO title (of Recorded Music) as well as SVP of Finance for Concord Music Corporate, and will be based out of WBR’s Los Angeles offices and report to co-chairman and COO [...]

  • 'Fyre Fraud' and 'Fyre' Reviews: Behind

    TV Review: 'Fyre Fraud' and 'Fyre'

    It seems in retrospect unavoidable that the week of release for a highly-anticipated documentary about a scammer began with an attention-grabbing stunt. On Monday, in advance of the planned Friday drop of Netflix’s “Fyre,” Hulu executed a surprise release of its own “Fyre Fraud”; both films assay the failed 2017 gathering Fyre Festival, a would-be [...]

  • R Kelly protest

    Protesters Rally Outside Sony Music Headquarters, Demand the Company Drop R. Kelly

    Standing in the cold with megaphones outside of Sony Music’s New York headquarters, a group of activists delivered the company, parent of Kelly’s longtime label RCA, a petition signed by over 217,000 people demanding that the singer be dropped from the label. The rally comes less than a week after a plane carrying a banner [...]

  • major r&b grammy fox star recurring

    R&B Artist MAJOR. Lands Recurring Role on Fox's 'Star' (EXCLUSIVE)

    R&B artist MAJOR. is on “cloud three million” right now. His track “Honest” scored a 2019 Grammy nomination for best traditional R&B performance, and, as he tells Variety exclusively, he recently landed a recurring role on Fox’s “Star.” The singer-songwriter, born Major Johnson Finley, is currently shooting the musical drama in Atlanta, and will make his [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content