Childish Gambino Drops Animated Video Featuring Drake, Nicki Minaj, a Crying Kanye West (Watch)

The new clip for "Feels Like Summer" is loaded with recent hip-hop references.

Over Labor Day Weekend — the unofficial end of the summer — Childish Gambino dropped an animated video for his song “Feels Like Summer,” one of two seasonally-themed songs he released back in July. While not as densely packed with signifiers as his powerful and politically loaded “This Is America” clip, the new one is filled with recent hip-hop references, including Nicki Minaj and Travis Scott — who were recently embroiled in a controversy over Billboard No. 1 calculations — playing with blocks, A$AP Rocky and Solange playing tug of war with The Weeknd, Future stealing Drake’s bicycle, and most notably, Kanye West crying in a “Make America Great Again” hat while Michelle Obama hugs him. All of this and much more — look out for Beyoncé, Jay-Z, Chance the Rapper, 21 Savage, Oprah, Will Smith, Lil Uzi Vert and even late artists like XXXTentacion, Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston — takes place while a cartoon Gambino strolls through a traditional summertime scenes.

The clip was co-directed by Gambino— a.k.a. singer/actor/rapper Donald Glover — Ivan Dixon and Greg Sharp, and illustrated by Justin Richburg.

Glover, who launches a five-week nationwide tour with Vince Staples and Rae Sremmurd on Thursday, has dropped four new songs since announcing his new deal with RCA Records back in January: He released another summer-themed song called “Summertime Magic” at the same time as “Feels Like Summer,” and on “Saturday Night Live” in May, he debuted a new song called “Saturday” along with “This Is America.”

“Summertime Magic” was billed as “the first official single from Gambino’s forthcoming debut album.” While no release date has been announced, it seems likely that the album, which will be released through RCA on the Wolf + Rothstein label, could drop at any time in the coming weeks.

Glover has said that he plans to retire the Childish Gambino name after this album.


More Music

  • Highwomen Drop First Video, With a

    Highwomen Supergroup Drops First Video, With a Slew of Female Country Star Cameos

    The country supergroup the Highwomen have dropped their first video, for the just-released debut single, “Redesigning Women,” and it’s even more of a cluster of exclusively female country stars than the core quartet itself. Joining members Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Natalie Hemby and Amanda Shires are such familiar figures as Wynonna Judd, Lauren Alaina, Cam, [...]

  • ASAP RockyGucci Cruise 2020 show, Arrivals,

    A$AP Rocky to Remain in Swedish Jail for Another Week

    Despite the diplomatic efforts of Kanye West and Kim Kardashian, the Trump Administration’s efforts to procure A$AP Rocky’s release from a Swedish jail have been as effective as the rest of its foreign policy: The rapper and two associates will be held for another week in pretrial detention to allow police to finish investigating a [...]

  • Dave NavarroGuitar Legends For Heroes Benefit,

    Primary Wave Music Publishing Acquires Stake in Dave Navarro's Catalog

    Primary Wave Music Publishing has acquired an interest in Dave Navarro’s music publishing catalog, master revenue streams, and writer’s share royalties, the company announced today. Navarro is credited as a songwriter on such hit songs as Jane’s Addiction “Been Caught Stealing” and “Jane Says” as well as the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ “Aeroplane.” Said the [...]

  • This photo shows composer Hans Zimmer

    Hans Zimmer on Recreating Iconic Score: 'The Lion King' 'Brought People Together'

    Composer Hans Zimmer is seated at the mixing board at the Sony scoring stage, head bobbing to the music being performed by 107 musicians just a few yards away. He’s wearing a vintage “Lion King World Tour” T-shirt, frayed at the collar. On the giant screen behind the orchestra, two lions are bounding across the [...]

  • Dreamville Dreamers doc

    J. Cole's Watchful Eye, All-Nighters and Weed: Inside Dreamville's 'Revenge' Doc

    Having the No. 1 project in the country is old hat for J. Cole, but the instant success of Dreamville’s highly-anticipated “Revenge of the Dreamers III” collection, which features collaborations with more than 25 artists, writers and producers (among them: Cozz, Omen, Bas, J.I.D., EarthGang and Ari Lennox), took many by surprise. The first installment [...]

  • Kanye Kim Kardashian Selling Bel Air

    Kanye West, Kim Kardashian Lobbied Trump for A$AP Rocky's Release, Source Confirms

    Kanye West and Kim Kardashian lobbied President Trump to help release A$AP Rocky from jail in Sweden, a source close to the situation confirms to Variety. The news was first reported by TMZ. A$AP Rocky (real name: Rakim Myers) has been behind bars in the country since July 2 after being involved in an altercation [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content