You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Bon Iver Distances Himself from Eminem Collaboration: ‘We’re Gonna Kill This Track’

Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon is not happy with the final version of his collaboration with Eminem.

Vernon tweeted his dissatisfaction with “Fall,” the track off Eminem’s “Kamikaze,” just hours after the album hit streaming services by surprise.

“Was not in the studio for the Eminem track…came from a session with BJ Burton and Mike Will,” the folk musician said. “Not a fan of the message; it’s tired.”

In a follow-up tweet, Vernon was quick to recognize the rapper’s legend status, but he also included further criticism about the track’s theme, and claimed that he had asked the producers to change the song previously. “Eminem is one of the best rappers of all time, there is no doubt. I have and will respect that,” he said. “Tho, this is not the time to criticize Youth, it’s the time to listen. To act.”

Later, he tweeted, “I was wrong and we are gonna kill this track.” It’s unclear what he means by this, given that the album is already out. Variety has reached out to both Vernon and Eminem’s camps for clarification.

On “Fall,” Eminem takes shots at several other rappers, including Tyler, the Creator, using a homophobic slur. “Tyler create nothin’, I see why you called yourself a faggot, bitch,” he says about the rapper.

The album addresses several mainstream topics such as President Donald Trump and Vice President Mike Pence, the Grammy Awards, and the press, alongside voicemails with his manager and a track from the upcoming marvel movie “Venom,” starring Tom Hardy and Riz Ahmed. Also included on the album are interpolations from Kendrick Lamar’s “Humble,” Playboi Carti’s “Woke Up Like This,” Young M.A’s “Oouu” and L.L. Cool J’s “I’m Bad.”

In addition to Vernon, the album features Joyner Lucas, Eminem’s manager Paul Rosenberg, Royce Da 5’9,″ and Jessie Reyez. Eminem executive produced the album with Dr. Dre, with additional production credits for Mike Will Made It (“Greatest” and “Fall”), Illadaproducer, Ronny J, Jeremy “Backpack” Miller, Boi-1da & Jahaan Sweet, Tay Keith, Tim Suby, Fred Ball and S1 for S.K.P. Inc.

Kamikaze” is Eminem’s follow up to 2017’s “Revival” and his 10th full length release.

More Music

  • Lady Gaga Vegas Residency

    Lady Gaga Talks Importance of Pronouns, Gay Pride During Rousing Speech

    Lady Gaga was all about pride during her SiriusXM show at Harlem’s Apollo Theater Monday night. In between songs, the “Born This Way” pop star gave a rousing speech about the importance of asking people’s pronouns and the necessity of gay pride. She also referenced transgender activist Marsha P. Johnson who was widely credited with [...]

  • Billy Eichner Power of Pride Variety

    Billy Eichner on Taylor Swift's 'Calm Down' Backlash

    When Taylor Swift released her “You Need to Calm Down” music video, it seemed like every member of the LGBTQ in Hollywood was included — except for Billy Eichner. “I’m still not gay enough for Taylor Swift — or too gay — I don’t know what it is,” Eichner joked at Variety’s Power of Pride [...]

  • Jason Aldean' Today' TV show, New

    Jason Aldean Concert Cancelled Due to Severe Lightning (Watch)

    A Saturday night performance by Jason Aldean at the Country Stampede Festival in Topeka, Kansas was canceled due to a major lightning storm. According to local news, inclement weather troubled the three-day country music gathering. Rainstorms delayed the concert on multiple occasions, until eventually organizers called off Aldean’s headlining June 22 show. Watch video below [...]

  • Ewen Bremner as Alan McGee in

    Danny Boyle-Produced ‘Creation Stories’ Adds Jason Isaacs, Steven Berkoff

    Jason Isaacs, Steven Berkoff and a host of other new names have signed on for “Creation Stories,” the film being exec-produced by Danny Boyle about Creation Records co-founder Alan McGee. The producers also unveiled the first shots of Ewen Bremner (“Trainspotting”) as the music mogul. Production is underway on the Irvine Welsh-penned project, with “Lock, [...]

  • Jussie Smollett

    Video of Jussie Smollett With Rope Around His Neck Released by Chicago Police

    The Chicago Police Department released new surveillance footage and files in regards to the Jussie Smollett hoax case on Monday, including one that shows the “Empire” actor shortly after the alleged attack. In one of the videos, police body-cam footage shows authorities entering Smollett’s Chicago apartment, led by his manager, Frank Gatson. Smollett is found [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content