You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Red Dead Redemption 2’ Soundtrack Features Willie Nelson, D’Angelo

Red Dead Redemption 2” captures the wild west in its soundtrack, which features artists D’Angelo, Willie Nelson, and others, according to publisher Rockstar Games.

The score of the game was composed by Woody Jackson, who worked on the original “Red Dead Redemption” as well as other Rockstar titles, “L.A. Noire” and “Grand Theft Auto V.” The score and soundtrack were made to support the “powerful, emotional journey through the final days of American’s outlaw era” in the game, according to a press release. Additional production and arrangements were provided by Jeff Silverman.

Several award-winning artists gave vocal performances in addition to D’Angelo and Willie Nelson. Nas, Rhiannon Giddens, and Josh Hommes all recorded for the soundtrack.

D’Angelo’s song, “Unshaken,” is the first new material from the artist since his 2014 album “Black Messiah,” according to Consequence of Sound. The vocal performances for “Red Dead Redemption 2” were all produced by the Grammy award-winning Daniel Lanois, who has worked with iconic artists like Bob Dylan and Neil Young.

The vocal performances by these popular artists were all created exclusively for “Red Dead Redemption 2.”

Musical score and orchestration contributors to the score of “Red Dead Redemption 2” include Colin Stetson, David Ferguson, David Ralicke, Gabe Witcher, Luke O’Malley, Mario Batkovic, Matt Sweeney, Rabih Beaini and Senyawa.

Many musicians contributed as well, including Arca, Duane Eddy, Jon Theodore, and Michael Shuman aka Mikey Shoes, among others.

No release date for the soundtrack has been revealed just yet, but Rockstar is asking us to “stay tuned” for more details.

Popular on Variety

More Music

  • Born to Be Live: 'Easy Rider'

    Born to Be Live: 'Easy Rider' Gets a Concert/Screening Premiere at Radio City

    In a year full of major 50th anniversary commemorations — from Woodstock to the moon landing — why not one for “Easy Rider,” Dennis Hopper’s hippie-biker flick that was released on July 14, 1969? That was the idea when a rep for Peter Fonda, who starred in the film as the laid-back Captain America, reached out [...]

  • Rob Thomas Sammy Hagar

    Sammy Hagar Joins Rob Thomas for 'Smooth' Performance (Watch)

    Who do you call when your pal Carlos Santana has plans on a Friday night? If you’re Rob Thomas, you recruit another famous friend, rocker Sammy Hagar, who turned up to help the singer close out the latest show of his Chip Tooth Smile tour with a performance of “Smooth” at the Fox Performing Arts [...]

  • US record producer The-Dream arrives for

    Top Music Publishers Come Together for Songs of Hope Honors

    The 15th annual Songs of Hope honors united songwriters, music industry insiders and more than a few preeminent doctors at producer Alex Da Kid’s Sherman Oaks compound on Thursday night. Jimmy Jam returned to host the event, which served as a fundraiser for the ever-vital City of Hope medical treatment center as well as a [...]

  • Monkees/Badfinger/Nazz Supergroup Takes Beatles' 'White Album'

    Monkees/Badfinger/Nazz Supergroup Gets Back to '68 by Touring Beatles' 'White Album'

    The 50th anniversary re-release of 1969’s “Abbey Road” may be just days away, but that doesn’t mean Beatles fans have been there and done that when it comes to celebrating ’68. Todd Rundgren, the Monkees’ Mickey Dolenz, Badfinger’s Joey Molland and several other name musicians of a certain vintage are teaming up to go out [...]

  • Rob Cowan, Greg Silverman'The Conjuring 2'

    Greg Silverman’s Stampede, School of Rock Team for Unscripted Series (EXCLUSIVE)

    Former president of Warner Bros. Pictures Greg Silverman is partnering with School of Rock through his content creation company Stampede. The collaboration with the music school will create exclusive content, starting with the development of an unscripted series.  School of Rock operates a network of performance-based education franchises that offer students of all ages guidance [...]

  • 'Downton Abbey' Music Gets 'Bigger, Better,

    As 'Downton Abbey' Hits the Silver Screen, the Music, Too, Gets 'Bigger, Better, Grander'

    When “Downton Abbey” fans hear that familiar strings-and-piano theme, a Pavlovian response ensues: Get to the television immediately, because you don’t want to miss a minute of the addictive Crawley family melodrama to follow. This week, with the “Downton Abbey” movie reaching theaters on Friday, fans can’t wait for their fix of Lady Mary and [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content