You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Call of Duty Black Ops 4’s’ Roman Zombie Map Will Also Feature Guns

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” isn’t just doubling down on its popular zombie mode, it’s tripling down.

During last week’s unveiling of “Black Ops 4,” Treyarch developers took to the stage one at a time to detail the three different experiences players will go on in their attack on zombies in the upcoming game. There will be Blood of the Dead, a classic zombies’ mode that drops players back into the storyline of previous “Black Ops” titles; Voyage of Despair, which features a new cast that finds themselves on the Titanic; and there’s a story that takes place in an arena in ancient Rome. The trailer for that Rome experience, simply called IX, shows the new cast of characters taking on an army of the undead, not with firearms, but the swords, axes, and shields.

“Right now the way we’re talking about zombies is very teasery and high level,” Treyarch co-studio head Dan Bunting told Variety.

He was willing to answer one pressing question though: Will the IX map consist entirely of melee weapons?

“There are weapons in that map that aren’t just melee,” he said. “You don’t see that in the teaser. We don’t want to go too much into details. It’s precious.”

He said that the Blood of the Dead map, which brings back the mode’s original characters, is something “fans have been clamoring for, for a long time.”

Bunting said their teams are putting a lot of energy into these new zombie experiences.

“We are going to put every bit of passion and love into every one of those experiences,” he said. “There is no shortage of energy for making zombie levels. There is definitely room for more.”

And, as with the game’s still mostly mysterious Specialist solo levels, Bunting promise that the team will be talking more about the many ways to take on zombies “later.”

More Gaming

  • 'Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night' Has

    'Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night' Has Lots of Post-Launch DLC Planned

    “Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night,” the spiritual successor to Koji Igarashi’s Castlevania series, officially releases on Steam, GOG.com, PS4, and Xbox One on Jun. 18. It comes to Nintendo Switch a week later on Jun. 25. Publisher 505 Games has big plans for the side-scroller after its launch, and shared what downloadable content fans can [...]

  • Someone playing fortnite a computer gameVideo

    World Health Organization Making Final Decision on Gaming Disorder This Weekend

    The World Health Organization (WHO) is making its final decision on whether or not to classify video game addiction as a disorder on Saturday, May 25, a spokesperson told Variety. The 72nd World Health Assembly is currently underway in Geneva, Switzerland. It’s the decision-making body of the WHO, and it’s attended by delegations from member [...]

  • Nominees Announced for 2019 BitSummit Awards

    Nominees Announced for 2019 BitSummit Awards

    The Japan Independent Games Aggregate (JIGA) announced the nominees for the 2019 BitSummit Awards on Friday. BitSummit is an annual festival celebrating independent video games and developers based in Japan. Founded in 2012, it’s become Japan’s premier indie gaming event, drawing thousands of visitors each year. It takes place the weekend of Jun. 1 at [...]

  • League of Legends Esports to Release

    League of Legends Esports to Release Premium Viewing Option

    League of Legends Esports has a new Pro View premium experience which will allow viewers to watch esports matches from the individual pro players’ perspective, the company announced Friday. The Pro View Package will be available for the Summer Split of the League Championship Series (LCS) as well as the League European Championship (LEC). In [...]

  • Microsoft's Project xCloud Rollout Hits 13

    Microsoft's Project xCloud Rollout Hits 13 Regions, Capcom, Paradox Testing

    Microsoft’s take on cloud-gaming — an approach to game development and deployment that theoretically makes games playable on any system without the need for porting — continues its rollout, with the company on Friday detailing work they’re doing with developers Capcom and Paradox Interactive. Project xCloud now has custom server blades at Azue datacenters in [...]

  • 'Sonic the Hedgehog' Pushed Back Due

    'Sonic the Hedgehog' Movie Pushed Back to 2020 Due to Character Design Changes

    Paramount Pictures is pushing its “Sonic the Hedgehog” movie back three months, from Nov. 8 to Valentine’s Day. The delay follows fan criticism over the appearance and design of the titular blue hedgehog — particularly his teeth and lean legs. Director Jeff Fowler tweeted that it was “taking a little more time to make Sonic [...]

  • 'Mortal Kombat 11,' 'League of Legends'

    'Mortal Kombat 11,' 'League of Legends' Dominate Global Digital Games

    The world’s top-earning digital games for last month include “Mortal Kombat 11,” “League of Legends,” and “Fortnite Battle Royale,” according to a report from SuperData released Tuesday. The ranking of top grossing games for the month of April 2019 is split into three groups: PC, console, and mobile. The massively popular “League of Legends,” a [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content