New Details on ‘Call of Duty: Black Ops 4’s’ Zombies Mode

Treyarch officially unveiled the new Zombies mode for its upcoming shooter “Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” during a livestream Thursday, and it includes a trip on the ill-fated Titanic.

Like past Zombies modes, this one features four players surviving against hordes of the undead. It tells a brand new story across three maps: Voyage of Despair, which takes place on the aforementioned cruise ship; IX, which is set in a gladiatorial arena; and Blood of the Dead, a prison-themed map.

One of the key aspects to the Zombies storyline is mystery, a sense you’re entering a world where anything can happen, Treyarch lead writer Craig Houston said during the stream. To that end, the developer is giving players the opportunity to customize their games. Zombie speed, health, and more can all be tweaked via new mutation system.

Treyarch said it plans to introduce post-launch content called Callings, which includes limited-time challenges, seasonal updates, and a few surprises. It’s also adding bot support, so newbies or solo players can experience the Zombies storyline even if they can’t find a group.

Zombies originally appeared as a bonus mode in “Call of Duty: World at War.” It quickly became a fan-favorite, and Treyarch has included it in all of its “CoD” titles since.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” comes out on Oct. 12 on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. It’s also the first “CoD” game to launch on Activision Blizzard’s BattleNet online service.

You can check out trailers for the three Zombies modes below.

More Gaming

  • Spotify logo is presented on a

    U.S. Consumers to Spend $26 Billion on Music, Video Subscriptions This Year

    U.S. consumers are expected to spend a combined $26 billion on music and video subscription services this year, according to new estimates from the Consumer Technology Association. That’s up from $20.4 billion in 2018, and nearly twice the amount spent on such services in 2017. Propelled by the continued success of Apple Music and Spotify, [...]

  • Gears 5 - Xbox Game Studios

    'Gears 5' Will Exclude Smoking Depictions After Concerns Raised by Youth Anti-Tobacco Org (EXCLUSIVE)

    “Gears 5,” the forthcoming installment in the “Gears of Wars” third-person shooter game franchise, will be a smoke-free establishment. The game, set for Sept. 10 release, comes from Xbox Game Studios and game developer The Coalition. The decision to remove all smoking references from “Gears 5” came after not-for-profit anti-smoking organization Truth Initiative approached Turner, [...]

  • Amazon Game Studios - Lord of

    Amazon Teams on 'Lord of the Rings'-Prequel Massively Multiplayer Game

    Amazon announced plans for a massively multiplayer online game set in J.R.R. Tokien’s Middle-earth — but in an era well before the events in “The Lord of the Rings.” Amazon Game Studios has teamed with Leyou Technologies, a Hong Kong-based games company. The companies will jointly develop the free-to-play game for PC and console platforms, [...]

  • Nintendo Switch Lite

    Nintendo Launches Switch Lite Handheld-Only Game System for $200

    Nintendo Switch is getting a cheaper, more colorful little sibling: Switch Lite, a device designed specifically to play Nintendo Switch games in handheld mode. The Switch Lite system is set to ship Sept. 20 at a suggested retail price of $199.99 — $100 less than the flagship Switch, which works in both handheld and TV-connected [...]

  • Walter Scopely Strictly Business Podcast

    Listen: How Scopely Turns TV Hits Into Video Game Gold

    “Star Trek,” “The Walking Dead” and “Wheel of Fortune” are more than just iconic TV brands; they’re the intellectual property powering mobile games on course to reach $100 million each. And they’re all produced by Scopely, a Los Angeles-based video game business led by co-CEO Walter Driver, who has made a specialty of adapting from [...]

  • Peter Ramsey

    'Spider-Verse' Co-Director Peter Ramsey to Speak at 2019 View Conference

    Peter Ramsey, who won an Oscar this year for co-directing the hit animated film “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse,” has joined the long list of high-level speakers for the 2019 View Conference, which runs from Oct. 21-25 in Turin, Italy. “I’m delighted to announce that Peter Ramsey, who is the first African American director to win [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content