‘Battlefield V’s’ Battle Royale Mode Is Officially Called Firestorm (Watch)

Battlefield V” developer DICE dropped some hints about the game’s new battle royale mode in a trailer released on Tuesday.

It’s officially called Firestorm and it features 16 teams of four players all competing to be the last team standing in what DICE calls “the largest ‘Battlefield’ map ever.” That map is a giant sandbox filled with destructible buildings, weaponry, and vehicles. There’s no mention of the solo or duo modes popular in other popular battle royale titles like “Fortnite” and “PUBG.”

“This is royale done the ‘Battlefield’ way,” DICE said.

The trailer also details “Battlefield V’s” other multiplayer features. There will be eight different settings, and one of them takes place during one of the biggest tank battles in human history in North Africa, DICE said. The trailer also teases other locales like Rotterdam, Norway, and France.

Finally, the trailer takes a sneak peek into DICE’s plans for “Battlefield V” post-launch. The developer is working on a single-player war story called The Last Tiger. Plus, all players will get free content under what DICE calls Tides of War. The first DLC is called The Fall of Europe. It takes place in France and will deliver a steady stream of daily and weekly events. The second chapter arrives in early 2019 and debuts a new location in Greece.

Last week, DICE announced it’s pushing back “Battlefield V’s” launch date to Nov. 20 so it can make some “meaningful improvements” to the core gameplay experience. The open beta is still scheduled to start on Sept. 6 (or Sept. 4 for early access players).

More Gaming

  • Fortnite Battle Royale

    How 'Fortnite' Fans Can Earn Loot by Watching YouTube Videos

    Epic Games and YouTube have teamed up with a special offer for “Fortnite” players — giving players of the popular battle-royale game rewards when they watch “Fortnite”-premiered content on the video platform. The catch: You have to watch at least 20 minutes of “Fortnite” special content or live esports broadcasts to receive the loot. Under [...]

  • Google Stadia Pro to Include 1

    Google’s Stadia Game Streaming Service to Include Free Monthly Game

    Google has been busy sharing additional details about its upcoming game streaming service Stadia, clearing up some confusion in the process. Stadia’s pro subscription tier, which will cost $10 per month, won’t be a Netflix-type subscription service. However, subscribers will get free games at the rate of about a title per month. That’s according to [...]

  • The Lion King

    'Lion King' VFX Supervisor Rob Legato to Keynote at the 2019 View Conference

    Rob Legato, visual effects supervisor of “The Lion King,” “The Addams Family” co-director Conrad Vernon and Baobab Studios’ co-founder and chief creative officer Eric Darnell, director of the VR studio’s Emmy- and Annie-winning VR short “Crow: The Legend,” are rounding out the keynote speakers at this fall’s 20th edition of the View Conference in Turin, [...]

  • Nintendo Switch

    Nintendo Releases Updated Switch With Better Battery

    Nintendo just refreshed its wildly successful Switch game console, but the company isn’t giving existing Switch owners many reasons to upgrade: The renewed game console comes with a better battery that guarantees up to 9 hours of game play, while otherwise sticking with the same design and features of the original Switch. The new model [...]

  • Spotify logo is presented on a

    U.S. Consumers to Spend $26 Billion on Music, Video Subscriptions This Year

    U.S. consumers are expected to spend a combined $26 billion on music and video subscription services this year, according to new estimates from the Consumer Technology Association. That’s up from $20.4 billion in 2018, and nearly twice the amount spent on such services in 2017. Propelled by the continued success of Apple Music and Spotify, [...]

  • Gears 5 - Xbox Game Studios

    'Gears 5' Will Exclude Smoking Depictions After Concerns Raised by Youth Anti-Tobacco Org (EXCLUSIVE)

    “Gears 5,” the forthcoming installment in the “Gears of Wars” third-person shooter game franchise, will be a smoke-free establishment. The game, set for Sept. 10 release, comes from Xbox Game Studios and game developer The Coalition. The decision to remove all smoking references from “Gears 5” came after not-for-profit anti-smoking organization Truth Initiative approached Turner, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content