You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

U.K. Box Office Had Best-Ever Year in 2017, Thanks in Good Measure to Disney

The U.K. box office saw its highest-grossing year ever in 2017, fueled strongly by Disney films, three of which landed in the top five.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” which is still on release, took the No. 1 spot. The latest “Star Wars” installment garnered £73.1 million ($98.9 million) in 2017, placing first in the calendar year ahead of another Disney picture, “Beauty and the Beast,” with £72.4 million, according to data from ComScore. The studio’s “Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2” ranked fifth, pulling in £41 million.

The third- and fourth-highest-grossing films were Warner Bros.’ “Dunkirk,” which raked in £56.6 million, and Universal’s “Despicable Me 3,” with £47.8 million. “Paddington 2,” “It,” “Thor: Ragnarok,” “Spider-Man: Homecoming,” and “La La Land” rounded out the top 10.

Disney only released six movies through the year but was the top distributor with £265.1 million, or 19.2% of the total. Warner Bros. ranked second with £223.2 million, ahead of Universal, which earned £214 million. Fox was fourth with £207.5 million and Sony fifth with £138.4 million. The top five accounted for 75% of the market. Together, Disney and Fox – which have initiated a merger – represented a third of the total.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi” has already surpassed 2015’s “Rogue One,” and will break into the top five grossing films in British history by the end of its run.

Popular on Variety

Overall, 2017 was the most lucrative year ever at the U.K. box office, up 3.6% from 2016 at £1.3 billion, according to ComScore. The percentage increase is actually higher on a precise like-for-like basis, as 2016 was a 53-week year in terms of the box office.

Admission figures for 2017 have not yet landed but are expected to come in above the 2016 total. The number of films released, 874, was slightly lower than the 900 in 2016, with streaming players such as Amazon and Netflix offering original movies and accounting for the shortfall.

ComScore said that the U.K. box office will likely see a five-way battle between some much-anticipated pictures in 2018: “Avengers: Infinity War,” “Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom,” “Solo: A Star Wars Story,” “Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald,” and “Coco.”

More Film

  • Lee Byung-hun stars in "The Man

    Lee Byung-hun’s ‘Man Standing Next’ Secures 2020 Asia Theatrical Releases (EXCLUSIVE)

    Showbox’s political drama “The Man Standing Next” has secured releases in multiple territories in Asia. The film was picked up by Falcon for Indonesia, The Klockworx for Japan, Viva Communications for the Philippines, Shaw Renters for Singapore and by Moviecloud for Taiwan. Release dates in each territory have yet to be confirmed. Set 40 days [...]

  • Lulu Wang and Zhao Shuzhen'The Farewell'

    Zhao Shuzhen on Stealing Scenes in Her First American Movie, 'The Farewell'

    A year ago, 76-year-old actor Zhao Shuzhen shot her first American movie, “The Farewell,” based on writer-director Lulu Wang’s very personal family story. In November, Shuzhen found herself making her first visit to the States, where she earned standing ovations from audiences and posed for pictures with stars like Robert Pattinson at parties. Then she [...]

  • Jennifer Lopez and Director Lorene Scafaria

    'Hustlers' DP Todd Banhazl Discusses How Not to Shoot With the Male Gaze

    Cinematographer Todd Banhazl had to rethink conventional wisdom in shooting Jennifer Lopez starrer “Hustlers.” What sort of approach did you and director Lorene Scafaria discuss in terms of how you were going to shoot the women and create these strong images of strippers? From the beginning, we talked about this idea of control and the [...]

  • A Hidden Life Movie

    Film News Roundup: Terrence Malick's 'A Hidden Life' Screened at Vatican Film Library

    In today’s film news roundup, “A Hidden Life” is shown at the Vatican, “Limerence” finds a home, Dave Baustista’s “My Spy” moves, and the DGA honors two veteran members. VATICAN SCREENING Terrence Malick’s “A Hidden Life” received a rare private screening at the Vatican Film Library this week. The movie centers on Austrian farmer and [...]

  • Wet Season

    'Wet Season' Star Yeo Yann Yann on the Need for Quality Chinese-Language Films

    Malaysia’s Yeo Yann Yann wiped away tears that weren’t purely of joyous triumph just minutes after receiving the 2019 Golden Horse Award for best actress in Singaporean director Anthony Chen’s “Wet Season.” The film plays in the New Chinese Cinema section of this week’s International Film Festival & Awards (IFFAM). Emotion welled up as she [...]

  • Wolf Totem

    Juben Productions Stretches From Peter Chan to Chinese Zombies

    Beijing Juben Productions has taken over rights to the popular “Wolf Totem” novel from China Film Group and is working on a sequel to be delivered in 2021 or Chinese New Year 2022. It also has a zombie film up its sleeve, as well as a British co-production about Shakespeare and a Chinese drama with [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content